Lévis Forts National Historic Site of Canada

Silent Canons...

Humoristic drawing of the British garrison's departure in 1871 Humoristic drawing of the British garrison's departure in 1871
© Recollections of Canada / W.O. Carlisle & C.B. Martindale / 1873

Construction finally began on the detached forts just at the moment when the American threat tapered off. The risk of armed reprisals against Canada soon subsided. To put an end to its controversial quarrels with the Americans, London used its strongest arm: diplomacy. In 1871, negotiators signed the Treaty of Washington, while in Europe the conflict also subsided due to the English talent for mediation.

The strategy for the defence of Point Lévy, which involved heading off any invasion from the south, was no longer relevant. Great Britain left the government of Canada the task of protecting its own borders. In accordance with the dictates of the Empire's military strategy, Québec's role was taken over by Halifax. British troops finally left the Québec region for good on October 11, 1871.

Soldiers from the B Battery at the militia camp in 1897 Picture of the soldiers from the B Battery at the militia camp in 1897
© National Archives of Québec / P585, P162

Thus, these three forts, built at such great cost, would never house a garrison and would never fire a shot in war. They were soon to become practice grounds for the artillery school (Battery B) of the Canadian Army, whose headquarters were in the Citadel at Québec.

Since Canada no longer had to worry about conflict with its neighbours to the south and since the Canadian Army was faced with budget cuts, the forts were not armed until 1878. In that year, Great Britain feared that the expansion of Russia towards Turkey and India would have repercussions in the colonies. Canada was poorly equipped in terms of armament and modern facilities to face such attacks using battleships.

Armstrong-type rifled cannon Armstrong-type rifled cannon
© Parks Canada

In the end, the Russian threat did not materialize, but it did force the Canadian government to rethink its defence strategy to include the possibility of a naval offensive from overseas. This climate of tension made them fear possible raids and naval bombardments on Canadian ports. So in reaction to the Russian threat, each fort received a piece of breach-load rifled artillery of approximately 17 cm. This Armstrong canon was the only piece of artillery ever to be mounted on the terreplein at Fort No. 1. It was able to fire a 40-kg shell over a distance of 5 km.

From Warehouse to National Historic Site
Fort No. 1, before restoration Fort No. 1, before restoration
© Public Works

According to a testimony, Fort No. 1 vonce served as a munitions warehouse and barracks for troops waiting to be sent to Europe in World War I. It continued as a munitions warehouse between the two wars and into World War II.

Despite the fact that the fort was never used to its full potential, it nonetheless has great historical interest. As an integral part of the defence complex of Québec, it bears witness to the evolution in fortification techniques and marks the transition from classical to modern military art, from the concept of the continuous rampart to the detached fort.

From an architectural standpoint, the quality and beauty of the work are admirable. The underground passageways, the caponiers vaulted in brick, the stairs in the gorge caponier perched over corbels, are just some of the architectural features sure to interest visitors.

Under the leadership of Mr. Paul Théberge, a group of volunteers called Les Compagnons du vieux fort (Friends of the Old Fort) put a great deal of energy into saving the fort in the 1960s. In 1972, a century after the construction of the fort, Parks Canada undertook the sizeable task of stabilizing and restoring the fort. Since 1982, the site has been open to the public every summer.

Lieu historique national du Canada des
Forts-de-Lévis

Des canons silencieux...

Départ de la garnison britannique de Québec, 1871 Caricature illustrant le départ de la garnison britannique en 1871
© Recollections of Canada / W.O. Carlisle et C.B. Martindale / 1873

La construction des forts détachés commence au moment où les canons fratricides américains se taisent. Peu à peu, la menace de représailles armées contre le Canada s'estompe. Pour mettre un terme à ses rapports controversés avec les Américains, Londres utilise son arme la plus efficace : la diplomatie. En 1871, ses négociateurs signent le traité de Washington. Sur la scène européenne, les rivalités s'apaisent grâce à la médiation des Anglais.

La stratégie de défense de la pointe Lévy consistant à repousser une invasion par le sud perd ainsi sa pertinence. Dorénavant, la Grande-Bretagne laisse au gouvernement canadien le soin d'assurer la protection de son territoire. Dans le cadre de la stratégie militaire héritée de l'empire, Québec cède le pas à Halifax. Les troupes britanniques quittent définitivement la région de Québec, le 11 octobre 1871.

Soldats de la batterie B durant le camp de milice, en 1897 Soldats de la batterie B durant le camp de milice, en 1897
© Archives nationales du Québec / Philippe Gingras / P585, P162

Dans ce contexte, aucun des trois forts construits à grands frais n'abritera de garnison. L'efficacité de ces fortifications n'a donc jamais été mise à l'épreuve. Les forts tombent alors sous le contrôle de l'école d'artillerie (batterie B) de l'armée canadienne, dont les quartiers généraux se trouvent à la Citadelle de Québec.

Puisque le Canada n'a plus à craindre ses voisins du sud et que l'armée canadienne est affectée par des coupures budgétaires, aucun des forts ne dispose d'armement avant 1878. Cette année-là, la Grande-Bretagne s'inquiète de l'expansionnisme russe vers la Turquie et l'Inde, menace directe sur toutes ses colonies. Contre de telles attaques de cuirassés, le Canada se voit mal pourvu en armement et en installations modernes.

Canon rayé de type Armstrong Canon rayé de type Armstrong
© Parcs Canada

La menace russe ne se matérialise pas, mais elle oblige le gouvernement canadien à reconsidérer sa stratégie défensive en fonction de la possibilité de menaces navales provenant d'outre-mer. Ce climat de tension fait craindre des raids et des bombardements navals sur les ports canadiens. En réaction à l'alerte russe, chaque fort reçoit une pièce d'artillerie rayée d'environ 17 cm, se chargeant par la culasse. Le canon Armstrong sera la seule pièce d'artillerie jamais montée sur le terre-plein du fort Numéro-Un. Ce canon rayé pouvait tirer un obus de quelque 40 kg à une distance de 5 km.

D'entrepôt à lieu historique national
Fort-Numéro-Un, avant la restauration Le fort Numéro-Un, avant la restauration
© Travaux Publics 

D'après un témoignage, le Fort- Numéro-Un aurait servi d'entrepôt de munitions et de lieu de casernement pour les militaires en attente de transport pour l'Europe au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Durant l'entre-deux-guerres et la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le fort aurait continué à servir d'entrepôt.

En dépit de sa faible utilisation, le fort présente un intérêt historique indéniable. Partie intégrante du complexe défensif de Québec, il témoigne de l'évolution des techniques de fortifications, de la transition dans l'art militaire entre le classique et le moderne, entre le rempart continu et le fort détaché.

Sur le plan architectural, il faut admirer la qualité et la beauté de l'œuvre. Les passages souterrains, les caponnières avec voûtes en brique et l'escalier de la caponnière de gorge reposant sur des corbeaux ne constituent que quelques-uns des traits d'architecture susceptibles d'intéresser le visiteur.

Sous l'initiative de M. Paul Théberge, un groupe de bénévoles, Les Compagnons du vieux fort, déploie beaucoup d'efforts pour la sauvegarde du lieu durant les années 1960. En 1972, soit un siècle après la construction de la fortification, Parcs Canada entreprend d'importants travaux de stabilisation et de restauration. C'est ainsi que depuis 1982, le site ouvre ses portes, chaque été.