Manoir-Papineau National Historic Site of Canada

On-line Visit

Manoir Papineau hall
Manoir Papineau hall
© Parks Canada / N.Rajotte, 2003

Access to the domain and the manor house road

The Manoir Papineau parking area is located next to the former Montebello railway station, which can be reached by Route 148. At the edge of the parking area is the seigneurial lane. This broad gravel pathway winds through the domain's century-old forest and leads you to the manor house. You can get tickets for guided tours and other Manoir Papineau activities at the tourism information booth located in the former station.

TThe gardener's house seen from the outside. This neogothic divelling looking as a picturesque cottage style The gardener's house seen from the outside. This neogothic divelling looking as a picturesque cottage style
© Parks Canada / Fonds Renée Papineau Christie / 206/ic-1F/PR-6/S-37 n°2

The Gardener's Cottage

The gardener's cottage located next to the manor house is the northern point of entry to the domain. Today's typical stone and wrought iron gate, flanked by a watchman's hut, replaced the original wood barrier dating to the time of the Papineau family. This Gothic Revival cottage was built in 1855, shortly after the manor house was erected. It was modelled after the traditional cottage then in fashion. The gardener who used to live here controlled access to the domain. This building is now located outside the limits of the Manoir Papineau National Historic Site of Canada.


The Funeral Chapel

The Funeral Chapel
The Funeral Chapel
© Parks Canada / André Guindon, 2003

The stone funeral chapel dates to 1853-1854. It is in the "country Gothic" style, as is evidenced by the corner buttresses on either side of the building front, the shallow-arced door opening, as well as the ubiquitous interior plasterwork. All the original furnishings have been preserved intact: the Gothic Revival altar and accessories, an abundance of statues, high relief works as well as memorial plaques. Six generations of the Papineau family were laid to rest either in the crypt or in the adjoining cemetery.

The funeral chapel was entrusted to Heritage Canada in 1974 and classified as a cultural property in the year following. The Société historique Louis-Joseph Papineau is caretaker of the building, and conducts tours of the premises during July and August.

Consult the family tree to find out more about the family of Louis-Joseph Papineau.

The Manor House

Manoir Papineau entrance
Manoir Papineau entrance
© Parks Canada / N.Rajotte, 2003

Louis-Joseph Papineau built his manor house on the promontory formed by Cape Bonsecours, thus taking advantage of the outstanding panoramic views out over the Ottawa River. The architectural features of this impressive, eclectic mansion give clear indication of the status of Seigneur Papineau and amply testify to his intelligence and culture.

Erected between 1848 and 1850, the manor house's unique architecture represents a blend of stylistic influences similar in many respects to that which is encountered in contemporaneous neoclassical villas. Its sculpted decor recalls the Greek Revival style. From the river, the house appears as a monumental elevation flanked by two corner towers. The facade and hip slopes of the roof present an overhang of unusual proportions, in a muted reference to the Regency style. The conic roof atop the stair tower built following a fire in 1892 is representative of the Queen Anne Revival. Finally, interior door openings between adjoining rooms were aligned to create particular interior perspectives, in keeping with French architectural tradition. The spiral staircase located in one of the towers also shows the influence of this tradition. The unusual positioning of the main reception rooms to the back of the ground floor, combined with the abundant fenestration on the lower two levels of the east tower, recall that a conservatory was once located here.

The Family Museum

Family museum frontage
Family museum frontage
© Parks Canada / 2009

In addition to the manor house, the seigneurial domain originally included a series of outbuildings, several of which have lasted down to the present time. In their own way, these buildings dating to the 19th century evoke various eras of the Papineau estate. Such is the case, notably, of the family museum, which was built in 1880 by Amédée Papineau. The various objects, family portraits, paintings, sculptures, and travel souvenirs have been arranged in the fashion of the "curiosity cabinets" of the time. Amédée found inspiration for the museum at the Maison Carrée in Nîmes, which he visited during a trip to France in 1871.

The rectangular base of this neoclassical building is capped by a double-sloped roof. Each of the gable ends forms a broken pediment. The thoroughly Romanesque Revival facade features a stone wall, a full centre arch doorway, and, above the doorway, a triple window opening framed by colonnettes.

The Tea House

The Tea House
The Tea House
© Parks Canada / Natalie Rojas, June 2009

The tea house represents the various phases of occupation of the domain by members of the Papineau family. In particular, the foundations were laid during the era of Louis-Joseph Papineau, and the wood frame structure dates to the time of Amédée. In 1860, Louis-Joseph Papineau had a hen house / dove cot built upon a stone base. In 1887, a greenhouse was built using these same foundations. Around 1913, the greenhouse was demolished and replaced by an Italianate tea house featuring a balustraded rooftop terrace. All four sides of the tea house are glassed-in. At one time, a path from the tea house led to a scenic lookout offering a superb panoramic view of the Ottawa River.

