Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Visitation figures

Over the last ten years, the number of visits to Grosse Île has substantially increased, rising from 5400 visits in 1989 to a peak of 41 000 in 1997. The number of visits held steady at around 15 000 annually between 1992 and 1996. Nineteen ninety-seven was an exceptional year on account of the numerous special activities held in connection with the commemoration of the tragic events of 1847. Since that time, annual visitation numbers have hovered between 26 000 and 30 000.

During the 1999 season, the island welcomed some 29 600 visits between May 1 and October 31. 24 The average duration of visits was 214 minutes, by far the longest among all visits recorded at the national historic sites in Quebec.

The great majority of visitors boarded at Berthier-sur-Mer. Heritage interpreters provided 726 guided tours during the season, with an average of 41 visitors per guided tour. About 5775 people, or 2 out of 10, toured Grosse Île in organised groups.

The most recent study of visitors dates to 1998. This survey accounted for the significant increase in visitation and the changes in services offered up to that time. For the most part, Grosse Île attracts visitors from Quebec, a great number of them from the provincial administrative regions of Québec City and Chaudière- Appalaches, with smaller numbers arriving from the Montreal administrative region. Most visitors are ages 35 to 54, an age group similar to that found at other national historic sites.

It is important to remember that access to Grosse Île continues to be controlled. This means that visitors may leave the wharf area only if they pay for a guided tour.

24. Two thirds of visits occurred in July and August.


Analysis of the current situation

Ownership and legal context
Commemorative integrity of the site
Condition of landscapes and level-1 resources
Communication of site messages of national historic significance
Facilities
Environment
General status
Impacts of activities past and present
Public visitation and use
Visitation figures
Facilities and services
Co-operation
Regional tourism context

Le plan directeur

Indices de fréquentation

Depuis dix ans, la fréquentation de la Grosse Île s’est accrue considérablement, passant de 5 400 visites (1989) à un sommet d’environ 41 000 visites en 1997. Le nombre de visites s’était stabilisé aux environs de 15 000 visites annuellement entre les années 1992 et 1996; l’année 1997 fut exceptionnelle en raison de la tenue de nombreuses activités spéciales reliées à la commémoration des événements tragiques de 1847. Depuis, le nombre de visites s’établit annuellement entre 26 000 et 30 000.

Au cours de la dernière saison complète d’opération (1999), l’île a enregistré quelque 29 600 visites réparties sur une période d’ouverture comprise entre le 1 er mai et le 31 octobre 24 . La durée moyenne de la visite s’établissait à 214 minutes, de loin la plus longue de toutes celles enregistrées dans les lieux historiques nationaux au Québec.

La très grande majorité des visiteurs ont accédé à l’île en provenance du havre de Berthiersur- Mer. Les guides-interprètes ont offert 726 visites guidées au cours de la saison, soit un rapport moyen de 41 visiteurs par tour guidé. Quelque 5 775 personnes ont visité Grosse-Île en groupe organisé, ce qui représente près de 2 visiteurs sur 10.

La dernière étude menée auprès des visiteurs remonte à 1998. Cette dernière étude tient compte de l’accroissement substantiel de la fréquentation ainsi que des modifications survenues dans l’offre de services à cette date. Ainsi, la Grosse Île attire surtout des visiteurs provenant du Québec dont une bonne part proviennent des régions administratives de Québec et de Chaudière-Appalaches et, dans une moindre mesure, de la région administrative de Montréal. La majorité des visiteurs sont âgés entre 35 et 54 ans, proportion assez similaire à celle que l’on retrouve dans l’ensemble des lieux historiques nationaux.

Il importe de rappeler que l’accès à la Grosse Île demeure « contrôlé », c’est-à-dire que les visiteurs ne peuvent franchir les limites du quai que dans le cadre d’une visite guidée pour laquelle ils doivent acquitter des droits.

24. Les deux tiers des visites ont été effectuées en juillet et en août.


Analyse de l’état actuel

État de propriété et cadre juridique
État de l’intégrité commémorative du lieu
État des paysages et des ressources culturelles de niveau 1
Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu
Les infrastructures de services
L’environnement
État général
Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île
Fréquentation et utilisation par le public
Indices de fréquentation
Aménagements et services
Coopération
Le cadre touristique régional