The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site of Canada

The Women

"Trapper's Bride", Marriage Between an Amerindian and a Voyageur
© Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha / A. J. Miller / 1840

Women were not very active in the fur trade. However, Amerindian women played an important role. The winterers who stayed in the Northwest for long periods often married them. This event was known as "a fur-trade marriage".

The Amerindian women were indispensable to the voyageurs, since they knew how to survive in this land. They made moccasins, provided directions on which routes to follow, and carried heavy loads. But above all, they acted as intermediaries between the members of their tribe and the clerks.

Exhibit about the voyageurs"Running a rapid on the Mattawa River, Canada" from F. A. Hopkins
© National Archives of Canada / C-13585

Marie-Anne Gaboury, the wife of voyageur Jean-Baptiste Lagimodière, became the first White woman to settle in the Northwest. She would become the grandmother of Louis Riel, the Métis chief and hero. Another European woman would venture into this far-off land. Her name was Frances Ann Hopkins. She was the wife of Edward Hopkins, the secretary of George Simpson, the governor of the Hudson's Bay Company. A painter, she produced magnificent engravings illustrating the voyageur life.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la- Fourrure-à-Lachine

Les femmes

"Trapper's Bride", Mariage entre une Amérindienne et un voyageur
© Joslyn Art Museum, Omaha / A. J. Miller / 1840

Les femmes sont très peu présentes dans le commerce des fourrures. Pourtant, les Amérindiennes jouent un rôle primordial. Les hivernants qui restent dans le Nord-Ouest du pays pour de longues périodes se marient souvent avec celles-ci. On appelle cet événement « mariage à la mode du pays ».

Les Amérindiennes sont des aides indispensables aux voyageurs, puisqu'elles savent comment survivre dans ce pays. Elles confectionnent les mocassins, indiquent les routes à suivre, transportent de lourdes charges. Mais surtout, elles servent d'intermédiaires entre les membres de leur tribu et les commis.

"Running a rapid on the Mattawa River, Canada" de F. A. Hopkins
© Archives Nationales du Canada / C-13585

Marie-Anne Gaboury, épouse du voyageur Jean-Baptiste Lagimodière, devient la première femme blanche à s'installer dans le Nord-Ouest. Elle sera d'ailleurs la grand-mère de Louis Riel, chef et héros des Métis. Une autre femme européenne s'aventure dans ces contrées perdues. Il s'agit de Frances Ann Hopkins. Elle est l'épouse de Edward Hopkins, secrétaire de George Simpson, gouverneur de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Artiste peintre, elle a réalisé de magnifiques gravures illustrant la vie des voyageurs.