Common menu bar links

Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

Pointe-au-Père lighthouse The Pointe-au-Père lighthouse, a jewel of maritime heritage
© Parks Canada / Nancy Barbeau

The Pointe-au-Père lighthouse station was designated a national historic site in 1974 because of the importance of its light and pilot station for navigation in the St. Lawrence River and Gulf. Located at the meeting-point of the river and sea, the station was for many years one of Canada’s leading navigational aid centres.

Who was the “père” in “Pointe-au-Père”?

The name of the Pointe-au-Père lighthouse refers to the Jesuit father (père, in French), Henri Nouvel, who, after arriving in Canada in 1662, celebrated the first mass on the south shore of the St. Lawrence, in the vicinity of the point, on December 8, 1663. From that time on, the site went by the name of “Pointe-au-Père” – the French equivalent of “Father Point”. 

Prior to the lighthouse, a point for pilots

Upon entering the St. Lawrence River, any well-informed ship’s captain will bring a professional river pilot aboard to steer the vessel into Québec City in complete safety. River piloting dates to the earliest days of the French regime. The St. Lawrence pilots are seasoned navigators who possess in-depth knowledge of the river, currents, wind direction, tides, obstacles and hazards. For this reason, since the 17th century they have played a vital role in navigation on the St. Lawrence.

As early as 1805, pilots began working out of Pointe-au-Père, even though the official pilot station was at that time located on Île du Bic, an island lying a few miles upstream. The reason is simple: Pointe-au-Père, which juts out into the river, offers an exceptional vantage point. Turning this location to their advantage, the Pointe-au-Père pilots were thus the first to row out and offer their services to ship’s captains sailing up the St. Lawrence. In 1861, the shipping lines offering regular service between Europe and the American continent even selected Pointe-au-Père as the exclusive boarding place for the pilots steering their steamships.

The first lighthouses

The Montreal Ocean Steamship Company built the first lighthouse on Pointe-au-Père in 1859. As the exclusive carrier of mail between London and Montreal, this shipping company had already been stationing its own crew of pilots at Pointe-au-Père. The shoreline’s low relief, coupled with frequent periods of fog, prompted the firm to build a lighthouse equipped with both a light and a foghorn. The government of Canada purchased this lighthouse two years later, in 1861.

Second lighthouse at the dawn of the 20th century The second lighthouse at the dawn of the 20th century
© Claveau Fund, HR-133510, Musée régional de Rimouski

The first tower, which was destroyed in a fire, was replaced by a second one in 1867. The first two lighthouses at Pointe-au-Père were built using the same model – i.e., a wood house surmounted by a tower housing the lamp. The lighthouse keeper and his family lived on the lower floors.

Pointe-au-Père: a hub of navigational services

Charles-Auguste Lavoie, lightkeeper from 1936 to 1964 Charles-Auguste Lavoie, lightkeeper from 1936 to 1964
© Claveau Fund, HR-13367, Musée régional de Rimouski

The first decades of the 20th century represented a kind of heyday in the history of Pointe-au-Père. As the number of navigational aid facilities and services grew, so did the crew of those required to man them – including the lighthouse keeper, keeper’s assistant, fog alarm engineer and pilots. The result was to turn Pointe-au-Père into a thriving hub of activity.

Hydrographic Service

In 1894, a Tidal and Current Survey station was established, which later became known as the Hydrographic Service. The lighthouse keeper personally measured the movement of tides and the action of currents.

Pointe-au-Père also served as an elevation reference point for several Canadian and American agencies. The Hydrographic Service pursued its operations until 1985. Today, a geodesic monument, laid by the Canadian Hydrographic Association, commemorates the importance of benchmarks laid at Pointe-au-Père in establishing and monitoring major elevation references in North America.

Official pilot station

The second lighthouse was transformed into pilot living quarters The second lighthouse was transformed into pilot living quarters
© Claveau Fund, HR-13369, Musée régional de Rimouski

The St. Lawrence pilots officially set up quarters at Pointe-au-Père in 1905. Following the construction of a wharf (1902-1905), the government of Canada was able to transfer the Île du Bic pilot station to Pointe-au-Père, in response to the persistent demands of ship owners and shipping lines. The early 20th century was a boom time for maritime transport, with more than 1000 ocean-going vessels embarking and disembarking their pilot at Pointe-au-Père each year!

