Management Plan

Built heritage

Grosse Île has an impressive number of architectural resources. Although the commemorative integrity objectives for the site require that the 30-odd buildings with heritage value be preserved and protected, only half will, at some point, be open to visitors. Others will be used for operational purposes, and will be open only to Grosse Île personnel on duty or Parks Canada partners. The following guidelines will be used to frame Agency action:

  • An architectural intervention plan will be produced for all the heritage buildings on the island. It will describe the specific problems involved in preserving and using each work/ structure, produce an assessment of the state of knowledge concerning the resource, specify the intervention principles to be given priority and list the work to be done in the short, medium and long term. Implementation of this plan will be a priority in the national historic site’s business plan.
  • The interventions recommended under the plan will respect cultural resource management principles and will comply with Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office standards. 32 In order to maintain the commemorative integrity of the site, the interventions proposed under the plan will aim to:
    • protect the structure and exterior features of buildings;
    • protect the details and coherence of the spatial division and interior design of buildings;
    • protect the organic and visual relationship between buildings and their environment.
Buildings open to visitors

The following fifteen surviving buildings will be partially or fully open to visitors:

1- the disinfection building
2- the carpentry and plumbing workshop
3- the second-class hotel
4- the third-class hotel
5- the wash house
6- the bakery
7- the kitchen
8- the first-class hotel
9- the assistant physician’s house
10- the Anglican chapel
11- the Public Works Officer’s residence
12- the Catholic chapel
13- the Catholic presbytery
14- the Marconi station
15- the lazaretto

  • Generally speaking, all interventions affecting these buildings will accord with the heritage character, history and special atmosphere of the site. In keeping with the principles of cultural resources management, the architectural intervention concept will seek to preserve and restore all building components.
  • Where necessary, the outer shell of certain buildings will be reinforced and restored in order to bring out their architectural coherence. If necessary, interior spaces will be restored and/or upgraded to meet modern standards and respond to new use requirements (interpretation, visitor services, etc.).
  • All buildings open to the public will be properly protected and equipped to meet current fire regulations.
  • The scale of the electrical and mechanical systems earmarked for installation will depend on visitor use, investment and operating costs, technical and environmental restrictions inherent to an island and the desire to minimize impacts on heritage resources. Generally speaking, the systems installed will not be designed to meet museum standards of preservation.
  • Although current universal access standards will not be fully met, access to buildings open to the public will be improved as much as possible. In order to minimize the impact on the heritage character of buildings, the spaces made accessible to the public will be restricted and rationalized (e.g., upper floors will be kept off limits).

32. CANADIAN HERITAGE, Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office, FHBRO Code of Practice, 1996, 52 p.


Preservation and presentation concept

Respecting the spirit of the place
Comprehensive and specific view of history
Nature-culture approach
Grosse Île: looking to the future

Management objectives and key actions

Ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site

Cultural landscapes
Built heritage
Archaeological resources
Commemorative plaques and monuments
Movable cultural resources
Communicating the site’s messages and heritage values

Visitor services

Facilities

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada facilities

Preserving and presenting the natural environment

Shared management of the site

Le plan directeur

Le patrimoine bâti

Les ressources architecturales de la Grosse Île sont en nombre impressionnant. Si les objectifs d’intégrité commémorative du lieu commandent que la trentaine de bâtiments à valeur patrimoniale soient conservés et protégés, la moitié d’entre eux deviendront éventuellement accessibles aux visiteurs alors que d’autres seront utilisés à des fins opérationnelles, leur accès étant restreint au personnel en fonction sur l’île ou aux collaborateurs de Parcs Canada. Les lignes directrices qui suivent guideront l’action de Parcs Canada.

