Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

Publications

Descriptive and Visual Dictionary of Objects

The Descriptive and Visual Dictionary of Objects The Descriptive and Visual Dictionary of Objects
© Parks Canada

By Rosemary Campbell, National Collections Manager, Ottawa, with the assistance of Gynette Tremblay, Ethno linguist, Quebec City.

The Descriptive and Visual Dictionary of Objects was conceived in English and French as part of a national project managed by Louise Bernard, Rosemary Campbell, Richard Gauthier and Rodger McNicoll. This new publication, which is designed to educate people about Canadian material culture, includes descriptions and illustrations of objects conserved and presented in national historic sites. The project was prepared by Parks Canada teams in Ontario and Quebec with the assistance of academics and professionals in the field.

The first volume of the dictionary includes 2,000 entries, 600 illustrations and over 3,000 terms. It shows everyday objects from the past to the present, ranging from heating to hairdressing, including furniture, clothing, household items, toiletries and more, all classified according to Parks Canada's Classification System for Historical Collections.

Drawing on linguistics principle to define ethnological collections, this dictionary provides an innovative reference for the casually curious and specialists alike. It is also an invaluable tool for the identification and cataloguing of objects which reflect our rich Canadian heritage. Volume one is the first volume in a series that is sure to appeal to anyone with an interest in history, ethnology, culture, and historical objects.

A dictionary for historical object aficionados and ethnology enthusiasts!

The publication is available from:

Parks Canada Publications Service,
Heritage Presentation and Public Education Branch
25 Eddy Street, 6th Floor
Hull, Quebec
K1A 0M5

(819) 994-2566

or from:

Les publications du Québec
P.O. Box 1005
Québec, Quebec
G1K 7B5
Tel.: (418) 643-5150 or 1 800 463-2100
Fax: (418) 643-6177 or 1 800 561-3479

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île- et-le-Mémorial- des-Irlandais

Publications

Dictionnaire descriptif et visuel d'objets

Dictionnaire descriptif et visuel d'objets Dictionnaire descriptif et visuel d'objets
© Parcs Canada

Par Rosemary Campbell, gestionnaire nationale des collections à Ottawa, avec la collaboration de Gynette Tremblay, spécialiste en ethnolinguistique à Québec.

Conçue en français et en anglais dans le cadre d'un projet national, sous la direction de Louise Bernard, de Rosemary Campbell, de Richard Gauthier et de Rodger McNicoll, cette nouvelle publication vise à mieux faire connaître la culture matérielle canadienne. Ce dictionnaire descriptif et visuel d'objets conservés et mis en valeur dans les lieux historiques nationaux a été préparé par des équipes de Parcs Canada (Ottawa et Québec), avec la collaboration de spécialistes de la communauté universitaire et du milieu professionnel.

Le premier volume du Dictionnaire descriptif et visuel d'objets, compte 2 000 entrées, 600 illustrations et plus de 3 000 autres appellations. Il présente des objets de la vie quotidienne d'hier à aujourd'hui, allant du chauffage à la coiffure, en passant par le mobilier, les vêtements, les accessoires de maison et les articles de toilette. Ces objets sont classés selon le Système de classification des collections historiques de Parcs Canada.

Ce nouveau dictionnaire est un livre de référence novateur alliant la linguistique et l'ethnologie. Il s'adresse aussi bien aux curieux qu'aux spécialistes. Il devrait faciliter l'identification et le catalogage d'objets qui témoignent de la richesse du patrimoine canadien. Cet ouvrage plaira à ceux et celles qui cultivent un intérêt pour l'histoire, l'ethnologie, la culture et les objets anciens.

Un dictionnaire pour les passionnés d'objets anciens et d'ethnologie !

Vous pouvez vous le procurer en communiquant avec :

Les Services des publications de Parcs Canada
Direction de la mise en valeur du patrimoine et de l'éducation populaire
25, rue Eddy, 6e étage
Hull, Québec
K1A 0M5

(819) 994-2566

ou avec :

Les publications du Québec
C.P. 1005
Québec, Québec
G1K 7B5
Tél. : (418) 643-5150 ou 1 800 463-2100
Téléc. : (418) 643-6177 ou 1 800 561-3479