Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

History - The evolution of the historic role of Grosse Île

Quarantine and public health: the changing role of Grosse Île
by André Sévigny, Historian, September 1995

From the time it opened in 1832 to its closure in 1937, the human quarantine station at Grosse Île was responsible for public health at the Laurentian gateway to Canada. Over the years, a wide range of events marked the history of this station. Some, however, had a greater impact on its evolution than others.

Major Epidemics

Major Epidemics Major Epidemics 1
© McGill University / ILN / DRBSC, 1850

The Grosse Île quarantine station came into being in a very special context. After the Napoleonic Wars ended in 1815, a growing number of people left the British Isles, particularly Ireland and Scotland, to make new lives for themselves in North America. Around 1830, an average of 30 000 immigrants arrived annually in Québec, the main port of entry to Canada. Approximately two-thirds of these newcomers were from Ireland. This unprecedented immigration to the St. Lawrence Valley took place at a time when major epidemics were raging on the European continent as well as in Great Britain; the second cholera pandemic (1829-1837) hit England in 1831-1832. The disease was carried to America and Canada by migrants, many of whom were Irish. People from Ireland often embarked for the New World from English ports.

Major Epidemics Major Epidemics 2
© McGill University / ILN / DRBSC, 1847

Reports that people with the dreaded disease were about to arrive via the St. Lawrence River immediately prompted the colonial authorities to set up a veritable quarantine station on Grosse Île, an island located in the middle of the river, 48 km downstream from Québec. The station had to deal with another cholera outbreak in 1834, before battling an even more deadly typhus epidemic in 1847-1848. Once again, the victims of the latter epidemic were mainly Irish immigrants. At the time, an unprecedented number of people were fleeing the terrible potato famine in Ireland: some 100 000 sailed for Québec in 1847. This period of virulent epidemics came to an end only after another outbreak of cholera in 1854.

Certain other factors also marked the first few decades of the quarantine station's history. First, the Canadian government did not really have a say in this so-called British emigration, which was managed by the colonial authorities. Second, the operation of the station was characterized by haste, improvisation, and trial and error, without any real understanding of the causes, spread and treatment of infectious diseases. Moreover, the island's facilities were ill equipped to accommodate and safely treat large numbers of immigrants, especially when they were sick. These problems, compounded by the crowded, unsanitary conditions in which people lived during the long ocean crossing, soon created an explosive, uncontrollable situation. It is easy to understand why thousands of Irish immigrants died at Grosse Île in 1847.

Brick Hospital, built in 1881 Brick Hospital, built in 1881
© D.A. McLaughlin / NAC / PA-148819

Efficient, Modern Facilities

History and legend soon perpetuated the memory of this dark period in the history of the quarantine station. However, they reflected only part of the story. Other less prominent events also took place at Grosse Île, in connection, notably, with the long search for efficient, modern ways of welcoming immigrants and treating infectious diseases.

Doctor Frederick Motizambert Doctor Frederick Motizambert
© Who's who in Canada, 1922 Edition

In the 1850s, and especially as of Confederation in 1867, the Canadian government formulated a comprehensive policy on immigration and settlement, requiring the establishment of a reliable, efficient quarantine station. Memories of the fairly recent catastrophes were still fresh in people's minds, and a number of essential lessons had been learned. Dr. Frederick Montizambert, a bacteriologist, was in charge of relaunching operations at the Grosse Île quarantine station, where he acted as medical superintendent from 1869 to 1899.


Montizambert first ensured that the island's facilities were laid out so as to prevent sick immigrants from coming into contact with healthy travellers or people under observation. Over the years, as prevailing economic conditions, immigration trends and available funding gave occasion, he renewed the station's facilities, which included hospitals, travellers' accommodations, workers' houses, chapels and so forth. He also ensured that new quarantine regulations were adopted to eliminate loopholes and laxity.

ancient picture of the second-class hotel, built on rock, on the shore of the St.Lawrence river Second-Class Hotel, built in 1893
© D.A. McLaughlin / NAC / C-79029

Montizambert was well acquainted with the major scientific and medical discoveries relating to the diagnosis, treatment and even prevention of infectious diseases. He therefore imposed increasingly stringent and effective controls on ships and immigrants: vessels and luggage were inspected and disinfected, while passengers were examined and vaccinated; medical analyses were also conducted in laboratories. Montizambert took these steps in response to new conditions stemming from the globalization of immigration, the growing number of infectious diseases and the speed of ocean travel on steamships.

Steamer Steamer "Druid"
© D.A. McLaughlin / NAC / PA-148821

In fact, the proliferation of steamships and their increasingly comfortable facilities were what prompted the superintendent to modernize the structures for welcoming and accommodating immigrants at Grosse Île. From the late 19th century to World War I, modern first-, second- and third-class hotels were placed at the disposal of travellers who had crossed the Atlantic. Montizambert thus succeeded in meeting the formidable challenge of giving the concept of public health new meaning in the context of immigration, while providing immigrants with efficient service and comfortable facilities.

