The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site

Virtual Tours

on-line visit
On-Line Visit
© Parks Canada / A. Kdel

Less than 30 minutes from downtown Montréal, The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site invites you to an enchanting spot along Lake Saint-Louis. Entering the old warehouse is like travelling back in time for nearly 200 years to relive the Canadian fur epic.

Head off on the Fur Route

head off on the fur route
Fur Trade
© Parks Canada / S. Fabris

Touki the beaver mascot will be pleased to accompany you on this incursion into the Canada of the fur trade era. She will introduce you to the main actors of the fur trade: the famous voyageurs, those intrepid French Canadians who paddled and sang their way across the country, the bourgeois from Scotland and England who hired them, and the Amerindians with whom they traded.


By Master's Canoe

by master's canoe
Canoe
© Parks Canada / S. Fabris

Are you ready to start your journey to the Northwest? The trading goods must arrive in Fort William before summer. A birchbark master canoe is stored away in the warehouse. Its builder, César Newashish, an Attikamek Indian from the Manouane Reserve, followed his ancestors' technique. No nails were used in the craft's construction. The strips of birchbark are sewn with watape or spruce root. The frame is made of white cedar. The entire canoe is waterproofed with spruce resin. Now all you have to do for your rendezvous in trading.


Long Live the Companies!

long live
Exhibit about the companies
© Parks Canada / S. Fabris

When you hear people talk about the fur trade, the Hudson's Bay Company probably comes to mind. Think again! In the early 19th century, the North West Company was at the head of the fur trade. This business succeeded in cornering 80% of the market. The struggle between the two companies continued, however, until the fateful year of 1821, when the two businesses merged and kept the "Hudson's Bay Company" name. This business still exists. The Bay is actually one of the oldest companies in the world still in operation.


In the Voyageurs' Footsteps

In the voyageurs footsteps
In the voyageurs footsteps
© Parks Canada / B. Aquin

The Fur Trade at Lachine National Historic Site provides visitors a memorable experience. As you move around the pelt bales, crates of merchandise and barrels of food supplies, take in the smell of the furs, and enjoy touching and handling the objects on display.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine

Visite virtuelle

Visite Branchée
Visite Branchée
© Parcs Canada / A. Kdel

Situé à moins de 30 minutes du centre-ville de Montréal, le lieu historique national du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine vous invite dans son cadre enchanteur en bordure du lac Saint-Louis. Pénétrer dans son vieil entrepôt, c'est faire un bond dans le temps de près de 200 ans, pour vivre l'épopée des fourrures canadiennes.

Partir sur la route des fourrures

partie sur la route des fourrures
Commerce de la fourrure
© Parcs Canada / S. Fabris

La mascotte Touki le castor vous accompagnera avec plaisir durant cette incursion dans le Canada des fourrures. Elle vous présentera les principaux acteurs de la traite : les fameux voyageurs, ces Canadiens français intrépides qui parcouraient le pays en pagayant et en chantant, les messieurs bourgeois venus d'Écosse ou d'Angleterre qui les engageaient, les Amérindiens avec qui se faisait la traite.


En canot de maître

en canot de maître
Canot
© Parcs Canada / S. Fabris

Prêt à entreprendre votre périple vers les pays d'en haut ? Il faut apporter les marchandises de traite à Fort William avant l'été. Un canot de maître en écorce de bouleau est remisé dans l'entrepôt. Son constructeur César Newashish, un Indien Attikamek de la réserve Manouane, a suivi la technique de ses ancêtres. Aucun clou n'a servi à la fabrication de l'embarcation. Les écorces de bouleau sont cousues avec de la watape, de la racine d'épinette. La membrure est faite de cèdre blanc. Tout le canot est imperméabilisé à la résine d'épinette. Pour votre rendez-vous en pays de traite, il ne vous reste qu'à avironner !


Vive les compagnies !

Vive les compagnies
L’îlot sur les compagnies
© Parcs Canada / S. Fabris

Lorsque vous entendez parler de la traite de fourrures, vous pensez probablement à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, n'est-ce pas ? Détrompez-vous ! Au début du XIXe siècle, c'est la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest qui mène le bal du commerce des fourrures. Cette entreprise réussit d'ailleurs à accaparer 80 % du marché. La lutte persiste toutefois entre les deux compagnies jusqu'à l'année fatidique de 1821, moment où les deux entreprises fusionnent et conservent le nom « Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson ». Cette entreprise existe toujours. La Baie se révèle en effet l'une des plus anciennes compagnies au monde, toujours vivante.


Histoire d'échanger

histoire d’échanger
Histoire d'échanger
© Parcs Canada / B. Aquin

Le lieu historique du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine s'inscrit comme un rendez-vous mémorable. En circulant parmi les ballots de fourrures, les caisses de marchandises et les barriques de vivres, flairez l'odeur des fourrures, prenez goût à toucher et à manipuler les objets exposés.