Management Plan

Nature-culture approach

  • The cultural landscape of Grosse Île, moulded by a century and a half of activity, is part of a geographical and natural environment which, as an isolated island in the river, has changed little over time. The relationship between man and the environment is still visible in the landscape today.
  • On another level, the insular nature of the site accentuates its inherent heritage interest. In this context, it is perfectly appropriate that visitors should be offered an experience that not only enables them to appreciate the cultural attractions of the island but which also provides them an opportunity to enjoy its natural environment.

In accordance with the Parks Canada Cultural Resources Management Policy and the statement of commemorative integrity for the site, the preservation and presentation concept for Grosse Île essentially focuses on site conservation, by means of preserving the surviving period resources and using them to express heritage values. In order to safeguard the island’s special atmosphere, care should be taken when choosing methods of communication and organizing visitor services.

The following text expresses the Parks Canada vision for the desired state of the site.


Preservation and presentation concept

Respecting the spirit of the place
Comprehensive and specific view of history
Nature-culture approach
Grosse Île: looking to the future

Management objectives and key actions

Ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site

Cultural landscapes
Built heritage
Archaeological resources
Commemorative plaques and monuments
Movable cultural resources
Communicating the site’s messages and heritage values

Visitor services

Facilities

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada facilities

Preserving and presenting the natural environment

Shared management of the site

Le plan directeur

Approche nature-culture
  • Le paysage humanisé de la Grosse Île, façonné par un siècle et demi d’occupation, s’inscrit dans un cadre géographique et naturel qui, isolé au milieu du fleuve, s’est pour sa part peu modifié au cours du temps. La permanence de ce lien entre l’occupant et le milieu persiste encore de nos jours dans le paysage.
  • Sur un autre plan, le caractère insulaire du lieu accentue l’intérêt patrimonial que présente déjà le site. Il est tout à fait approprié, dans ce contexte, que les visiteurs se voient proposer une expérience de visite qui non seulement soit propre à leur faire apprécier l’ensemble des attraits culturels de l’île, mais leur permette également de tirer profit de son environnement naturel.

En conformité avec les préceptes de la politique de gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada ainsi que l’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu, le concept de mise en valeur retenu pour la Grosse Île est axé essentiellement sur la conservation du lieu, en misant à la fois sur la préservation des ressources témoins et l’expression de leurs valeurs patrimoniales. Dans le but de sauvegarder le plus possible le cachet particulier de l’île, l’approche préconisée impose une certaine retenue dans le choix des supports de communication et dans l’organisation des services aux visiteurs.

Le texte qui suit exprime en termes plus concrets la vision à long terme qu’entretient Parcs Canada à l’égard de la conservation et de la mise en valeur du lieu.


Concept de conservation et de mise en valeur

Respect de l’esprit du lieu
Vision à la fois globale et spécifique de l’histoire
Approche nature-culture
La Grosse Île : un regard sur l’avenir

Orientations et lignes directrices de gestion

Orientations visant à assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu

Les paysages culturels
Le pâtrimoine bâti
Les ressources archéologiques
Les plaques et les monuments commémoratifs
Les ressources culturelles mobilières
Communication des messages et des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu

Orientations relatives aux services aux visiteurs

Orientations relatives aux infrastructures de services

Orientations relatives aux installations d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada

Orientations relatives à la protection et à la valorisation du milieu naturel

Orientations relatives à la gestion partagée du lieu