Manoir-Papineau National Historic Site

Learning Experiences

Colloquial Expressions Then and Now

Louis-Joseph Papineau, 1843 Louis-Joseph Papineau, 1843
© Musée du Québec / Patrick Altman / 55.111, 1843

The language of French Canada features a number of colloquial expressions associated with the family name Papineau, all of which derive from Louis-Joseph Papineau. While some of these expressions are no longer in use, a number of others remain a staple of everyday verbal imagery.

"Avoir la tête à Papineau"

Intelligence and even genius are evoked in the expression "Avoir la tête à Papineau" –which literally refers to the head, thus to the intelligence of this major historical and political figure. A comparable use in contemporary English might consist in describing someone as a «real Einstein».

As well, Papineau is referred to in a rhetorical figure that is abundantly used among French-speaking Quebecers–the understatement, or litotes, whereby a person affirms something by negating its opposite. Thus, " Ça ne prend pas la tête à Papineau " means that it doesn't take a genius to figure out a particular situation or problem–in truth, something is dead obvious.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Louis-Joseph-Amédée Papineau family in front of the manor. In the forefront, the children and the calèche, and in the background, the adults in front of the manor's entrance The family of Laouis-Joseph-Amédée Papineau in front of the manor house, circa 1894
© Fonds Jacqueline Papineau Desbaillets / 206/ic-1G/PR-6/S-65 no 2, 1894

How is it that the Papineau manor house was built on the grounds of Château Montebello, the property of the Canadian Pacific hotel corporation?

First of all, the manor house was constructed in 1850, a full 80 years before the Château Montebello. It is true, however, that the seigneurial domain originally included the area where the Château Montebello was later constructed. In 1929, the Papineau family sold the manor house and domain. In 1930, under a new set of owners, the Log Château was constructed on acreage where hayfields had been located during the Papineau era.

La tête à Papineau

Clientele : Grade 3

Length : 90 minutes

Maximum group size : 60

Supervised by experienced heritage interpreters, students will discover the full significance of the typical Québec French expression 'avoir la tête à Papineau,' while learning about the main characteristics of the seigneurial system.

School program components

  1. Step the manor house : A unique opportunity to get the inside view of the manor house. Students will tour the rooms on the elegant main floor where the Papineau family lived and entertained their guests.
  2. Louis-Joseph Papineau, seigneur and builder : With the help of many old photos and some technical illustrations, students will learn to distinguish the various architectural styles that characterize the Papineau estate as a whole.
  3. Tour of the estate's outbuildings : The students will be introduced to the function of each of the estate's outbuildings (buildings surrounding the manor house). Such assets testify to the scope of the seigneur's rights and privileges.

MEQ competencies

  1. To perceive the organization of a society in its territory.
  2. To interpret change in a society and its territory.
  3. To be open to the diversity of societies and their territories.

Louis-Joseph Papineau, great Canadian democrat

Clientele: secondary school students

Length: 90 minutes

Maximum group size: 60

This program features the Seigneur of Petite-Nation, the famous Louis-Joseph Papineau. Between 1848 and 1871, this cultivated man, an ardent defender of Canadian democratic values, built a unique and still visible example of the seigneurial system on the banks of the Ottawa River. Delivered by experienced guide-interpreters, the program includes a tour of the manor house, the seigneurial office, the grain shed and the Papineau family funeral chapel.

School program components
  1. Louis-Joseph Papineau – a popular hero: In this tour introductory activity, the students discover the main achievements of Louis-Joseph Papineau's career. An overview of his biography from his birth to his settlement at Montebello, serves as the background to presentation of the social values he embodied.
  2. The Papineau manor house – a seigneurial residence: A unique opportunity to get an inside view of the manor house. Students will tour the rooms on the elegant main floor where the Papineau family lived and entertained their guests
  3. Louis-Joseph Papineau, defender of the seigneurial system: Students will be introduced to the functions of each of the estate's outbuildings (buildings surrounding the manor house) and will participate in a theme rally, as a pretext for discovering signs of the seigneurial system as established by Louis-Joseph Papineau at Montebello.