A charming exhibition has been set up inside the teahouse to recreate teatime with the Papineau family, a peaceful moment that members of high society enjoyed sharing.


The Granary

The Granary
The Granary
© Parks Canada / Joanne Beland, 2009

Built in 1855, the granary was first used as a storehouse for the grain given to the seigneur by the censitaires (or settler-tenants) as payment for their rent and dues.

Between 1858 and 1871, Louis-Joseph Papineau's son-in-law, Napoléon Bourassa – a painter, musician, sculptor and writer recognized in the 19th century for his artistic talents – had his studio upstairs in the granary located on the seigneurial domain. On the walls and ceiling can still be found fresco-style working drawings, giving this room an exceptional value and interest. Following a series of procedures spread over several years, the Manoir Papineau National Historic Site of Canada now provides public access to this carefully restored one-of-a-kind resource, bringing out the talent of Napoléon Bourassa.


Fresco-style painting in the studio of Napoléon Bourassa
Fresco-style working drawings in Napoléon Bourassa's studio before the Parks Canada restorations.
© Parks Canada / Jean Audet / 206/00/PR-6/S-18 n° 6

Restorers at work on the western wall of Napoléon Bourassa's studio
Restorers at work on the western wall of Napoléon Bourassa's studio
© Parks Canada / Natalie Rojas, July, 2009
Restorers at work on the eastern wall of Napoléon Bourassa's studio
Restorers at work on the eastern wall of Napoléon Bourassa's studio
© Parks Canada / 2009
Fresco-style working drawing after the restorations
Fresco-style working drawing after the restorations
© Parks Canada / Georges Vandervlugt, 2009

Lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau

Visite branchée

Vestibule du Manoir-Papineau
Vestibule du Manoir-Papineau
© Parcs Canada / N.Rajotte, 2003

L'accès au domaine et l'allée seigneuriale

Le stationnement du Manoir-Papineau est situé à côté de l'ancienne gare de Montebello, accessible par la route 148. À l'extrémité du stationnement se trouve l'allée seigneuriale. Ce large sentier de gravier serpente dans la forêt centenaire du domaine et vous mène jusqu'au manoir. Vous pouvez vous procurer les billets pour les visites guidées et autres activités du Manoir-Papineau au kiosque d'information touristique situé dans l'ancienne gare.

La maison du jardinier vue de l'extérieur. Cette demeure de style néogothique a l'allure d'un cottage pittoresque. La maison du jardinier, fin XIXe siècle.
© Parcs Canada / Fonds Renée Papineau Christie / 206/ic-1F/PR-6/S-37 n°2

La maison du jardinier

La maison du jardinier constituait la porte d'entrée (nord) du domaine. Son portail en pierre et en fer forgé remplace aujourd'hui la barrière en place sous le règne des Papineau. Construite en 1855, cette chaumière de style néo-gothique, contemporaine du manoir, revêt les allures d'un cottage en vogue à l'époque. Le jardinier qui l'habitait contrôlait alors l'accès au domaine. Ce bâtiment est aujourd'hui situé à l'extérieur des limites du lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau.


La chapelle funéraire

La chapelle funéraire
La chapelle funéraire
© Parcs Canada / André Guindon, 2003

Bâtiment en pierre datant de 1853-1854, la chapelle funéraire propose un style « gothique rustique » comme en témoignent les contreforts d'angle flanquant la façade, la baie de la porte en arc brisé, ainsi que la facture du décor plâtré, omniprésent. Tout le mobilier est conservé intact : l'autel néogothique et ses accessoires, un grand nombre de statues, des compositions en haut-relief, ainsi que des plaques funéraires. Six générations de Papineau sont inhumées dans la crypte ou dans le cimetière extérieur.

Confiée aux soins d'Héritage Canada en 1974, la chapelle funéraire a été classée bien culturel, l'année suivante. La Société historique Louis-Joseph Papineau, responsable du bâtiment, l'ouvre aux visiteurs durant les mois de juillet et d'août.

Consultez l'arbre généalogique pour en savoir plus sur la famille de Louis-Joseph Papineau.

Le manoir

Entrée principale du Manoir-Papineau
Entrée principale du Manoir-Papineau
© Parcs Canada / N.Rajotte, 2003

Louis-Joseph Papineau construit son manoir sur le promontoire du cap Bonsecours, s'assurant ainsi d'un point de vue panoramique exceptionnel. Bâtiment imposant, éclectique, dont les gestes architecturaux témoignent avec éloquence du statut du seigneur, le manoir se veut aussi le reflet singulier de l'intelligence et de la culture de son propriétaire.

