Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Heritage

Grosse Île, an exceptional natural heritage Grosse Île, an exceptional natural heritage
© Parks Canada / É. Le Bel

In addition to its remarkable history, Grosse Île boasts an exceptional natural heritage.

Vegetation
The natural heritage of Grosse Île is particularly obvious through its wide diversity of vegetation. The biodiversity and number of rare plant species found in this considerably small national historic site is significant and comparable to those in Canada’s larger national parks. The vegetation of Grosse Île is also of great ecological value for its variety of habitats and composition of species.

Wildlife
Wildlife at Grosse Île is also unusual. The insular environment harbours species of amphibians and reptiles not common in Quebec, a variety of bird communities, one of the largest colonies of bats in Canada, and even white-tailed deer.

Natural integrity
Lastly, the richness of Grosse Île’s natural heritage is not only due to its ecological diversity, but also to the preservation of its natural resources through time. This small island in the St. Lawrence thus deserves much attention.

Monitoring wild leek populations Monitoring wild leek populations
© Parks Canada / B. Roberge

Conservation efforts
Parks Canada works to better understand ecosystems, rare species and sensitive habitats found on Grosse Île. Ecological studies and monitoring projects are carried out to ensure protection and to promote their development. This approach also enhances the visitor experience.

Advice when visiting
You can help preserve this fragile environment. When visiting, act accordingly by keeping to the trails, not picking “natural souvenirs” and not disturbing the wildlife. Your experience will be that much more enjoyable and beneficial to the maintenance of the ecosystem on Grosse Île.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île- et-le-Mémorial- des-Irlandais

Patrimoine Naturel

Grosse-Île, un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel Grosse-Île, un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel
© Parcs Canada / É. Le Bel

En plus de son histoire remarquable, Grosse-Île possède un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel.

Flore
Le patrimoine naturel de la Grosse-Île se révèle notamment par sa grande diversité floristique. La biodiversité végétale et le nombre de plantes rares dans ce lieu historique national de faible superficie sont très importants. Ils sont comparables à ceux des plus grands parcs nationaux du Canada. La flore de la Grosse-Île présente aussi une grande valeur écologique, tant par sa variété en habitats que par sa composition en espèces.

Faune
La Grosse-Île compte également une faune particulière. Ce milieu insulaire recèle des espèces d’amphibiens et de reptiles peu abondantes au Québec, des communautés d’oiseaux variées, des concentrations de chauves-souris parmi les plus importantes au Canada et même des cerfs de Virginie.

Intégrité naturelle
Enfin, la richesse du patrimoine naturel de Grosse-Île provient non seulement de sa diversité écologique, mais aussi du fait que ses ressources naturelles ont été relativement bien conservées à travers le temps. Cette petite île du Saint-Laurent mérite donc une grande attention.

Suivi des populations d’ail des bois Suivi des populations d’ail des bois
© Parcs Canada / B. Roberge

Efforts de conservation
Parcs Canada s’efforce de mieux comprendre les écosystèmes ainsi que les espèces rares et les habitats sensibles de la Grosse-Île. Des études et des projets de surveillance écologique sont réalisés afin d’assurer leur protection et de contribuer à leur mise en valeur. Cette approche enrichit d’autant plus l’expérience des visiteurs.

Conseils de visite
Vous pouvez également participer à la conservation de cette nature fragile. Lors de votre visite, adoptez des comportements appropriés en demeurant dans les sentiers, en évitant la cueillette de « souvenirs naturels » et en évitant de déranger la faune. Votre expérience sera d’autant plus agréable et bénéfique au maintien des écosystèmes de la Grosse-Île.