Common menu bar links

The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site of Canada

The Bourgeois

Exhibit about the Bourgeois Exhibit about the Bourgeois
© Parks Canada / 182/PE/PR7/SPO-00002

They went by the name of McTavish, Frobisher, McGillivray, McGill, Todd, Mackenzie, or Richardson. They were known as the "bourgeois". Mostly of Scottish origin, they settled in Montréal. These merchants hired the voyageurs and provided them with canoes and equipment. They also bought the goods required for trading and sold the pelts on the London market through British brokerage firms.

Simon McTavish
Simon McTavishSimon McTavish
© National Archives of Canada / Anonymous / C-164, circa 1800

Born in Scotland in 1750, Simon McTavish disembarked in New York in 1764 and worked at a merchant's establishment. In 1773 he was living in Détroit and started trading in the Niagara region. He settled in Montréal at the end of the 1770s.

After meeting three brothers named Joseph, Benjamin and Thomas Frobisher, McTavish headed for the Northwest. When Benjamin Frobisher died in 1787, he was promoted to the head of the North West Company. In the Montréal area, he also owned a sawmill, a cookie factory (cookies for voyageurs) and a coopery. He also set up his own company in London: McTavish, Fraser and Company, which handled resupplying, credit and insurance.

His contemporaries nicknamed him "the marquis" because of his elegance and refined personality. In 1793 Simon McTavish married Marie-Marguerite Chaboillez, the daughter of a fur merchant named Charles-Jean-Baptiste Chaboillez. They would leave no heirs since all of their children died in their twenties. The marquis passed away on July 6, 1804 in Montréal.

Alexander Mackenzie
Alexander MackenzieAlexander Mackenzie
© National Gallery of Canada / T. Lawrence / #8000, around 1800

Alexander Mackenzie was born in Scotland in 1764. A fur trader and explorer, he was a shareholder in the North West Company and later in the new North West Company (also known as XY).

His first voyage of discovery took him to the Arctic Ocean in 1789. Mackenzie was trying to reach the Pacific. Unsuccessful, he went back up the river that today bears his name. This would only be a temporary setback however, since he took another route across the Rockies in May 1793. He finally reached the Pacific near Bella Coola.

Mackenzie went back to Grand Portage in 1794. He lived in Montréal until 1799. Two years later he published a volume on his travels. Knighted by King George III in 1802, he died in Scotland in 1820.

William McGillivray
William McGillivrayWilliam McGillivray
© Musée Château Ramezay / CRX 979.34.1

Born in Scotland in 1764, William McGillivray was the nephew of Simon McTavish. His uncle, who had paid for his education, brought him to Montréal in 1784. William worked as a clerk at various trading posts.

In 1790, McGillivray became an associate in the North West Company by buying Peter Pond's share. He was then called a bourgeois and became involved in all of the company's important affairs. Following the death of McTavish in 1804, he succeeded him at the head of the company.

Around 1790, William McGillivray had a "fur-country marriage" to a Métis named "Susan". The four children born of this marriage inherited lands and money. In 1800 in London, McGillivray married Magdalen McDonald who bore him six children, four of whom died in infancy. He died in London on October 16, 1825.

James McGill
James McGillJames McGill
© McCord Museum / Anonymous / M 10284, c.1810

Born in Scotland in 1744, James McGill arrived in Canada around 1760. Immediately on his arrival he started to travel in the Northwest. In the end he became an associate of the North West Company. After 1800, he diversified his commercial activities, becoming interested in banking, timber and land. At the time, he was known as the richest man in Montréal.

McGill died in 1813. He bequeathed his summer home and the sum of 10 000 £ to set up a college that would open its doors in 1829. This institution later became the university that bears his name.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la- Fourrure-à-Lachine

Les bourgeois

Îlot sur les bourgeoisÎlot sur les bourgeois
© Parcs Canada / 182/PE/PR7/SPO-00002

Ils se nomment McTavish, Frobisher, McGillivray, McGill, Todd, Mackenzie, Richardson. On les appelle les « bourgeois ». D'origine écossaise pour la plupart, ils sont venus s'installer à Montréal. Ces marchands embauchent les voyageurs et leur fournissent canots et équipement. En plus, ils achètent les marchandises nécessaires à la traite et vendent les pelleteries sur le marché londonien par l'entremise de maisons de courtage britannique.