Construit entre 1848 et 1850, le manoir propose une architecture unique, composée d'une variété d'influences stylistiques comparable, sous certains angles, à des villas néoclassiques contemporaines. Son décor menuisé rappelle le style néogrec. Vu de la rivière, le bâtiment offre la perspective d'une élévation monumentale flanquée de deux tours sur l'angle. En façade et aux murs de croupe, la toiture se prolonge en un avant-toit aux dimensions inusitées. Le style Regency s'y manifeste aussi dans une version dépouillée. Le toit conique de la tour de l'escalier, construit à la suite de l'incendie de 1892, appartient au goût néo-Queen Anne. Enfin, l'alignement des baies de portes entre les pièces mitoyennes, créant des perspectives intérieures particulières, témoigne de la tradition architecturale française. La localisation de l'escalier hélicoïdal dans une tour démontre encore cette influence. La répartition singulière des pièces d'apparat vers l'arrière du rez-de-chaussée et le fenêtrage abondant des deux niveaux inférieurs de la tour de l'est rappellent l'emplacement d'une serre à cet endroit.

Le musée familial

Façade du Musée familial
Façade du Musée familial
© Parcs Canada / 2009

Outre le manoir, le domaine seigneurial compte un certain nombre de dépendances, dont plusieurs subsistent toujours. Construites au XIXe siècle, elles évoquent, à leur manière, les différentes époques du domaine Papineau. C'est le cas du musée familial, construit en 1880, à l'instigation d'Amédée Papineau. Les divers objets, portraits de famille, tableaux, sculptures, souvenirs de voyage, s'exposent alors dans un arrangement propre aux « cabinets de curiosités » de l'époque, inspiré de la Maison Carrée de Nîmes qu'Amédée visite en 1871, lors d'un voyage en France.

L'architecture du bâtiment d'esprit néoclassique présente un carré coiffé d'un toit à deux versants créant, sur chaque pignon, un fronton triangulaire à base interrompue. Outre un mur en pierre, une baie de porte à arc en plein cintre, surmontée d'une baie de fenêtre tripartite ornée de colonnettes, le tout d'esprit néoroman, caractérise la façade.

Le pavillon de thé

Le pavillon de thé
Le pavillon de thé
© Parcs Canada / Natalie Rojas, juin 2009

Le pavillon de thé représente les étapes successives et marquantes de l'occupation des Papineau. Il leur est associé notamment par ses fondations, remontant à l'époque de Louis-Joseph Papineau, de même que par son carré en bois datant du règne d'Amédée. En effet, en 1860, Louis-Joseph Papineau fait bâtir un poulailler-colombier sur un carré maçonné. En 1887, on aménage une serre sur ces mêmes fondations. Vers 1913, la serre est démolie pour faire place à un pavillon de thé. Celui-ci présente alors une architecture à l'italienne, avec sa terrasse faîtière entourée d'une balustrade. Le carré est abondamment vitré sur les quatre faces. À une certaine époque, un escalier extérieur mène à un belvédère offrant une vue imprenable sur la rivière des Outaouais.

Une charmante exposition a été aménagée à l'intérieur du pavillon de thé afin de recréer l'heure du thé chez les Papineau, un moment paisible que les membres de la « belle société » aimaient partager.

Le hangar à grains

Le hangar à grains
Le hangar à grains
© Parcs Canada / Joanne Beland, 2009

Construit en 1855, le hangar sert d'abord d'entrepôt pour les grains, redevances des censitaires au seigneur. Bâtiment en brique sur carré en pierre, le hangar à grains est coiffé d'un toit à deux versants, supporté par des consoles dans le goût néogothique. L'espace intérieur comprend un soubassement accessible par l'extérieur, un rez-de-chaussée ainsi qu'un espace habitable sous les combles.

Entre 1858 et 1871, le gendre de Louis-Joseph Papineau, Napoléon Bourassa – peintre, musicien, architecte, sculpteur et écrivain reconnu au 19ième siècle pour ses talents artistiques – avait son atelier à l'étage du hangar à grains situé sur le domaine seigneurial. On trouve encore sur les murs et le plafond des épures peintes à la fresque, conférant à cette pièce une valeur et un intérêt inestimables. Après de nombreuses interventions étalées sur plusieurs années, le lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau rend accessible au public une ressource unique en son genre et restaurée avec soin, mettant ainsi en lumière le talent de Napoléon Bourassa.


Peinture à fresque d'une dame dans l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa
Épures peintes à la fresque dans l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa avant les restaurations de Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada / Jean Audet / 206/00/PR-6/S-18 n° 6

Restaurateurs à l'œuvre sur le mur ouest de l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa
Restaurateurs à l'œuvre sur le mur ouest de l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa
© Parcs Canada / Natalie Rojas, July, 2009
Restaurateurs à l'œuvre sur le mur est de l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa.
Restaurateurs à l'œuvre sur le mur est de l'atelier de Napoléon Bourassa.
© Parcs Canada / 2009
Épures peintes à la fresque après les restaurations
Épures peintes à la fresque après les restaurations
© Parcs Canada / Georges Vandervlugt, 2009