  • Un plan d’intervention architecturale sera produit pour l’ensemble des ressources du patrimoine bâti de l’île; ce plan exposera la problématique particulière rattachée à la conservation et à l’utilisation de chaque ouvrage/bâtiment, fera le point sur l’état des connaissances de la ressource, établira clairement les principes d’intervention à privilégier et fera état des travaux à envisager à court, moyen et long termes. La réalisation de ce plan figurera en tant que mesure prioritaire dans le plan d’affaires du lieu historique.
  • Il est entendu que les interventions proposées dans le plan seront respectueuses des principes de la gestion des ressources culturelles et seront conformes au code de pratique du Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux à valeur patrimoniale 32 . En conformité avec l’objectif d’assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu, les interventions proposées dans le plan auront pour but de :

    - protéger la structure et toutes les caractéristiques externes des édifices;
    - protéger le détail et la cohérence du fractionnement spatial et du décor intérieur des édifices;
    - protéger la relation visuelle et organique entre les édifices et leur environnement.
Bâtiments accessibles aux visiteurs du lieu

Une quinzaine de bâtiments anciens pourraient être ouverts – en tout ou en partie – aux visiteurs; il s’agit de :

1- l’édifice de désinfection
2- l’atelier de charpenterie et de plomberie
3- l’hôtel de deuxième classe
4- l’hôtel de troisième classe
5- le lavoir
6- la boulangerie
7- la cuisine
8- l’hôtel de première classe
9- la maison du médecin-assistant
10- la chapelle anglicane
11- la maison de l’Officier des Travaux publics
12- la chapelle catholique
13- le presbytère catholique
14- la station Marconi
15- le Lazaret
  • De façon générale, toutes les interventions qui toucheront les bâtiments ouverts au public s’harmoniseront avec le caractère patrimonial, le fondement historique et le cachet particulier du lieu. En conformité avec les principes de gestion des ressources culturelles et l’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative, le plan d’intervention architecturale privilégiera la conservation ou la restauration de tous les éléments des bâtiments.
  • Le cas échéant, les enveloppes extérieures de certains bâtiments feront l’objet de travaux de consolidation et de restauration dans l’optique de permettre une lisibilité cohérente de leurs composantes architecturales. Les espaces intérieurs seront restaurés pour répondre aux exigences de mise aux normes ainsi qu’aux besoins découlant de leur nouvelle vocation (interprétation, services aux visiteurs…).
  • Tous les bâtiments ouverts au public seront « protégés » en vertu des normes en vigueur de lutte contre l’incendie.
  • L’ampleur des systèmes électromécaniques à mettre en place dans les bâtiments sera fonction des besoins et des exigences requis en matière d’expérience de visite, des coûts d’investissement et des frais d’exploitation impliqués, des limites techniques imposées par le caractère insulaire du lieu et du souci de minimiser l’impact sur les ressources patrimoniales. Les systèmes mis en place ne seront pas conçus pour répondre aux normes « muséologiques » de conservation.
  • Sans répondre aux normes complètes d’accès universel en vigueur, les bâtiments ouverts au public verront toutefois leur accès amélioré le plus possible à cet égard. Dans le but de minimiser l’impact de la mise aux normes sur le caractère patrimonial des bâtiments, on s’efforcera de limiter et de rationaliser les espaces auxquels le public aura accès dans chacun des édifices (ex. : étages supérieurs non accessibles).

32. PATRIMOINE CANADIEN. Bureau des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine. Code de pratique BEEFP, 1996, 52 p.


Concept de conservation et de mise en valeur

Respect de l’esprit du lieu
Vision à la fois globale et spécifique de l’histoire
Approche nature-culture
La Grosse Île : un regard sur l’avenir

Orientations et lignes directrices de gestion

Orientations visant à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu

Les paysages culturels
Le pâtrimoine bâti
Les ressources archéologiques
Les plaques et les monuments commémoratifs
Les ressources culturelles mobilières
Communication des messages et des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu

Orientations relatives aux services aux visiteurs

Orientations relatives aux infrastructures de services

Orientations relatives aux installations d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Orientations relatives à la protection et à la valorisation du milieu naturel

Orientations relatives à la gestion partagée du lieu