Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Strategic direction for visitor services

The interpretation plan covers in detail all topics relating to services for visitors to the island and describes the location, form, scope and management of these services. The plan has been prepared with respect to the following guidance:

  • The proposed interventions, facilities, services and activities will respect the spirit of the place.
  • Carrying over a practice initiated with the opening of Grosse Île to the public, visitors will continue to reach the island via the services of private ferry operators. Parks Canada has no plans to run such a service. Boat operators must have the required permits and their vessels must comply with prescribed safety standards. Boarding locations for visitors to Grosse Île will be chosen by the ferry companies.
  • In addition to standard road signs indicating the route to the various boarding points, the only installations to be set up off the island will be general information panels at each boarding point. These will show the attractions of Grosse Île, describe the means of access, provide details of the visits and experiences offered, etc. The same information will also be made available in brochure form.
  • Given the limited landing capacity of the wharf and considering especially the heritage nature of the site, Parks Canada will not encourage the mooring and anchoring of pleasure craft at Grosse Île, nor will it install floating pontoons or booms; for the same reason, no facilities for outdoor recreational activities (camping, cycling, horseback riding, etc.) will be set up on the island.
  • On the island itself, visitor services will be modest, in keeping with the specific requirements imposed by the isolation of the site. As originally planned, the former carpentry and plumbing workshop now houses a reception and information area and gift shop. The restaurant/cafeteria has been moved to the ground floor of the third-class hotel. This building is easily accessed, being strategically located close to the visitors’ reception centre and the arrival/ departure point. The restaurant/cafeteria will continue to be operated under a concession.
  • For a number of reasons, public transport will continue to be provided: the site is relatively large, with resources being scattered over nearly 2 kilometres; visiting time on the island is limited and the weather is occasionally inclement. A second tourist trailer train will go into service. 37
  • Although guided tours will be available for groups, interested visitors can tour the island independently at their own pace. Various possible itineraries will be offered to visitors, based on the time they have available for visiting, their interests, their physical capacity, etc.
  • Initially, a single picnic area will be laid out on the island. This area will be equipped with the appropriate outdoor furniture and will be located close to the third-class hotel. Depending on how needs evolve and following an assessment of impact, other picnic areas could at some point be set up on the island.
  • Full washroom facilities have already been made available to visitors in the western sector. It is expected that these facilities will be able to meet needs appropriately in the years to come. However, the current temporary facilities in the central sector will be replaced by full services that comply with modern standards. Locating these services in one of the former animal quarantine buildings will be opted for if this avenue is shown to be the most economical. No plans have been made to offer public washroom facilities in the eastern sector of the island.
  • For the time being, no plans have been made to offer visitors overnight accommodations on the island. At some point during the next several years, a study could be conducted on this subject, with findings to be discussed during the next review of the management plan.
  • In compliance with the rules in effect in national parks and national historic sites, the landing strip will continue to be reserved for the exclusive use of Parks Canada and will not be developed to receive private aircraft.
  • Walking paths with stops along the way will be laid out to provide safe access to resources. The interpretation plan will take into account the proposals of the landscape development plan in terms of defining the location and nature of the projected facilities. Care will also be taken to ensure that activities and infrastructures do not damage the habitats of rare or endangered species or those of particular interest.

37. In 1999, Parks Canada purchased a new trailer train for use replacing the older of the two trains previously operated by the Grosse Île Development Corporation. Nevertheless, the second of the Corporation's trolleys remains to be replaced by a new, more comfortable train that is better suited to visiting conditions on the island.


Preservation and presentation concept

Respecting the spirit of the place
Comprehensive and specific view of history
Nature-culture approach
Grosse Île: looking to the future

Management objectives and key actions

Ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site

Cultural landscapes
Built heritage
Archaeological resources
Commemorative plaques and monuments
Movable cultural resources
Communicating the site’s messages and heritage values

Visitor services

Facilities

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada facilities

Preserving and presenting the natural environment

Shared management of the site

Le plan directeur

Orientations relatives aux services aux visiteurs

Le Plan d’expérience de visite examine en détail les questions relatives aux services aux visiteurs sur l’île et précise l’emplacement, la forme, l’envergure et les modalités de gestion de ces services. Le plan s’inspire des orientations suivantes :

