Common menu bar links

The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the origin of the Lachine toponym?

Under the French Regime, René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle obtained a seigneury called "Côte Saint-Sulpice" from the Sulpicians. In 1669, he sold most of his estate to finance a voyage of discovery to the Great Lakes in the hope of finding a route to China. As he was very ambitious, the local people mockingly started calling his old estate "La Chine" (China), and the toponym finally evolved into "Lachine". Its inhabitants were therefore called "Lachinois" and " Lachinoises" in French.

What is the difference between the coureurs des bois and the voyageurs?

The coureurs des bois were active during the French Regime. They were small businessmen trapping fur animals and trading. The voyageurs, for their part, were hired hands. They were a bit like modern-day truckers. They were responsible for the transport of furs and of trading goods between the St. Lawrence Valley and the Northwest. At that time, their salary for six months was about three times higher than that of a man working on a farm for one year.

What is wampum?

Wampum is the name given to white or purple shell beads and the arrowhead sashes made with these beads by the Amerindians from the East Coast. Wampum was used as a trading currency, for ornamentation or for concluding treaties. It also evoked solemn agreements, history and religious matters.

Is the fur trade still very important today in Canada?

The Canadian fur industry contributes 800 million dollars a year to the Canadian economy. Quebec plays host to 125 of the 150 Canadian manufacturers. Most are located in the Montréal area. In addition, there are trappers, dyers, dressers, designers and retailers. In all, 80 000 Canadians work in the fur industry. Furthermore, Canada exports up to 60% of its furs with total sales of $83.5 million in 1994.

You can visit the fur district in Montréal, in the quadrangle formed by Bleury, Sainte-Catherine and Saint-Alexandre Streets, and De Maisonneuve Boulevard, not far from Place-des-Arts.

Are Aboriginal People still active in the fur trade?

About half the trappers in Canada are Aboriginal People: Indians, Inuit and Métis. They come from every province. The income earned from trapping is particularly important considering the limited economic opportunities in many rural and isolated regions in Canada. Furthermore, hunters and their families consume almost all of the meat. The income earned from the furs is used to buy traps, guns, ammunition, snowmobiles, in short everything required for living in a subsistence economy today.

Are fur-bearing animals endangered species?

Apparently there are more beaver today than in Jacques Cartier's day...

About 20 different fur-bearing animal species are captured in Canada but none are threatened with extinction. Indeed no species appears on the list of species threatened with extinction or of endangered species, compiled by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) or by the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).

More than 85% of fur-bearing animals trapped in Canada belong to one of 5 species, each of which is very plentiful: the beaver, the muskrat, the squirrel, the marten and the raccoon.

Moreover, trapping is controlled and regulated particularly by the determination of the hunting season and by the imposition of quotas. In the province of Quebec in particular, only 2% of the furs sold come from captures using foot hold traps, a device denounced by all pressure groups. Current research aims at improving capturing techniques, and Canada prides itself in being in the forefront in this area on an international level.

Lieu historique national
du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine

Foire aux questions

D'où vient le toponyme Lachine?

Sous le Régime français, René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle obtient des Sulpiciens une seigneurie nommée « Côte Saint-Sulpice ». En 1669, il vend la majeure partie de son fief pour financer un voyage d'exploration aux Grands Lacs. Il espère trouver une route vers la Chine. Pour se moquer de cette ambition, les gens de la région commencent à appeler par dérision son ancien fief « La Chine », et le toponyme se transformera finalement en « Lachine ». Ainsi, ses habitants se dénomment Lachinois et Lachinoises.

Quelle est la différence entre les coureurs des bois et les voyageurs?

Les coureurs des bois sont actifs sous le Régime français. Ils agissent comme de petits entrepreneurs, piégeant les animaux à fourrure et faisant le commerce.

Les voyageurs, quant à eux, sont des engagés. Ils ressemblent un peu aux camionneurs des temps modernes. Ils s'occupent du transport des fourrures et des objets d'échange entre la vallée du Saint-Laurent et le Nord-Ouest. Leur salaire à l'époque pour six mois est environ trois fois plus élevé que celui d'un homme travaillant sur une ferme durant un an.

Qu'est-ce qu'un wampum?

C'est le nom des perles de coquillages blanches ou pourpres et des ceintures fabriquées avec ces perles par les Amérindiens de la côte est. Les wampum servent de monnaie d'échange, d'ornement ou d'objet pour sceller des traités. Ils font aussi référence aux ententes solennelles, à l'histoire et aux matières religieuses.

Le commerce des fourrures a-t-il une grande importance encore aujourd'hui au Canada?

L'industrie canadienne de la fourrure représente un apport de 800 millions de dollars par année à l'économie canadienne. Le Québec compte 125 des 150 manufacturiers canadiens. La plupart sont situés dans la région de Montréal. À cela s'ajoutent les trappeurs, les teinturiers, les apprêteurs, les designers et les détaillants. Au total, 80 000 Canadiens travaillent dans l'industrie de la fourrure. Par ailleurs, le Canada exporte jusqu'à 60 % de ses fourrures, pour un total de ventes de 83,5 millions de dollars en 1994.
On peut se rendre dans le quartier des fourrures à Montréal, dans le quadrilatère formé par les rues Bleury, Sainte-Catherine, Saint-Alexandre, et le boulevard De Maisonneuve, tout près de la Place-des-Arts.

Les Amérindiens participent-ils toujours au commerce des fourrures?

Au Canada, environ la moitié des trappeurs sont des autochtones : Indiens, Inuits et Métis. Ils proviennent de toutes les provinces. Les revenus tirés de la trappe sont particulièrement importants quand on considère les possibilités économiques limitées de nombreuses régions rurales et éloignées du Canada. D'ailleurs, presque toute la viande est consommée par les chasseurs et leurs familles. Quant aux revenus tirés des fourrures, ils servent à acheter les pièges, les fusils, les munitions, les motoneiges, soit tout le nécessaire pour pratiquer aujourd'hui une économie de subsistance.

Les animaux à fourrure sont-ils en danger d'extinction?

On dit qu'il y aurait plus de castors aujourd'hui qu'à l'époque de Jacques Cartier... Au Canada, environ 20 espèces différentes d'animaux à fourrure sont capturées, mais aucune n'est menacée d'extinction. En fait, aucune espèce ne figure sur la liste des espèces menacées de disparition ou en danger, dressée par le Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada (COSEWIC) ou par la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore menacées d'extinction (CITES).

Plus de 85 % des animaux à fourrure piégés au Canada proviennent de 5 espèces, chacune très abondante : le castor, le rat musqué, l'écureuil, la martre et le raton laveur.

Le piégeage est d'ailleurs contrôlé et réglementé, notamment par la détermination des saisons d'abattage et par l'imposition des quotas. Au Québec plus particulièrement, seulement 2 % des fourrures vendues proviennent de captures par le moyen des pièges à patte, un engin condamné par tous les groupes de pression. Des recherches se poursuivent en vue d'améliorer les techniques de capture et, sur ce plan, le Canada se pique d'être à l'avant-garde au niveau international.