Management Plan

Facilities and services

All in all, the facilities established on Grosse Île by Parks Canada have been designed to improve the comfort of visitors, ensure public safety and provide island personnel with reasonable living and working conditions.

A number of permanent works have been completed over the last several years. A visitor reception centre was set up in the former carpentry and plumbing workshop, next door to the disinfection building. In addition, the VRC houses a souvenir shop run by the Grosse Île Development Corporation. Full public washroom facilities were set up in the disinfection building.

Since 1997, visitors may use a modern cafeteria/ restaurant located in the third-class hotel. From May to October, meals are also served to staff posted to the historic site and the employees of companies performing work on the island.

On account of the dispersion of Grosse Île’s heritage resources over more than two kilometres, guided tours are conducted in part aboard a tourist trailer train linking the eastern and western sectors. This service was set up by the Grosse Île Development Corporation in the early 1990s and was upgraded in 1999 when Parks Canada purchased a more efficient, quieter trailer train that also produced less pollution. Once the Corporation’s second trailer train is replaced as planned, the historic site will be equipped with a transportation system that is fully adapted to visitors’ needs.

There have been requests for access and accommodation facilities for pleasure craft at Grosse Île. Given the dilapidated state of the wharf and the limited mooring capacity, Parks Canada has preferred to use public transport run by ferry operators in order to receive and handle the maximum number of visitors. Thus, pleasure craft have not been authorized, except under special circumstances.

Finally, it should be pointed out that a number of island buildings have, during the last several years, undergone rebuilding and rehabilitation so as to satisfactorily accommodate staff posted to the site and provide office space. The upper floor of the third-class hotel, the inoculation and medical examination office, the laboratory, the electrician’s house, the school as well as the former homes of station employees are now used for these purposes. Finally, universal access conditions have been upgraded in most of the restored buildings that will be open to the public.
Analysis of the current situation

Ownership and legal context
Commemorative integrity of the site
Condition of landscapes and level-1 resources
Communication of site messages of national historic significance
Facilities
Environment
General status
Impacts of activities past and present
Public visitation and use
Visitation figures
Facilities and services
Co-operation
Regional tourism context

Le plan directeur

Aménagements et services

Dans l’ensemble, les aménagements réalisés jusqu’ici par Parcs Canada à la Grosse Île ont eu pour but d’améliorer le confort des visiteurs, d’assurer la sécurité du public et de fournir au personnel en place de bonnes conditions de vie et de travail.

Plusieurs travaux à caractère permanent ont ainsi été réalisés au cours des dernières années. Un centre d’accueil et d’information pour les visiteurs a été aménagé dans l’ancien atelier de charpenterie et de plomberie, voisin de l’édifice de désinfection. Le centre d’accueil abrite en outre une boutique de souvenirs exploitée par la Corporation pour la mise en valeur de GrosseÎle. Des installations sanitaires complètes ont par ailleurs été aménagées à l’intérieur de l’édifice de désinfection.

Depuis 1997, les visiteurs disposent d’un restaurant/ cafétéria moderne aménagé dans l’ancien hôtel de troisième classe. On y dispense également, de mai à octobre, des repas pour le personnel en place ainsi que les travailleurs des entreprises qui effectuent des travaux sur l’île.

En raison de la dispersion des ressources de la Grosse Île sur plus de deux kilomètres, les visites guidées s’effectuent en partie à bord d’un train-balade reliant le secteur ouest et le secteur est. Ce service, mis en place par la Corporation pour la mise en valeur de Grosse-Île, au début des années 90, a été amélioré en 1999 avec l’achat par Parcs Canada d’un train-balade plus efficace, plus silencieux et moins polluant. Avec le remplacement à venir du second train-balade appartenant à la Corporation, le lieu sera doté d’un système de transport bien adapté aux besoins des visiteurs.

Des demandes ont été formulées dans le passé pour favoriser l’accès et l’accueil des embarcations de plaisance à la Grosse Île; compte tenu de la configuration du quai, du jeu des marées ainsi que de l’espace d’amarrage limité, Parcs Canada a privilégié l’utilisation du « transport en commun » offert par les bateliers privés afin d’optimiser la capacité d’accueil. L’amarrage au quai des embarcations de plaisance privées n’a donc été autorisé, jusqu’ici, que dans des circonstances d’exception.

Enfin, il convient de souligner que certains bâtiments de l’île ont fait l’objet, ces dernières années, de travaux de réfection ou de réhabilitation pour permettre d’y loger convenablement le personnel en place ou de servir de bureau administratif. L’étage de l’hôtel de troisième classe, le bureau de vaccination et d’examen médical, le laboratoire, la maison de l’électricien, l’école ainsi que d’anciennes résidences d’employés de la station servent aujourd’hui à ces fins. Enfin, on a amélioré les conditions d’accès universel dans la majorité des bâtiments qui ont été restaurés et qui seront ouverts au public.


Analyse de l’état actuel

État de propriété et cadre juridique
État de l’intégrité commémorative du lieu
État des paysages et des ressources culturelles de niveau 1
Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu
Les infrastructures de services
L’environnement
État général
Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île
Fréquentation et utilisation par le public
Indices de fréquentation
Aménagements et services
Coopération
Le cadre touristique régional