From 1923 to 1937, the Pointe-au-Père pilot station took over a portion of the activities associated with the Grosse Île quarantine station – specifically, the medical inspection of passengers. Accordingly, the quarantine service’s physician-inspector, who was lodged on site, set out in the pilots’ bark to examine the state of health of passengers aboard all ships sailing up the river.

A pilot boarding an ocean-going vessel A pilot boarding an ocean-going vessel
© Claveau Fund, HR-13244-03, Musée régional de Rimouski

The Pointe-au-Père pilot station was transferred to Les Escoumins in 1959. However, in 2000, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada selected the Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site for the laying of a plaque to commemorate the national historic significance of the St. Lawrence pilots.

Marconi station

Marconi station The Marconi station was situated on property to the west of the station
© Claveau Fund, RH-13341, Musée régional de Rimouski

In 1906, a Marconi wireless telegraph station was established at Pointe-au-Père. For the lighthouse keeper, this innovation was a welcome replacement for the system of international code of flag signals, serving to improve communication with ships. In its time, the Pointe-au-Père Marconi station was one of 20 wireless telegraph stations operated by the federal government across Canada.

On May 29, 1914, the Pointe-au-Père Marconi station received the distress signals of the Empress of Ireland, which sank off Sainte-Luce in 14 minutes. The wreck of the Empress of Ireland, which took 1,012 people to their death, today remains the most serious maritime tragedy in Canadian history.

The Pointe-au-Père Marconi station ceased operations in 1959, when the pilot station was transferred to Les Escoumins.

An avant-garde, buttressed lighthouse

The third lighthouse under construction in 1909 The third lighthouse under construction in 1909
© Claveau Fund, RH-13366, Musée régional de Rimouski

In 1909, work was begun constructing a third lighthouse – a more impressive and indeed avant-garde structure. Its octagonal tower rises to a height of 28 metres, making this light one of the tallest in the country. Boasting an architecture with practically no counterpart in Canada, the Pointe-au-Père lighthouse remains one of the rare examples of a buttressed, reinforced concrete structure.

The skeleton tower, Pointe-au-Père’s fourth lighthouse The skeleton tower, Pointe-au-Père’s fourth lighthouse
© Parks Canada / Nancy Barbeau

In 1975, a fourth lighthouse – a skeleton tower – was erected nearby. Beginning at that time, the light station was automated, thus requiring only the occasional visit of an inspector. This lighthouse and the associated sound signal remained in operation until the station was closed in 1997.

Ownership of the 1909 lighthouse was transferred to Parks Canada in 1977. In 1979, Parks Canada carried out major improvements on the lighthouse for conservation purposes.

Today the bold, elegant profile of this third lighthouse continues to rise above the St. Lawrence shoreline. In the region, the Pointe-au-Père lighthouse stands as an important landmark and identity reference point; as such, it constitutes a historic building having outstanding architectural and heritage value.

The fog alarm – from cannon fire to the electronic sound signal

Whenever weather conditions reduced visibility at sea, the lighthouse keeper had to replace the usual visual signal (i.e., the beacon) by a sound signal. The Pointe-au-Père lighthouse played an important role in testing different types of sound signals, which were subsequently implemented in other Canadian lighthouses.

The first sound signal used at Pointe-au-Père was produced by a cannon, which the keeper had to load with gunpowder and fire every half hour.

Foghorn A semicircular rail behind the building allowed the horn to be oriented depending on wind direction
© Claveau Fund, HR- 13238, Musée régional de Rimouski

The cannon signal was replaced by explosive bomb signals (1894 to 1903), and then by a Scotch siren fog signal (1903). A diaphone, a kind of giant compressed air whistle operated by a fog alarm, was implemented in 1904. Finally, in 1972, this system was replaced by an electronic sound signal, which was used until the Pointe-au-Père navigational aid centre closed in 1997.

The main alterations made to the Pointe-au-Père fog alarm shed today continue to bear witness to this history of experimentation.

