Management Plan

Strategic direction respecting facilities infrastructure

As a rule, new facilities infrastructure (water, wastewater treatment, power supply/transmission, etc.) will be designed so as to produce minimum impact on cultural and natural resources, and will be as quiet and unnoticeable as possible. The following guidelines apply specifically to the wharf, landing strip, water tower and fuel tanks.

Out of a concern for completely rehabilitating the burial ground, Parks Canada wishes to reorganize the Grosse Île landing strip, part of which encroaches on the former eastern cemetery. This long-term project will, however, only be undertaken provided that: realignment of the landing strip does not compromise the safety of air transport to the island; environmental impact is acceptable; and the cost is reasonable.

Water supply on the island will be increased to comply with fire protection standards and increased domestic requirements. In compliance with the findings of the comparative analysis of the various technical options available in that respect, the new underground water storage tank will be located in the central sector of the island. Once the existing water tower dating to 1913 has been retired, it will be preserved as a reminder of the past.

The oil tanks installed by Agriculture Canada close to the western wharf, where they produce a negative visual impact, will be dismantled; their current location will be rehabilitated. New tanks, to be fed via underground piping originating at the wharf, will be installed inside the former stable for healthy animals.

Finally, considering the isolation of this historic site, in addition to the diversity and great number of resources located on it, a workshop area will be set up near the gravel pit located in the eastern portion of the island in response to maintenance requirements.


Preservation and presentation concept

Respecting the spirit of the place
Comprehensive and specific view of history
Nature-culture approach
Grosse Île: looking to the future

Management objectives and key actions

Ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site

Cultural landscapes
Built heritage
Archaeological resources
Commemorative plaques and monuments
Movable cultural resources
Communicating the site’s messages and heritage values

Visitor services

Facilities

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada facilities

Preserving and presenting the natural environment

Shared management of the site

Le plan directeur

Orientations relatives aux infrastructures de services

De façon générale, l’aménagement des nouvelles infrastructures de services (alimentation en eau, épuration des eaux usées, alimentation/ distribution électrique…) sera conçu avec le souci de minimiser non seulement leurs effets sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles mais également leur impact visuel et sonore. Les orientations qui suivent s’appliquent plus spécifiquement à la piste d’atterrissage, à la réserve d’eau ainsi qu’aux réservoirs de combustible.

Soucieux de permettre la réhabilitation complète de l’aire d’inhumation, Parcs Canada souhaite réaménager la piste d’atterrissage de la Grosse Île, dont un tronçon empiète sur l’ancien cimetière de l’est. Envisagé dans une perspective à long terme, ce projet ne sera toutefois entrepris que sous réserve que le réalignement de la piste n’ait aucun effet négatif appréhendé sur la sécurité du transport aérien à l’île, que l’impact environnemental soit jugé acceptable et, enfin, que les coûts soient raisonnables.

La capacité de réserve d’eau de l’île sera augmentée pour satisfaire aux normes de lutte contre les incendies et répondre aux besoins domestiques accrus. Conformément aux résultats de l’analyse comparative des options techniques envisagées à cet égard, la nouvelle réserve d’eau sera localisée dans la partie centrale de l’île. Une fois désaffecté, le château d’eau actuel, qui date de 1913, sera conservé à titre de témoin du passé.

Les réservoirs d’huile installés par Agriculture Canada à proximité du quai, où ils exercent un impact visuel négatif, seront démembrés et leur emplacement sera réhabilité. De nouveaux réservoirs alimentés depuis le quai par des conduites souterraines seront installés à l’intérieur de l’« étable pour animaux sains ».

Enfin, considérant l’isolement du lieu historique ainsi que la diversité et le nombre de ressources en présence, une aire d’atelier sera aménagée près de la gravière sise dans la partie est de l’île pour répondre aux besoins en matière d’entretien.


Concept de conservation et de mise en valeur

Respect de l’esprit du lieu
Vision à la fois globale et spécifique de l’histoire
Approche nature-culture
La Grosse Île : un regard sur l’avenir

Orientations et lignes directrices de gestion

Orientations visant à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu

Les paysages culturels
Le pâtrimoine bâti
Les ressources archéologiques
Les plaques et les monuments commémoratifs
Les ressources culturelles mobilières
Communication des messages et des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu

Orientations relatives aux services aux visiteurs

Orientations relatives aux infrastructures de services

Orientations relatives aux installations d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Orientations relatives à la protection et à la valorisation du milieu naturel

Orientations relatives à la gestion partagée du lieu