MEQ competencies

  1. Question social realities in a historical perspective
  2. Interpret social realities by using the historical method
  3. Consolidate the practice of citizenship through history

School Package: Hosting offer for secondary school students

Nature and Heritage

Clientele: secondary school students

Schedule: May and June, September and October

This package is offered by Centre touristique La Petite Rouge, a four-star vacation centre offering a full range of outdoor activities in an enchanting natural setting and Manoir Papineau National Historic Site of Canada, an outstanding heritage resource of the Petite-Nation region.

Components of the Nature and Heritage Package

Nature and Physical Activities
Hikes on 2-km forest and geology interpretation trails. 15-km hiking and cycling trails.
Canoeing techniques and complete boating facilities.

Chalet Accommodations
Community life and lodging at a chalet with cafeteria
Possibility of reserving a show with folksinger

History and Heritage
Tour of Manoir Papineau National Historic Site of Canada.
Learning Program: Louis-Joseph Papineau, great Canadian democrat

Cost per student (taxes and Manoir tour included)

24 hours / 1 night / 3 meals $83
48 hours / 2 nights / 6 meals $124

Centre touristique La Petite Rouge inc.
61 Rang des Pruniers, Highway 323
Saint-Émile-de-Suffolk (Québec) J0V 1Y0

For information and reservations:
819 426-2191 or 1 888 426-2191 (toll free) – fax 819 426-2569
www.petiterouge.com

Lieu historique national du Manoir-Papineau

Activités éducatives

Expressions populaires

Louis-Joseph Papineau, 1843 Louis-Joseph Papineau, 1843
© Musée du Québec / Patrick Altman / 55.111, 1843

La langue canadienne-française comporte un certain nombre d'expressions idiomatiques associées au patronyme Papineau. Toutes renvoient à Louis-Joseph Papineau. Certaines appartiennent maintenant au passé linguistique des Québécois, mais d'autres restent en usage.

« Avoir la tête à Papineau »

Quoi de plus naturel pour rappeler l'intelligence d'un homme important que d'associer celle-ci à sa tête. Dire de quelqu'un qu'il a la tête à Papineau, c'est donc lui reconnaître un esprit nettement supérieur à la moyenne. Il saute aux yeux que le sens de cette expression idiomatique correspond à celui donné par Gérard Filteau à « c'est un Papineau ». Jan Depocas, directeur des éditions Jean Lebel et vraisemblablement admirateur du chef patriote, ira beaucoup plus loin dans son interprétation de « la tête à Papineau » et parlera de génie. Comme les génies et les intelligences supérieures constituent, la plupart du temps, des exceptions, il est facile d'imaginer les limites de l'usage de cette formule. Par contre, sa version négative connaît une popularité qui ne se dément toujours pas.

Questions fréquentes

La famille de Louis-Joseph-Amédée Papineau devant le manoir. À l'avant-plan, les enfants autour de la calèche et à l'arrière-plan les adultes devant la porte d'entrée du manoir La famille de Louis-Joseph-Amédée Papineau devant le manoir, vers 1894
© Fonds Jacqueline Papineau Desbaillets / 206/ic-1G/PR-6/S-65 no 2, 1894

Comment se fait-il que le manoir Papineau soit construit sur les terrains du Château Montebello, propriété de la corporation hôtelière Canadien Pacifique?

Le manoir a d'abord été construit en 1850, soit 80 années avant le Château Montebello. En effet, le domaine seigneurial de Louis-Joseph Papineau inclut l'espace où est construit le Château Montebello. En 1929, la famille Papineau vend le manoir et le domaine. C'est sous le règne des nouveaux propriétaires que le Log Château est construit en 1930, là où était située une prairie du temps des Papineau.

Programme scolaire

La tête à Papineau

Clientèle : 3e cycle du primaire

Durée : 90 minutes

Taille maximal d'un groupe : 60 personnes

Encadrés par des guides-interprètes chevronnés, les élèves découvrent la pleine signification de l'expression «Avoir la tête à Papineau» de même qu'ils sont sensibilisés aux principales caractéristiques du régime seigneurial.