The 20th Century

a large group of immigrants on the deck of a boat Immigrants arriving in Canada, around 1900
© NAC / PA-30607

With its modern facilities and internationally renowned service, Grosse Île seemed to have a promising future, especially given the unprecedented immigration levels at the beginning of the century in Québec: 100 000 newcomers arrived in 1910, 170 000 in 1912 and 225 000 in 1914. Plans were even made to erect a vast, modern hospital complex at the quarantine station. However, exceptional circumstances prevented the construction project from being implemented.

The First World War (1914-1918) and the Great Depression (1929) drastically reduced the number of people immigrating to Canada. Moreover, since the turn of the century, tremendous progress had been made with regard to medical research in microbiology and contagious diseases, and the hospital on Grosse Île now treated almost exclusively minor childhood infections such as diphtheria, chicken pox and measles. As well, according to international health agreements, people infected with these diseases no longer had to be quarantined. Moreover, serious infections such as cholera, typhus and smallpox could be successfully treated at the Parc Savard Hospital in Québec, founded in 1907. The quarantine station on Grosse Île was closed in 1937.

ancient picture of four immigrant women walking on Grosse Île Immigrants to Grosse Île
© Private Collection

The history of the quarantine station might be viewed as a horrible tragedy, given that its first chapter ended in disaster for thousands of Irish people. Nevertheless, this sad tale had a happy ending, marked by the alleviation of sickness and despair. In the final analysis, the death and suffering of many of the immigrants who stopped at Grosse Île were not in vain.

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île- et-le-Mémorial- des-Irlandais

Histoire - Évolution du rôle historique de la Grosse-Île

Quarantaine et santé publique : l'évolution du rôle historique de la grosse-île
Par André Sévigny, historien, septembre 1995

Au cours de son existence, c'est-à-dire de 1832 à 1937, la station de quarantaine humaine de la Grosse-Île a eu pour mandat de veiller sur la santé publique à la porte laurentienne du Canada. Au fil des décennies, des événements de toute sorte ont marqué l'histoire de cette île de quarantaine. Mais certaines conjonctures ont plus particulièrement façonné son évolution, depuis son entrée en scène jusqu'à sa fermeture.

Les grandes épidémies

Major Epidemics
© Université McGill / ILN / DRBSC,1850
$8

La station de la Grosse-Île voit le jour dans un contexte tout à fait spécial. Depuis la fin des guerres de Napoléon, en 1815, un flot croissant de personnes quittent les îles britanniques, l'Irlande et l'Écosse pour refaire leur vie en Amérique du Nord. Vers 1830, uniquement à Québec, de loin la principale porte d'entrée au Canada, cet exode représente une moyenne annuelle de 30 000 arrivants dont les deux tiers, environ, sont des Irlandais. Or, cette immigration sans précédent sur le Saint-Laurent survient au moment où de grandes épidémies s'abattent sur l'Europe mais aussi sur la Grande-Bretagne; la seconde pandémie de choléra (1829-1837) frappe l'Angleterre en 1831-1832. Ce sont les migrants, dont les Irlandais qui s'embarquent souvent dans des ports anglais, qui transportent le choléra en Amérique et au Canada.

Major Epidemics
© Université McGill / ILN / DRBSC, 1847
$8

C'est l'arrivée annoncée du terrible fléau sur le Saint-Laurent qui motive la décision subite des autorités coloniales de mettre sur pied une véritable station de quarantaine à la Grosse-Île, située dans le fleuve à 48 km en aval de Québec. Cette halte de sécurité est à nouveau confrontée au choléra en 1834, avant de livrer bataille en 1847-1848 à une épidémie plus meurtrière encore, celle du typhus. Les principales victimes sont, une fois de plus, les immigrants irlandais. En nombre encore jamais vu (environ 100 000 se dirigent vers Québec en 1847), ils fuient la terrible famine de la pomme de terre qui afflige leur pays. Cette ère d'épidémies virulentes prend fin après une nouvelle attaque du choléra, en 1854.

Ces premières décennies d'existence de la quarantaine de la Grosse-Île portent d'autres marques bien caractéristiques : gestion coloniale d'une émigration dite « britannique », donc sans véritable droit de regard canadien sur ce mouvement de population, fonctionnement de la quarantaine empreint de précipitation, d'improvisation et de tâtonnements, ignorance des causes, des modes de propagation et des traitements des maladies infectieuses, incapacité quasi chronique d'accueillir et de traiter sécuritairement le large flot des migrants, surtout malades. Ajoutons à ce canevas les longues traversées océaniques à bord de voiliers surchargés et insalubres, et nous avons sous les yeux une situation explosive et hors de contrôle, de quoi comprendre, par exemple, le décès de milliers d'Irlandais à la Grosse-Île en 1847.

photo ancienne d'un hôpital fait en brique L'hôpital de briques, construit en 1881
© NAC / D.A. McLaughlin / PA-148819