  • Les interventions, les équipements, les services et les activités proposés seront respectueux de l’esprit du lieu.
  • Tout comme c’est le cas depuis l’ouverture de la Grosse Île au public, les visiteurs continueront d’accéder au site par l’intermédiaire de services de transport maritime privés; Parcs Canada, en effet, n’entend pas offrir lui-même ce service. Les transporteurs devront être munis des permis requis et leurs bateaux devront répondre aux normes de sécurité prescrites. Les quais d’embarquement des visiteurs à destination de la Grosse Île seront laissés au libre choix des transporteurs.
  • Outre l’installation d’une signalisation routière normalisée conduisant aux divers quais d’embarquement, les seuls aménagements envisagés en dehors de l’île consisteront en l’installation, sur l’emplacement même des divers quais, d’un panneau d’information générale portant sur le lieu historique national, les modalités d’accès à l’île, les conditions de visite ainsi que les activités proposées… Cette information sera également disponible sous forme de publication.
  • Compte tenu de la faible capacité d’accueil du quai mais surtout du caractère essentiellement patrimonial du lieu, Parcs Canada ne favorisera pas l’accostage et le mouillage des embarcations de plaisance privées à la Grosse Île, par l’installation de pontons flottants ou de tangons d’amarrage; dans le même esprit, aucun aménagement lié à la récréation de plein air (camping, randonnée à bicyclette, équitation, etc.) ne sera réalisé sur l’île.
  • Sur l’île même, les services offerts aux visiteurs, tout en tenant compte du cadre insulaire du site et des exigences particulières de visite que ce facteur impose, demeureront modérés. Comme il a été prévu, on retrouve actuellement, regroupés dans l’ancien atelier de charpenterie et de plomberie, une aire d’accueil et d’information ainsi qu’une « boutique de souvenirs ». Le restaurant/ cafétéria a déjà été localisé au rez-de-chaussée de l’hôtel de troisième classe, édifice facilement accessible et stratégiquement situé à peu de distance du centre d’accueil et du point d’arrivée et de départ des visiteurs. Tout comme c’est le cas présentement, le restaurant/cafétéria continuera d’être exploité par un concessionnaire.
  • Compte tenu de l’étendue relative du lieu et de la dispersion des ressources sur près de deux kilomètres, de la durée limitée du temps disponible sur l’île ainsi que des conditions climatiques parfois incommodes, un service de transport en commun continuera d’être offert aux visiteurs et un second train-balade sera mis en service 37 .
  • Bien qu’un service de visite guidée en groupe continuera d’être offert, les visiteurs qui le souhaitent pourront effectuer leur visite de façon autonome, à leur propre rythme. Divers « menus » et circuits de visites seront proposés en fonction de la disponibilité de temps des visiteurs, de leurs intérêts, de leurs capacités physiques, etc.
  • Dans un premier temps, une seule aire de pique-nique sera aménagée sur l’île; cette aire sera dotée du mobilier extérieur approprié et elle sera située à proximité de l’hôtel de troisième classe. Selon l’évolution des besoins et après analyse d’impacts, d’autres aires pourraient être aménagées sur l’île.
  • Des installations sanitaires complètes ont déjà été mises à la disposition des visiteurs dans le secteur ouest de l’île et ces installations devraient répondre adéquatement aux besoins dans les années à venir; dans la partie centrale cependant, les installations temporaires actuelles feront place à des services complets répondant aux normes modernes; l’option de localiser ces services dans l’un des anciens bâtiments de la quarantaine animale sera privilégiée si cette dernière s’avère la plus économique. Il n’est pas prévu d’offrir des installations sanitaires publiques dans le secteur est de l’île.
  • Il n’est pas envisagé pour l’instant d’offrir aux visiteurs un service d’hébergement de nuit sur l’île. Éventuellement, une étude d’opportunité pourrait être entreprise à ce sujet dans les prochaines années et ses résultats seront pris en compte lors de la prochaine révision du plan directeur.
  • Conformément aux règlements en usage dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux, la piste d’atterrissage continuera d’être à l’usage exclusif de Parcs Canada et ne sera pas équipée pour recevoir les appareils privés.
  • Des sentiers de marche ponctués de points d’arrêt seront aménagés pour favoriser un accès sécuritaire aux ressources. Le tracé des sentiers et la nature des aménagements à être installés tiendront compte des orientations définies à ce sujet dans le plan de protection et de valorisation du paysage. On veillera notamment à ce que les activités et les infrastructures mises en place ne dégradent pas les habitats abritant des espèces rares, menacées ou présentant un intérêt particulier.

37. En 1999, Parcs Canada a fait l’acquisition d’un nouveau train-balade pour remplacer le plus vieux des deux trains-balade jadis mis en service par la Corporation pour la mise en valeur de Grosse-Île. Il reste cependant à remplacer l’autre train-balade de la Corporation par un nouvel équipement plus confortable et mieux adapté aux conditions de visite sur l’île.


Concept de conservation et de mise en valeur

Respect de l’esprit du lieu
Vision à la fois globale et spécifique de l’histoire
Approche nature-culture
La Grosse Île : un regard sur l’avenir

Orientations et lignes directrices de gestion

Orientations visant à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu

Les paysages culturels
Le pâtrimoine bâti
Les ressources archéologiques
Les plaques et les monuments commémoratifs
Les ressources culturelles mobilières
Communication des messages et des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu

Orientations relatives aux services aux visiteurs

Orientations relatives aux infrastructures de services

Orientations relatives aux installations d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Orientations relatives à la protection et à la valorisation du milieu naturel

Orientations relatives à la gestion partagée du lieu