Main associated buildings

The lighthouse keeper’s house

Built in 1956, the lighthouse keeper’s house was home to both the keeper and his family until 1988. It is a square-shaped, two-storey wooden house topped with a wood-shingled hip roof. It evokes a more recent phase in the history of the lighthouse station.

Today, the building houses exhibits.

The engineer’s house

This house was built in 1905 for the fog alarm engineer but later became the home of the lighthouse keeper and then of the keeper’s assistant (1956 to 1980).

It is a two-storey wooden house, topped with a gambrel roof with drip mouldings on the downslope, wood shingle cladding, and three gabled dormer windows. Its gambrel roof makes it unique among other lighthouse buildings in Canada. In Quebec, it is the only remaining house of its kind.

It is one of the very rare examples of lightkeepers’ houses built in the early 20th century.

Fog alarm shed

Fog alarm shed Fog alarm shed
© Parks Canada / Serge Ouellet

Built in 1903, the fog alarm shed is the lighthouse station’s oldest extant structure. It recalls the role that the station played in testing various sound signals prior to their implementation at other stations in Canada. In this building, visitors may view an impressive portion of the period diaphone as well as an exhibit explaining how various former and current sound signals function.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

Phare de Pointe-au-Père Le phare de Pointe-au-Père, joyau de notre patrimoine maritime
© Parcs Canada / Nancy Barbeau

La station de phare de Pointe-au-Père fut désignée lieu historique national en 1974, en raison de l’importance de son feu et de son poste de pilotage pour la navigation dans le golfe et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Située à la frontière du fleuve et de la mer, la station fut longtemps l’un des plus importants centres d’aide à la navigation au Canada.

La pointe… de quel père?

L’appellation du phare de Pointe-au-Père évoque le père jésuite Henri Nouvel, arrivé au Canada en 1662, et qui célébra la première messe sur la rive sud du Saint-Laurent dans les environs de la pointe, le 8 décembre 1663. Le site fut, dès lors, désigné comme la « pointe au Père ».

Avant le phare, la pointe des pilotes

Lorsqu’un navire entre dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le capitaine averti prend à son bord un pilote professionnel pour le conduire à Québec en toute sécurité. Cette pratique du pilotage sur le fleuve remonte aux premiers temps du régime français. Les pilotes du Saint-Laurent, navigateurs d’expérience, connaissent en détail le fleuve, les courants, la direction des vents, les marées, les obstacles et les dangers à éviter. Ils jouent donc, depuis le 17e siècle, un rôle primordial dans la navigation sur le Saint-Laurent.

Des pilotes commencent à travailler à partir de la Pointe-au-Père dès 1805 et ce, même si le poste officiel de pilotage est alors situé au Bic. Cette préférence s’explique facilement : la pointe, avancée dans le fleuve, leur offre un point d’observation privilégié. Les pilotes de Pointe-au-Père, avantageusement localisés, sont ainsi les premiers à offrir leurs services aux capitaines des navires remontant le Saint-Laurent. En 1861, les compagnies des lignes régulières entre l’Amérique et l’Europe choisissent même Pointe-au-Père comme lieu d’embarquement exclusif des pilotes de leurs navires à vapeur.

Les premiers phares

C’est la Montreal Ocean Steamship Company qui fait construire, en 1859, le tout premier phare sur la Pointe-au-Père. À titre de transporteur exclusif du courrier entre Londres et Montréal, cette compagnie de navigation maintient déjà sa propre équipe de pilotes à Pointe-au-Père. Le plat relief de la côte et les fréquentes périodes de brouillard l’incitent à y construire un phare équipé d’un feu et d’un signal de brume. Le gouvernement canadien fera l’acquisition de ce phare deux ans plus tard, en 1861.

Deuxième phare au début du 20e siècle Le deuxième phare au début du 20e siècle
© Fonds Claveau, HR-133510, Musée régional de Rimouski

La première tour, détruite dans un incendie, sera remplacée par une seconde en 1867. Ces deux premiers phares de Pointe-au-Père sont construits suivant le même modèle : une maison en bois surmontée d’une tour abritant la lanterne. Le gardien et sa famille habitent alors les étages inférieurs.

