Management Plan

Identification of sources of impact and assessment of concerns

The analysis of anticipated impacts on natural resources has brought out several concerns in connection with vegetation and wildlife.

Among the potential sources of negative impact on the locations of rare or endangered plant species are: the restoration of buildings located close to the shoreline, projected realignment of the landing strip, enhancement of landscapes, and self-guided tours. Plantlife on the island itself could be harmed by the restoration of buildings, the enhancement of landscapes, the presentation of cultural resources and archaeological vestiges, the development of trails, and self-guided tours. Realignment of the landing strip is the project presenting the greatest source of potential impact not only on vegetation but also on other biophysical components such as soil and drainage. In addition, the restoration of a number of buildings may significantly disturb the island’s bat colonies.

All the same, the anticipated impacts on cultural resources are by and large a greater cause for concern; at the same time, however, they offer greater opportunity for mitigation. Group tours of heritage buildings could cause damage to, and accelerate wear of certain building components and collection pieces if the visit capacity in these buildings is exceeded. In terms of cultural heritage, the set-up of the public transportation system is also a cause for concern on account of the problems of parking, noise, dust, etc., all of which detract from the appreciation of cultural resources.

It is critical to base any planning projections on ethno-historical and archaeological surveys and other studies that serve to develop continuity between the previously fashioned cultural landscape – starting in the 18th century and, more specifically, occurring since 1832 – and the current development process. The period occurring between these two points was witness to a decline in all cultural resources, including the cultural landscape. Planning projections should necessarily involve protecting and reestablishing the features with which the spirit of the place has been identified and renewing the dialogue between built heritage and its specific landscape setting.


Summary of the environmental assessment

Background
Methodology
Scope
Conformity with strategic directions
Identification of impact sources and assessment of concerns
Cumulative impacts
Mitigation strategies
Conclusion

Le plan directeur

Identification des sources d’impacts et évaluation des préoccupations environnementales

L’analyse des impacts appréhendés sur les ressources naturelles a fait ressortir plusieurs préoccupations en ce qui a trait à la végétation et à la faune.

La restauration des bâtiments situés à proximité du littoral, le réalignement éventuel de la piste d’atterrissage, la valorisation des paysages ainsi que les visites autonomes soulèvent plusieurs préoccupations quant aux impacts négatifs qui pourraient être générés sur des sites de plantes rares ou menacées du littoral. Pour sa part, la végétation terrestre est susceptible d’être affectée par la restauration des bâtiments, la valorisation des paysages, la mise en valeur des ressources culturelles et des vestiges archéologiques, l’aménagement des sentiers et les visites autonomes. Le réalignement éventuel de la piste d’atterrissage est le projet qui présente le plus d’impacts potentiels, tant sur la végétation que sur les autres constituantes biophysiques comme le sol et le drainage des eaux. Enfin, la restauration de certains bâtiments risque de perturber fortement les colonies de chauvessouris présentes sur l’île.

Toutefois, il est apparu que les impacts appréhendés sur les ressources culturelles sont majoritairement préoccupants mais qu’ils peuvent être atténués. Les visites guidées en groupe dans les édifices patrimoniaux pourraient engendrer le bris et l’usure accélérée de certaines composantes des bâtiments ou des pièces de collection si la capacité d’accueil de ces bâtiments était dépassée. Les modalités du transport en commun créent en outre des préoccupations quant au patrimoine culturel. Cela entraîne des problèmes de stationnement de véhicules, de bruit, de poussière, etc., qui nuisent à l’appréciation des ressources culturelles.

Il importe que le développement d’une vision prospective soit fondé sur les études ethnohistoriques, archéologiques et autres susceptibles de créer un rapport de continuité entre le paysage culturel autrefois mis en place — depuis le XVIII e siècle et, plus spécifiquement, depuis 1832 — et l’actuel processus de mise en valeur. Entre ces deux temps forts, s’est déroulé un scénario de dépérissement de toutes les ressources culturelles, dont celui du paysage culturel. La vision prospective doit se traduire par la protection et le rétablissement de ce qui fait l’esprit du lieu, par le renouvellement du dialogue entre le patrimoine bâti et son aménagement paysager propre.


Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale

Contexte

Approche méthodologique

Portée de l’évaluation environnementale
Conformité des orientations stratégiques du plan directeur
Identification des sources d’impacts et évaluation des préoccupations environnementales
Impacts cumulatifs
Stratégies d’atténuation
Conclusion