Common menu bar links

Fort Lennox National Historic Site

Big Dig Event

Bring your trowels and sieves, and be ready to dig! Bring your trowels and sieves, and be ready to dig!
© Parks Canada
August 2 to 10, 2014,
from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Presented within the context of Archaeology Month, come and join Parks Canada’s archaeologists during their onsite digs and diving operations in the Richelieu River. What long-buried secrets will they unearth at the house of the shipyard’s commodore from the days of the War of 1812-1814?

At least once in your lifetime...
Bring your trowels and sieves, and be ready to dig! That’s the watchword to participate in the coolest family activity of the summer! This is a unique opportunity to mingle with experienced and meticulous specialists. This incredible experience can be shared with friends and family. Simply make a reservation!

Small fragments with lots of stories to tell
The artefacts found will be studied right away, using the onsite laboratory. Participants will learn about the process undergone by each artefact after it is unearthed and analyzed, including restoration, preservation, collections management and historical interpretation. This is the perfect opportunity to ask a thousand and one questions about the discovery and processing of precious objects.

Fascinating and surprising activities
If you are looking for a challenge, you won’t be disappointed! How about using the tools and equipment of scientists? Just like a real archaeologist, you will get the opportunity to operate a remote-controlled submarine, a magnetic gradiometer, a spectrometer and more! Youngsters will have a lot of fun with the “mystery dig site” and “cool naval battle.” Mark this incredible day by stopping at the temporary tattoo station, getting an original staged portrait of yourself using a green screen, or having your picture taken with our friendly mascot Parka!

Complete program

Cost and details

Regular fees apply to the Big Dig event activities.

The dig workshops will last three hours, and the cost is $29.80 (including entry fees) per person (12 years and older).

Reservations are required only for the dig workshops;
contact us at 514-283-0797 or fouille.dig@pc.gc.ca


Volunteers wanted!

Take part in an unforgettable experience at the biggest archaeological event in Quebec! Tasks:

  • Welcoming the visitors
  • Assisting the archaeologists on their public excavations
  • Assisting the children’s activities
  • Helping set-up and dismantle the event

Shifts from 9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. from August 1st to 10th depending on your availabilities

Lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox

L’événement Fort-fouille

À vos truelles et tamis, prêts, creusez! À vos truelles et tamis, prêts, creusez!
© Parcs Canada
2 au 10 août 2014, de 10 h à 18 h

Dans le cadre du Mois de l’archéologie, venez participer aux recherches des archéologues de Parcs Canada qui mèneront des fouilles en direct et des plongées dans la rivière Richelieu. Quels secrets enfouis découvriront-ils sur le site de la maison du Commodore du chantier naval de la guerre de 1812-1814?

À faire une fois dans votre vie...
À vos truelles et tamis, prêts, creusez! C’est le mot d’ordre pour participer à l’activité familiale la plus « cool » de l’été. C’est une chance unique de côtoyer des spécialistes chevronnés et attentionnés. Cette expérience hors du commun peut être partagée en famille ou entre amis. Il suffit de réserver sa place!

Des petits bouts d’objets qui en ont long à raconter
Des artefacts trouvés seront traités en temps réel, grâce au laboratoire sur place. Les participants pourront comprendre le chemin parcouru par l’objet qui, une fois trouvé et analysé, passe par les étapes de la restauration, la conservation, la gestion des collections et l’interprétation historique. Voilà l’occasion de poser mille et une questions sur les découvertes et sur les traitements prodigués aux objets précieux.

Des activités tout aussi captivantes que surprenantes
Vous recherchez des défis, vous serez servis! Que diriez-vous d’utiliser les outils et les équipements des scientifiques? Comme un vrai archéologue, vous pourrez manipuler un sous-marin téléguidé, un gradiomètre magnétique, un spectromètre et bien plus. Les jeunes auront beaucoup de plaisirs avec « les carrés de fouilles mystères » ou « les batailles navales rafraîchissantes ». Un passage à la station de tatouage temporaire ou des mises en scène originales de portraits devant l’écran vert ou une photo avec la sympathique mascotte Parka, marquera avec brio cette journée purement géniale!

Programmation complète

Coût et détails

Toutes les activités de Fort-fouille sont au tarif régulier de visite.

Les ateliers de fouilles archéologiques durent 3 heures et coûtent 29,80 $ (incluant les droits d’entrée au site), par personne (12 ans et plus).

Une réservation est nécessaire pour les ateliers de fouilles uniquement :
514 283-0797 ou fouille.dig@pc.gc.ca


Bénévoles recherchés!

Venez vivre une expérience inoubliable durant le plus gros évènement archéologique au Québec! Tâches :

  • Accueil des visiteurs
  • Assistance des archéologiques pour les fouilles publiques
  • Aide à l’animation des activités pour enfants
  • Aide au montage et au démontage

Quarts de travail bénévoles de 9 h 30 à 18 h du 1er au 10 août selon vos disponibilités.