Pointe-au-Père : carrefour des services aux navigateurs

Charles-Auguste Lavoie, gardien de phare de 1936 à 1964 Charles-Auguste Lavoie, gardien de phare de 1936 à 1964
© Fonds Claveau, HR-13367, Musée régional de Rimouski

Les premières décennies du 20e siècle représentent une sorte d’apogée dans l’histoire de Pointe-au-Père. Gardien de phare, assistant-gardien, pilotes, ingénieur de signaux de brume… Les services et installations d’aide à la navigation se multiplient, et le site bourdonne d’activités.

Service hydrographique

On inaugure en 1894 une station de relevé des marées et des courants, appelée ultérieurement service hydrographique. C’est le gardien de phare lui-même qui effectue le relevé du mouvement des marées et de l’action des courants.

Pointe-au-Père sert ainsi de point de référence altimétrique à plusieurs agences canadiennes et américaines. Le service hydrographique poursuit ses opérations jusqu’en 1985. Un monument géodésique, apposé par l’Association canadienne d’hydrographie, commémore aujourd’hui l’importance des repères de nivellement de Pointe-au-Père dans l’établissement et le suivi des références altimétriques majeures en Amérique du Nord.

Station officielle de pilotage 

La maison des pilotes dans le bâtiment du deuxième phare La maison des pilotes dans le bâtiment du deuxième phare
© Fonds Claveau, HR-13369, Musée régional de Rimouski

Les pilotes du Saint-Laurent s’installent à Pointe-au-Père de façon officielle en 1905. La construction d’un quai (1902-1905) permet en effet au gouvernement canadien de transférer la station de pilotage du Bic à Pointe-au-Père, en réponse aux demandes répétées des armateurs et propriétaires de compagnies de navigation.

En ce début de 20e siècle, le transport maritime connaît une forte croissance. Plus de 1000 navires océaniques embarquent et débarquent leur pilote à Pointe-au-Père chaque année!

De 1923 à 1937, la station de pilotage de Pointe-au-Père prend en charge une partie des activités reliées à la station de quarantaine de Grosse-Île, soit l’inspection médicale des passagers. Le médecin-inspecteur du service de quarantaine, logé sur le site, emprunte alors la barque des pilotes pour aller inspecter l’état de santé des passagers de tous les navires remontant le fleuve.

Un pilote montant à bord d'un navire océanique Un pilote montant à bord d'un navire océanique
© Fonds Claveau, HR-13244-03, Musée régional de Rimouski

La station de pilotage de Pointe-au-Père est transférée aux Escoumins en 1959. Le lieu historique national du Phare-de-la-Pointe-au-Père fut malgré tout retenu comme lieu d’apposition de la plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada commémorant l’importance historique nationale du rôle des pilotes du Saint-Laurent, en l’an 2000.

Station Marconi

Station Marconi de Pointe-au-Père La station Marconi de Pointe-au-Père
© Fonds Claveau, RH-13341, Musée régional de Rimouski

En 1906, on met en service à Pointe-au-Père une station de télégraphie sans fil Marconi. Pour le gardien de phare, cette innovation remplace avantageusement le code international de drapeaux et améliore la communication avec les navires. La station Marconi de Pointe-au-Père compte alors parmi les vingt postes de télégraphie sans fil opérés au pays par le gouvernement canadien.

Le 29 mai 1914, la station Marconi de Pointe-au-Père capte les signaux de détresse de l’Empress of Ireland, qui coulera en 14 minutes au large de Sainte-Luce. Le naufrage de l’Empress of Ireland, causant la mort de 1 012 personnes, représente encore aujourd’hui la plus grave tragédie maritime de l’histoire canadienne.

La station Marconi de Pointe-au-Père cesse ses activités en 1959, lors du transfert de la station de pilotage aux Escoumins.

Nouveau phare à contreforts : une structure avant-gardiste!

Le troisième phare en construction, en 1909 Le troisième phare en construction, en 1909
© Fonds Claveau, RH-13366, Musée régional de Rimouski

En 1909, on entreprend la construction d’un troisième phare, avant-gardiste et plus imposant. Sa tour octogonale s’élève à près de vingt-huit mètres de hauteur, ce qui en fait l’un des plus hauts phares du pays. D’une architecture quasi unique au Canada, il demeure l’un des rares exemples de phare en béton armé doté de contreforts arc-boutés.

