Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

Grosse Île at a glance

Stopover at Grosse Île
A New Land…
Family of immigrants Family of immigrants
© National Archives of Canada / Illustrated London News / C-6556

After 1815, in the wake of the Napoleonic Wars, an increasing number of emigrants left the British Isles and, later on, continental Europe, to settle themselves in Britain's North American colonies. The movement of these people occurred at a time when great epidemics of infectious diseases were sweeping through Europe.

The arrival of all these immigrants at the Port of Québec brought with them worry about the transmission of these diseases. The colonial authorities decided to set up a quarantine station on Grosse Île because the island had the important geographical advantages of its close proximity to the Port of Québec, its distance from the local population, and its location along the sea lane.

The First Installations

The first quarantine buildings were hastily erected in 1832. Once the cholera hospital was built, other buildings were erected in its vicinity. The proximity of the living quarters of the sick to those of the healthy, the haphazard way people were accomodated, as well as the lack of scientific knowledge in the treatment of the sick are some of the striking features of the first decades of the quarantine at Grosse Île.

The first installations of the station quarantine on the Grosse Île, in 1832 The first installations of the station quarantine on the Grosse Île, in 1832
© Parks Canada / Drawing B. Duchesne / 1996
1847…A Year of Tragedy
Children suffering during the Great Famine Children suffering during the Great Famine
© Department of Rare Books and Special Collections McLennan Library, McGill University / Illustrated London News, 1847

After many poor potato harvests, Ireland was devastated by the Great Famine between 1845 and 1849, which forced a great part of its population to emigrate. In 1847, an unprecedented number of immigrants, the large majority being Irish, left for Québec. The resulting situation was tragic. The immigrants, weakened by malnutrition and famine, arrived in a deplorable state, many stricken with typhus. This illness quickly took on epidemic proportions. The personel was overwhelmed and Grosse Île could no longer support everyone. In 1847 alone, thousands died at sea, and were buried at Grosse Île. Thousands more died in Québec, Montréal and Kingston. It was indeed a dark year.

A Divided Island

After the tragedy of 1847, authorities changed the way immigrants were accommodated. From then on, Grosse Île was divided into three sections. The sick were confined to the east section, healthy immigrants to the west, and the administration to the centre. Barriers, checkpoints and guards separated these areas. The immigrants endured the harsh realities of quarantine.

The island divided in three sections The island divided in three sections
© Parks Canada
Inspection, Disinfection and Detention
Docteur Frederick Motizambert Doctor Frederick Motizambert
© Who's who in Canada / 1922 Edition

After Confederation in 1867, the Canadian government developed an immigration policy that demanded that quarantine services be effective and efficient. Dr. Frederick Montizambert, then medical superintendent, reorganized the station in accordance with new discoveries in bacteriology. He subjected ships and immigrants to strict and efficient health controls. He then modernized reception facilities and living quarters for immigrants on Grosse Île. Through his actions, Grosse Île came to fulfil the three main roles of a quarantine station: disinfection, ship inspection and the detention of the sick and the healthy.

Another Context
Immigrants arriving in Canada, around 1900 Immigrants arriving in Canada, around 1900
© National Archives of Canada / PA-30607

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Great War and the Crash of 1929 led to a considerable drop in immigration, which up until then, had been phenomenal. Furthermore, advances in microbiology and the treatment of infectious diseases made the quarantine station at Grosse Île obsolete. It closed its doors in 1937.

Change in Function

In 1942, during World War II, the Department of National Defence used the site as an experimental research station for bacteriological warfare. In 1956, the Grosse Île installations came under control of Agriculture Canada which established its veterinary pathology division there. In 1965, the Department built a quarantine station…for animals. Finally, in 1984, Grosse Île was officially recognized as a National Historic Site.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île- et-le-Mémorial- des-Irlandais

La Grosse-Île en un coup d'oeil!

Escale à la Grosse-Île
Une terre nouvelle…
Famille d'immigrants Famille d'immigrants
© Archives nationales du Canada / Illustrated London News / C-6556

Après 1815, au lendemain des guerres napoléoniennes, un nombre croissant d'émigrants quittent les îles britanniques, l'Irlande et plus tard l'Europe pour venir s'établir dans les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord. Le déplacement de ces populations survient au moment où de grandes épidémies de maladies infectieuses s'abattent sur toute l'Europe.

