Common menu bar links

Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Heritage



Unique Wildlife

Over the years, a unique variety of wildlife has settled on Grosse Île, despite its isolated location. Animals have used different ways to reach the island: some mammals swam or made their way over ice bridges linking the islands; birds flew in search of favourable habitats; and amphibians most likely hid in materials transported to the island.


Garter snake Garter snake
© Parks Canada / B. Roberge

Amphibians and reptiles

In the spring, the wood frog and spring peeper can be heard singing next to marshes and bodies of water. More discreet, the Eastern redback salamander and yellow spotted salamander live in the woods. Harmless, the garter snake can be seen, as well as the ringneck snake, which is uncommon to Quebec.






Great horned owl
© Parks Canada / I. Gamache

Birds

Grosse Île is populated by a hundred different species of birds. Many take advantage of the lack of predators and abundance of nesting sites in the forest, including the red-eyed vireo and the veery. Some birds, such as the great heron and peregrine falcon, visit only to feed. Others, like snow geese and ducks, drop by during their migration. The diversity of birds on Grosse Île, especially the 15 species of warblers and the house wren, are remarkable for this small island.


White-tailed deer
© Parks Canada / B. Roberge

Mammals

A number of mammals inhabit this environment. The deer mouse, meadow vole and curious star-nosed mole, equipped with 22 tentacles, dwell in the forests and open spaces. Muskrats, red squirrels and foxes also share the island. Bat nesting sites, with more than 5000 to 7000 little brown bats and northern long-eared bats, have been found on Grosse Île. Lastly, white-tailed deer from neighbouring islands came to stay and multiplied, with a significant impact on the island’s vegetation and rare plant species.


Advice when visiting

To protect wildlife and experience an enjoyable and safe adventure, do not approach animals or feed them.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île- et-le-Mémorial- des-Irlandais

Patrimoine Naturel



Une faune particulière

Au fil du temps, une faune bien particulière s’est établie sur la Grosse-Île, malgré sa situation isolée. Des animaux se sont rendus sur l’île de différentes façons. Des mammifères sont arrivés en nageant ou en parcourant les ponts de glaces entre les îles. Des oiseaux ont volé à la recherche d’habitats favorables. Des amphibiens se sont probablement dissimulés dans des matériaux transportés vers l’île.


Couleuvre rayée Couleuvre rayée
© Parcs Canada / B. Roberge

Amphibiens et reptiles

Au printemps, on entend chanter la grenouille des bois et la rainette crucifère près des mares et des cours d’eau. Plus discrètes, la salamandre rayée et la salamandre maculée vivent en forêt. Inoffensives, des couleuvres rayées sont parfois observées, de même que la couleuvre à collier, qui est peu abondante au Québec.






Grand-duc Grand-duc
© Parcs Canada / I. Gamache

Oiseaux

Une centaine d’espèces d’oiseaux fréquentent la Grosse-Île. Plusieurs profitent de l’absence de prédateurs et des sites de nidification en forêt, comme le viréo aux yeux rouges et la grive fauve. Certains oiseaux, comme le grand héron ou le faucon pèlerin, ne viennent que pour se nourrir. D’autres, comme les oies des neiges et les canards, sont de passage lors de leur migration. La diversité d’oiseaux à la Grosse-Île, en particulier la présence de 15 espèces de parulines et du troglodyte familier, sont remarquables pour cette petite île.


Cerf de Virginie Cerf de Virginie
© Parcs Canada / B. Roberge

Mammifères

Quelques mammifères occupent les habitats de ce milieu. La souris sylvestre, le campagnol des champs et le curieux condylure étoilé, au nez muni de 22 tentacules, s’accommodent des forêts et des endroits ouverts. Des rats musqués, des écureuils roux et des renards fréquentent aussi les lieux. Des sites de mise bas de chauves-souris, comptant plus de 5000 à 7000 vespertilions bruns et vespertilions nordiques, ont été trouvés à la Grosse-Île. Enfin, des cerfs de Virginie provenant des îles voisines se sont introduits et ont proliféré, ce qui a occasionné des impacts importants sur la végétation et les plantes rares.


Conseils de visite

Par souci de conservation de la faune et pour vivre une aventure agréable et sécuritaire, éviter d’approcher les animaux et de les nourrir.