Efficacité et modernité

Si l'histoire et la légende ont assez rapidement perpétué le souvenir de cette période noire de la quarantaine laurentienne, elles n'ont pas rendu justice, en revanche, à la face cachée du passé de la Grosse-Île, ces nombreuses années consacrées à la recherche de l'efficacité et de la modernité en matière d'accueil des immigrants et de traitement des maladies contagieuses.

photo du visage du docteur Frederick Motizambert Docteur Frederick Motizambert
© Who's who in Canada, 1922 Edition

Dès les années 1850, mais bien davantage à partir de la Confédération de 1867, le gouvernement canadien élabora une vaste politique d'immigration et de peuplement qui exigea la mise sur pied d'un service de quarantaine fiable et efficace. La mémoire était encore imprégnée des catastrophes pas si lointaines et les leçons à en tirer, bien apprises. Sur place, à la Grosse-Île, le maître d'oeuvre de cette relance de la quarantaine fut le docteur Frederick Montizambert, spécialisé en bactériologie et surintendant médical de la station de 1869 à 1899.

Montizambert fixa d'abord le schéma d'occupation de l'île en s'assurant de l'absence absolue de contact entre les immigrants malades et les voyageurs en santé ou sous observation. Puis, au fil des ans, des conjonctures migratoires et économiques, et de ses budgets, il renouvela le parc immobilier de la station : hôpitaux, logements de voyageurs, résidences de travailleurs, chapelles, etc. Il fit adopter de nouveaux règlements de quarantaine afin d'éliminer, autant que possible, les échappatoires et le laxisme.

photo ancienne d'un bateau à vapeur Le « Druid », steamer de désinfection
© D.A. McLaughlin / NAC / PA-148821

Bien au fait des grandes découvertes scientifiques et médicales en matière de diagnostic, de traitement et même de prévention des maladies infectieuses, Montizambert soumit la navigation et l'immigration à des contrôles de santé toujours plus stricts et efficaces : inspection, désinfection des bateaux, des passagers et des bagages, vaccination, analyses en laboratoire. Ces initiatives répondaient à des conjonctures nouvelles : mondialisation de l'immigration, multiplication des maladies infectieuses, rapidité des traversées grâce aux navires à vapeur.

ancienne photo d'un bâtiment construit sur le flanc rocheux, sur le bord du fleuve L'hôtel de deuxième classe, construit en 1893
© D.A. McLaughlin / NAC / C-79029

C'est d'ailleurs la prolifération de ces vapeurs et leur niveau de confort toujours plus grand qui amena le surintendant à moderniser les structures d'accueil et d'hébergement des immigrants à la Grosse-Île. À la fin du siècle, et jusqu'à la Première Guerre mondiale, par exemple, des hôtels modernes furent mis à la disposition des trois classes de voyageurs qui, à ce moment, franchissaient l'Atlantique. Montizambert avait alors réussi à relever son grand défi : donner un nouveau sens à l'idée même de santé publique dans un contexte d'immigration, et ceci, en veillant à la célérité du service et au confort des immigrants.


Le vingtième siècle

un grand goupe d'immigrants sur le pont supérieur d'un bateau Immigrants arrivant au Canada, vers 1900
© NAC / PA-30607

De tels équipements et un niveau de service reconnu mondialement laissaient espérer de grandes heures à la Grosse-Île. D'autant plus qu'en ce début de siècle, l'immigration à Québec atteignait des sommets inimaginables : 100 000 personnes en 1910, 170 000 en 1912 et 225 000 en 1914. L'on prévoyait même construire, à la station, un nouveau complexe hospitalier vaste et moderne. Mais un concours de circonstances tout à fait particulier renversa rapidement la situation.

La Grande Guerre (1914-1918) et, peu après, la Crise économique de 1929 firent chuter dramatiquement les statistiques d'immigration au pays. De plus, les connaissances médicales dans le domaine de la microbiologie et des maladies contagieuses avaient fait d'énormes progrès depuis le début du siècle et l'hôpital de la Grosse-Île soignait presque exclusivement des infections mineures et infantiles comme la diphtérie, la varicelle et la rougeole. Or, selon les conventions internationales sur la santé, ces maladies ne nécessitaient plus une véritable quarantaine. Quant aux infections graves (choléra, typhus, variole, etc.), l'hôpital du Parc Savard de Québec, ouvert depuis 1907, était en mesure de leur faire échec, le cas échéant. La station de la Grosse-Île ferma ses portes en 1937.

ancienne photo de quatre femmes immigrantes marchant, à Grosse-Île Immigrants à la Grosse-Île
© Collection Privé

L'histoire de la quarantaine de la Grosse-Île, dont le premier chapitre s'était achevé dans la noirceur de la tragédie irlandaise, pourrait être considérée par certains comme un affreux mélodrame. Mais en retraçant la suite de cette sordide histoire, nous lui découvrons une fin heureuse, celle de la maladie et de la misère vaincues, celle des morts et des souffrances qui, en bout de ligne et heureusement, n'ont pas été inutiles.