L'arrivée de tous ces immigrants au port de Québec fait craindre la transmission de ces maladies. Les autorités coloniales décident d'établir à la Grosse-Île une station de quarantaine. L'île offre des avantages géographiques importants : proximité du port de Québec, éloignement des populations locales et situation le long du couloir de navigation.

Les premières installations

Les premières installations de quarantaine sont aménagées à la hâte dès 1832. Après la construction de l'hôpital du choléra, d'autres abris sont édifiés tout près. La proximité de ces bâtiments abritant les immigrants en santé et ceux où logent les personnes malades, l'improvisation dans l'accueil et le manque de connaissances scientifiques dans le traitement des immigrants malades caractérisent, entre autres, les premières décennies d'existence de la quarantaine à la Grosse-Île.

Les premières installations de la station de quarantaine sur la Grosse-Île, en 1832 Les premières installations de la station de quarantaine sur la Grosse-Île, en 1832
© Parcs Canada / Dessin de B. Duchesne / 1996
1847, l'année tragique !
Enfants souffrant durant la Grande Famine Enfants souffrant durant la Grande Famine
© Département des livres rares et des collections spéciales
Bibliothèque McLennan, Université McGill
/ Illustrated London News, 1847

À la suite de plusieurs mauvaises récoltes de pommes de terre, l'Irlande est dévastée par la Grande Famine entre 1845 et 1849, provoquant ainsi l'émigration massive d'une partie importante de sa population. En 1847, un nombre encore jamais vu d'immigrants, très majoritairement irlandais, se dirigent vers Québec. La situation est dramatique ! Ces immigrants, affaiblis par la malnutrition et la famine, arrivent dans un état déplorable et plusieurs sont atteints du typhus. Cette maladie prend rapidement l'ampleur d'une épidémie. La Grosse-Île ne peut répondre aux besoins. Le personnel est débordé…

Des milliers de décès en mer, des milliers de sépultures à la Grosse-Île, des milliers de morts à Québec, Montréal, et Kingston, tel est le triste bilan de cette année noire.

Une île divisée

À la suite du drame de 1847, les autorités modifient la manière d'accueillir les immigrants. La Grosse-Île est désormais divisée en trois secteurs. Les malades sont confinés à l'est, les immigrants dits en santé à l'ouest et l'administration au centre. Barrières, contrôles et sentinelles démarquent ces quartiers. Les immigrants vivent alors les sévères réalités de la quarantaine.

L'île divisée en trois secteurs L'île divisée en trois secteurs
© Parcs Canada
Inspection, désinfection et détention
Docteur Frederick Motizambert Docteur Frederick Motizambert
© Who's who in Canada / édition de 1922

Après la Confédération, le gouvernement canadien élabore une politique d'immigration et de peuplement qui exige un service de quarantaine fiable et efficace. Le docteur Frederick Montizambert, alors médecin-surintendant, réaménage la station en fonction des découvertes médicales dans le domaine de la bactériologie. Il soumet la navigation et l'immigration à des contrôles de santé stricts et efficaces et modernise graduellement les structures d'accueil et d'hébergement des immigrants à la Grosse-Île. Par ses actions, la Grosse-Île répond ainsi aux trois principales fonctions d'une station de quarantaine : l'inspection des navires, la désinfection et la détention des malades et des bien portants.

Un autre contexte
Immigrants arrivant au Canada, vers 1900 Immigrants arrivant au Canada, vers 1900
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA-30607

Au début du XXe siècle, la Première Guerre mondiale et, par la suite, la crise économique de 1929 entraînent une baisse considérable de l'immigration qui, jusque-là, avait atteint des sommets inégalés. Par ailleurs, les progrès enregistrés dans le domaine de la microbiologie et dans le traitement des maladies contagieuses rendent inutiles une station de quarantaine à la Grosse-Île qui ferme ses portes en 1937.

Changement de vocation de la Grosse-Île

En 1942, pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le ministère de la Défense du Canada y aménage une station de recherches expérimentales pour la guerre bactériologique. En 1956, les installations de la Grosse-Île passent sous le contrôle d'Agriculture Canada qui y installe sa division de pathologie vétérinaire. Plus tard, en 1965, le même ministère y aménage une station de quarantaine animale. Finalement, en 1974, la Grosse-Île est officiellement reconnue lieu historique national.