Management Plan

Impact of activities past and present

  • Impacts of human quarantine activities
  • Impacts of bacteriological experiments by the Department of Defence
  • Impacts of Agriculture Canada research and animal quarantine activities
  • Impacts associated with human activities

In 1989, Parks Canada asked Health and Welfare Canada to conduct a risk assessment regarding public safety with respect to past and present activities on Grosse Île. Following recommendations by specialists, a number of measures were taken to ensure public safety and improve the quality of the environment. These measures are summarized below.

Impacts of human quarantine activities

An assessment of the potential risks associated with the presence of viruses or bacteria from the human quarantine activities concluded that there is no possibility that viruses or bacteria have survived on the island. However, a sanitary protocol (Vaudry, 1990) was prepared and applied in 1990 as a preventive measure for workers who might be exposed to pathogens during archaeological digs and excavation work.

Of all the chemicals used to disinfect immigrants and their belongings, only bichloride of mercury seems to have subsisted in the buildings where it was once used. According to historical research, this chemical was used from 1893 to 1899 in two buildings, the wash house and the disinfection building. Both were screened for metallic mercury in 1996, and findings were negative.

Impacts of bacteriological experiments by the Department of Defence

From 1942 to 1945, the Department of Defence conducted bacteriological research on Grosse Île, mainly on the anthrax bacterium ( Bacillus anthracis ). This work was performed in the disinfection building. A special committee from Health and Welfare Canada investigated this matter. Samples were taken in the building and screened for this micro-organism; findings were negative. However, in 1991, in accordance with the committee’s recommendations, Parks Canada completely disinfected this building.

Impacts of Agriculture Canada research and animal quarantine activities

From 1957 until the late 1980s, Agriculture Canada ran a research and animal quarantine station on Grosse Île. Because decontamination standards were very strict, the committee from Health and Welfare Canada concluded that these past activities posed no risk to human health today. 23

Impacts associated with human activities

Activity on the island over the years has resulted in an accumulation of refuse of all types. In 1993, Parks Canada conducted a study of the deteriorated sites on Grosse Île (Tremblay, 1993) and collected and removed all refuse found. Two years later, Parks Canada cleaned up soil that had been contaminated with hydrocarbons. In 1995, a rehabilitation program (Marineau, 1995) for deteriorated sites was implemented to restore these forest environments to their natural state. These measures significantly aided the implementation of both the environmental management system and an action plan for national historic sites located in the greater Québec City area (Vaudry and Quenneville, 1998). These initiatives endorse the principles of sustainable development set out by the Government of Canada and foster a healthy environment. One such measure involves rebuilding a portion of the wastewater treatment system and upgrading it to standards. A second such measure, in operation for several years now, involves managing and recycling dry materials on the island.

23. Nevertheless, it should be pointed out that, periodically, biomedical waste still turns up in fields where manure was once spread. These sectors are, however, off limits to the public.


Analysis of the current situation

Ownership and legal context
Commemorative integrity of the site
Condition of landscapes and level-1 resources
Communication of site messages of national historic significance
Facilities
Environment
General status
Impacts of activities past and present
Public visitation and use
Visitation figures
Facilities and services
Co-operation
Regional tourism context

Le plan directeur

Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île

  • Impact des activités de quarantaine humaine
  • Impacts des expériences bactériologiques du ministère de la Défense nationale
  • Impacts des activités de recherche et de quarantaine animale d’Agriculture Canada
  • Impacts associés aux activités humaines

En 1989, Parcs Canada demandait à Santé et Bien-Être social Canada d’effectuer une analyse de risques pour la sécurité publique au regard des activités passées et présentes à la Grosse Île. Suite aux recommandations des spécialistes, des mesures ont été prises pour assurer la sécurité publique et améliorer la qualité de l’environnement. Ces mesures peuvent se résumer comme suit.

Impact des activités de quarantaine humaine

L’examen des risques potentiels associés à la présence de virus ou de bactéries résultant des activités de quarantaine humaine a permis de conclure qu’il n’existe aucune possibilité de leur survivance sur l’île. Toutefois, un protocole sanitaire (Vaudry, 1990) a été élaboré et mis en application en 1990 comme mesure préventive pour les travailleurs qui pourraient être exposés à des agents pathogènes lors de fouilles archéologiques et de travaux d’excavation.

Par ailleurs, de tous les produits utilisés pour désinfecter les immigrants et leurs effets, il appert que seul le bichlorure de mercure pourrait avoir subsisté dans les locaux où il a été utilisé. Suivant les recherches historiques, ce produit aurait été utilisé de 1893 à 1899 dans deux bâtiments, le lavoir et l’édifice de désinfection. Des vérifications de la présence de mercure métallique dans ces bâtiments ont été effectuées en 1996 et les résultats se sont révélés négatifs.

Impacts des expériences bactériologiques du ministére de la Défense  nationale

Entre 1942 et 1945, le ministère de la Défense nationale a procédé à des recherches bactériologiques, plus spécifiquement sur la bactérie de la fièvre charbonneuse (Bacillus anthracis). Ces travaux se sont déroulés dans le bâtiment de désinfection. Un comité spécial de Santé et Bien-Être social Canada a examiné ce dossier. Des échantillons ont été prélevés dans le bâtiment afin d’effectuer des analyses pour déceler la présence de ce micro-organisme; les résultats se sont révélés négatifs. Malgré tout, suite aux recommandations du comité, Parcs Canada a effectué une désinfection complète du bâtiment en 1991.

Impacts des activités de recherche et de quarantaine animale d’Agriculture Canada

De 1957 jusqu’à la fin des années 1980, Agriculture Canada a mené des activités de recherche et de quarantaine animale à la Grosse Île. Les normes de décontamination étant très strictes, le comité de Santé et Bien-Être social Canada a conclu qu’il n’existe aujourd’hui aucun risque pour la santé humaine découlant de ces activités23.

Impacts associés aux activités humaines

Les activités humaines sur l’île ont conduit avec les années à l’accumulation de rebuts de toutes sortes. En 1993, Parcs Canada a réalisé une caractérisation des sites dégradés présents sur Grosse-Île (Tremblay, 1993) et a procédé à la récupération et l’élimination de l’ensemble des rebuts retrouvés. Deux ans plus tard, Parcs Canada a décontaminé des sols souillés aux hydrocarbures. En 1995, un programme de réhabilitation (Marineau, 1995) des sites dégradés a été mis en place afin de réhabiliter ces habitats forestiers. Ces actions ont grandement favorisé la mise en vigueur du système de gestion de l’environnement et d’un plan d’action pour les lieux historiques nationaux de la grande région de Québec (Vaudry et Quenneville, 1998). Ces initiatives endossent les principes de développement durable du gouvernement canadien et favorisent un environnement sain. À ce titre, on peut identifier la réfection et la mise aux normes d’une partie du système de traitement des eaux usées. La seconde, entreprise depuis quelques années, vise la gestion et le recyclage des matériaux secs de l’île.

23. Il est à souligner, néanmoins, qu’on retrouve périodiquement des déchets bio-médicaux dans les anciens champs d’épandage de fumier. Ces secteurs ne sont toutefois pas accessibles au public.


Analyse de l’état actuel

État de propriété et cadre juridique
État de l’intégrité commémorative du lieu
État des paysages et des ressources culturelles de niveau 1
Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu
Les infrastructures de services
L’environnement
État général
Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île
Fréquentation et utilisation par le public
Indices de fréquentation
Aménagements et services
Coopération
Le cadre touristique régional