Simon McTavish
Simon McTavishSimon McTavish
© Archives nationales du Canada / Anonyme / C-164, vers 1800

Né en Écosse vers 1750, Simon McTavish débarque à New York en 1764 et travaille chez un marchand. En 1773, il vit à Détroit et commence à faire la traite dans la région de Niagara. Il s'installe à Montréal à la fin des années 1770.
À la suite de sa rencontre avec les frères Joseph, Benjamin et Thomas Frobisher, McTavish s'oriente vers le Nord-Ouest. Lorsque Benjamin Frobisher meurt en 1787, il se hisse à la tête de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Dans la région de Montréal, il est aussi propriétaire d'une scierie, d'une biscuiterie (biscuits pour les voyageurs) et d'une tonnellerie. À Londres, il fonde également sa propre compagnie : la McTavish, Fraser and Company qui contrôle le ravitaillement, le crédit et les assurances.

Ses contemporains le surnomment le « marquis », à cause de son élégance et de sa personnalité. En 1793, Simon McTavish épouse Marie-Marguerite Chaboillez, fille du marchand de fourrures Charles-Jean-Baptiste Chaboillez. Il ne laissera pas d'héritiers, puisque tous ses enfants meurent dans la vingtaine. Le marquis s'éteint le 6 juillet 1804, à Montréal.

Alexander Mackenzie
Alexander MackenzieAlexander Mackenzie
© Musée des beaux-arts du Canada / T. Lawrence / #8000, vers 1800

Alexander Mackenzie est né en Écosse en 1764. Commerçant de fourrures et explorateur, il est actionnaire de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, puis de la nouvelle Compagnie du Nord-Ouest (aussi connue sous le nom de XY).

Son premier voyage d'exploration le mène à l'océan Arctique en 1789. Mackenzie cherche à atteindre le Pacifique. Il remonte alors le fleuve qui porte aujourd'hui son nom. Ce ne sera que partie remise puisqu'il se remet en route en mai 1793, à travers les Rocheuses. Il atteint finalement le Pacifique près de Bella Coola.
Mackenzie retourne à Grand Portage en 1794. Il vit à Montréal jusqu'en 1799. Deux ans plus tard, il publie un volume sur ses expéditions. Nommé chevalier par le roi George III en 1802, il meurt en Écosse en 1820.

William McGillivray
William McGillivrayWilliam McGillivray
© Musée Château Ramezay / CRX 979.34.1

Né en Écosse en 1764, William McGillivray est le neveu de Simon McTavish. Son oncle qui avait payé ses études le fait venir à Montréal en 1784. William travaille comme commis dans divers postes de traite.

En 1790, McGillivray devient l'un des associés de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest en achetant la part de Peter Pond. Il est alors consacré bourgeois et est mêlé à toutes les affaires importantes de la compagnie. Après la mort de McTavish en 1804, il devient son successeur à la tête de la compagnie.

Vers 1790, William McGillivray épouse, à la façon du pays, une métisse nommée « Susan ». Quatre enfants naissent de cette union et héritent des terres et de l'argent. En 1800 à Londres, McGillivray se marie avec Magdalen McDonald qui lui donne six enfants, dont quatre meurent en bas âge. Il décède à Londres, le 16 octobre 1825.

James McGill
James McGillJames McGill
© Musée McCord / Anonyme / M 10284, v.1810

Né en Écosse en 1744, James McGill arrive au Canada vers 1760. Aussitôt, il se met à voyager dans les pays d'en haut. Il finit par devenir associé de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Après 1800, il diversifie ses activités commerciales, s'intéressant aux établissements bancaires, au bois et aux terres. À l'époque, on le dit l'homme le plus riche de Montréal.

McGill meurt en 1813. Il lègue sa maison d'été et la somme de 10 000 £ pour la fondation d'un collège qui ouvrira ses portes en 1829. Cette institution devient ensuite l'université qui porte son nom.