La tour à claire-voie, quatrième phare de Pointe-au-Père La tour à claire-voie, quatrième phare de Pointe-au-Père
© Parcs Canada / Nancy Barbeau

En 1975, on érige à proximité de cette tour un quatrième phare, monté sur une tour à claire-voie. Dorénavant automatisée, la station de phare ne nécessite plus que la visite sporadique d’un inspecteur. Ce phare et le signal sonore demeureront en opération jusqu’à la fermeture de la station de phare, en 1997.

Le phare de 1909 est cédé à Parcs Canada en 1977. En 1979, Parcs Canada effectue des travaux de réfection majeurs au phare dans le but d’assurer sa conservation.

Ce troisième phare dresse toujours sa silhouette audacieuse et élégante au bord du Saint-Laurent. Repère visuel et identitaire important dans la région, le phare de Pointe-au-Père est un bâtiment historique d’une valeur architecturale et patrimoniale exceptionnelle.

Corne de brume : du canon au signal électronique

Lorsque les conditions météorologiques nuisaient à la visibilité en mer, le gardien de phare devait remplacer le signal visuel habituel (la lumière du phare) par un signal sonore. La station de phare de Pointe-au-Père fut un important lieu d’expérimentation sonore. On y testa divers types de signaux sonores avant de les diffuser dans les autres stations de phare canadiennes.

Le premier signal sonore utilisé à la Pointe-au-Père fut un canon à brume. Le gardien devait charger ce canon de poudre et lancer une détonation à chaque demi-heure.

Cornet du signal de brume Derrière le bâtiment, un rail en demi-cercle permettait d’orienter le cornet du signal de brume en fonction de la direction du vent
© Fonds Claveau, HR- 13238, Musée régional de Rimouski

Ce canon fut remplacé par un signal à bombes explosives (1894 à 1903), puis par un signal de brume dit « sirène d’Écosse » (1903). En 1904, on mit en place un diaphone, gigantesque sifflet à air comprimé opéré par un ingénieur des signaux de brume. Enfin, un signal sonore électronique prit la relève de 1972 jusqu’à la fermeture du poste d’aide à la navigation de Pointe-au-Père, en 1997.

Les principales modifications apportées au bâtiment de la corne de brume de Pointe-au-Père témoignent, encore aujourd’hui, de ces expérimentations.

Principaux bâtiments connexes 

La maison du gardien

Construite en 1956, la maison du gardien abrita le gardien de phare et sa famille jusqu’en 1988. Il s’agit d’un bâtiment carré en bois comptant deux étages, coiffé d’un toit à quatre pentes et couvert d’un revêtement de bardeaux de bois. Elle évoque un passé plus récent de la station de phare.

Aujourd’hui, la maison du gardien abrite des expositions.

La maison de l’ingénieur

Cette maison fut construite en 1909 pour l’ingénieur des signaux de brume. Elle accueillit par la suite le gardien du phare, puis l’assistant du gardien (1956 à 1980).

Cette maison de bois, de deux étages, est coiffée d’un toit mansardé à brisis, doté de larmiers et percé de trois lucarnes à front-pignon. Son toit mansardé en fait un cas d’exception parmi les maisons de phare au Canada. Au Québec, c’est la seule maison du genre qui subsiste encore.

Elle constitue l’un des très rares exemples de maisons de phare érigées au début du 20e siècle.

Bâtiment de la corne de brume

Bâtiment de la corne de brume Bâtiment de la corne de brume
© Parcs Canada / Serge Ouellet

Construit en 1903, ce bâtiment est la plus ancienne construction de la station de phare encore existante. Il rappelle le rôle de la station comme théâtre d’expérimentation de différents signaux sonores avant leur diffusion dans les autres stations de phare canadiennes. On peut y observer une imposante partie du diaphone de l’époque, ainsi qu’une exposition levant le voile sur le fonctionnement de différents signaux sonores, d’hier à aujourd’hui.