Les volets du programme scolaire
  1. L'invitation au manoir : Occasion unique de découvrir les intérieurs du manoir. Les élèves parcourent les pièces du bel étage où ont vécu les membres de la famille Papineau et leurs invités.
  2. Louis-Joseph Papineau, seigneur-bâtisseur : Grâce à plusieurs photos anciennes et à quelques illustrations techniques, les élèves apprennent à distinguer les nombreux styles architecturaux qui composent et caractérisent le domaine Papineau dans son ensemble.
  3. La tournée des dépendances du domaine : Les élèves se voient initiés aux fonctions de chacune des dépendances (bâtiments entourant le manoir) du domaine seigneurial. Celles-ci reflètent l'amplitude des droits et privilèges du seigneur.

Compétences du MEQ

  1. Lire l'organisation d'un société sur son territoire.
  2. Interpréter le changements dans une société et sur son territoire.
  3. S'ouvrir à la diversité des sociétés et de leur territoire.

Louis-Joseph Papineau, grand démocrate canadien

Clientèle : élèves du secondaire

Durée : 90 minutes

Taille maximal d'un groupe : 60 personnes

Ce programme met en vedette le seigneur de la Petite-Nation, l'illustre Louis-Joseph Papineau. Entre 1848 et 1871, cet homme cultivé, ardent défenseur des valeurs démocratiques canadiennes, bâtit un exemple unique et encore visible du régime seigneurial sur les rives de l'Outaouais. Dispensés par des guides-interprètes chevronnés, le programme inclut la visite du manoir, du bureau seigneurial, du hangar à grains et la chapelle funéraire de la famille Papineau.

Les volets du programme scolaire
  1. Louis-Joseph Papineau : un héros populaire: Activité d'introduction à la visite, les élèves découvrent les principales réalisations de la carrière de Louis-Joseph Papineau. Un survol de sa biographie, depuis sa naissance jusqu'à son installation à Montebello, tient de toile de fond à la présentation des valeurs sociales incarnées par le personnage.
  2. Le manoir Papineau : une résidence seigneuriale : Occasion unique de découvrir les intérieurs du manoir, les élèves parcourent les pièces du bel étage où ont vécu les membres de la famille Papineau et leurs invités.
  3. Louis-Joseph Papineau, défenseur du régime seigneurial : Les élèves se voient initiés aux fonctions de chacune des dépendances (bâtiments entourant le manoir) du domaine seigneurial et participent à un rallye thématique, prétexte à la découverte des témoins du régime seigneurial tel qu'implanté par Louis-Joseph Papineau à Montebello.

Compétences du MEQ

  1. Interroger les réalités sociales dans une perspective historique
  2. Interpréter les réalités sociales à l'aide de la méthode historique
  3. Consolider l'exercice de sa citoyenneté à l'aide de l'histoire

Forfait scolaire : proposition d'accueil pour les élèves du secondaire

Nature et patrimoine

Clientèle : élèves du secondaire

Horaire : Mai et juin septembre et octobre

Ce forfait vous est proposé par le Centre touristique La Petite Rouge, centre de vacances quatre étoiles offrant toute une gamme d'activités de plein air dans un décor naturel enchanteur et le lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau, richesse patrimoniale exceptionnelle de la région de la Petite-Nation.

Les volets du Forfait Nature et patrimoine

Nature et activités physiques
Randonnée en sentiers d'interprétation de la forêt et de la géologie. Sentiers de 2 km
Sentiers pédestres et cyclistes de 15 km
Technique de canotage et équipements nautiques complets

Hébergement en chalet
Vie communautaire et hébergement en chalet avec cafétéria
Possibilité de réserver un spectacle avec le chansonnier folklorique

Histoire et patrimoine
Visite du lieu historique national du Canada du Manoir-Papineau.
Programme éducatif Louis-Joseph Papineau, grand démocrate canadien

Coût par étudiant ( taxes et visite du manoir incluses )

24 heures / 1 nuit / 3 repas 83$
48 heures / 2 nuits / 6 repas 124$

Centre touristique La Petite Rouge inc.
61, rang des Pruniers, Route 323
Saint-Émile-de-Suffolk (Québec), J0V 1Y0

Pour information et réservation :
819 426-219 - 1 888 426-2191 (sans frais) 819 426-2569 fax
www.petiterouge.com