Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Facilities

  • Wharf
  • Landing strip
  • Water supply and waste water treatment system; power supply

Owing to the site’s insularity, access and service infrastructures play a key role at Grosse Île.

Wharf

The island’s present wharf is the result of a physical and structural evolution over the years. Structures were enlarged and superimposed on one another throughout the station’s long history, particularly during the last several decades. In 1994, the wharf was thoroughly investigated to assess its condition and structural stability. Experts found that the wharf, which had become badly deteriorated in parts (particularly the south end) has virtually outlived its usefulness. Major rebuilding would therefore be required to guarantee the durability of the structure and the safety of users. It was also noted that in terms of its new use as a public landing, wharf approaches were inconvenient for the boarding/disembarkation of visitors and daily supplies, especially at low tide, due to the poor draught in mooring zones. The extensive sedimentation which also occurs at this location means that the shoals off the wharf will have to be dredged periodically.

In response to the expert advice, Parks Canada began major rebuilding work on the wharf in 1999, in consideration of the following directions:

  • wherever possible, repair work will leave intact the most significant vestiges of earlier wharves;
  • reconstruction interventions should respect the previous dimensions of the wharf and the relationship between the wharf and the disinfection building;
  • the dimensions and configuration will remain substantially the same. However, the current approaches, which are ill-situated owing to poor draught at low tide and the heavy sedimentation in this sector of the river, will be relocated and designed in such a way as to simplify boarding and disembarkation of passengers and goods;
  • the wharf will be designed to allow for future compliance with universal access standards.
Landing strip

The landing strip in the eastern part of the island was laid out in the mid-1950s by the Department of Defence and later extended and upgraded by Agriculture Canada. This gravel runway is some 400 metres long. It is not certified by Transport Canada. Although it can be used year-round, the absence of runway lights means it is only suitable for use during daylight hours. Only small aircraft requiring short takeoff and landing distances can use the strip. 19

Water supply and waste water treatment system; power supply

All water supply, wastewater and power systems described in the 1992 Development Concept presented major shortcomings, including:

  • low water pressure and poor water quality;
  • outdated water pipes and water storage system;
  • no wastewater treatment system;
  • overloaded electrical system;
  • worn-out generators;
  • obsolete fuel supply system.

Following an exhaustive study of infrastructure, various corrective measures were recommended in order to meet the projected user demand and comply with current environmental standards and safety requirements (fire protection). Upgrading work began in 1996 with the installation of a modern wastewater treatment plant.20 Water mains were also partially rebuilt.

Plans call for removing the heating oil tanks situated strategically in the vicinity of the wharf and relocating them to a place where they can continue to serve their essential purpose without disturbing the heritage character of the island.

19. This strip is strictly reserved for Parks Canada use.

20. In addition, an analysis of wells and chlorination operations was conducted by Health Canada in 1998. Measures have been enacted since, and tests of water quality (physico-chemical and bacteriological) are conducted on a monthly basis.


Analysis of the current situation

Ownership and legal context
Commemorative integrity of the site
Condition of landscapes and level-1 resources
Communication of site messages of national historic significance
Facilities
Environment
General status
Impacts of activities past and present
Public visitation and use
Visitation figures
Facilities and services
Co-operation
Regional tourism context

Le plan directeur

Les infrastructures de services

  • Le quai
  • La piste d’atterrissage
  • Services d’aqueduc et d’égout alimentation en énergie

En raison du caractère insulaire du lieu, les infrastructures d’accès et de services prennent une importance singulière à la Grosse Île.

Le quai

Le quai actuel de l’île est le résultat d’une évolution physique et structurale qui s’est faite par extension et superposition de structures au cours de la longue histoire de la station et durant les dernières décennies. Le quai a fait l’objet d’une étude approfondie en 1994 dans le but d’évaluer sa condition et sa stabilité structurale. Les experts consultés ont conclu que le quai, sévèrement détérioré par endroits - l’extrémité sud en particulier -, avait pratiquement dépassé sa durée de vie utile et qu’on devait envisager des travaux de reconstruction majeurs pour garantir la permanence de l’ouvrage et assurer la sécurité des usagers. On notait par ailleurs que, dans l’optique de sa nouvelle vocation de quai public, les accès étaient peu commodes pour l’embarquement et le débarquement des visiteurs tout comme pour les approvisionnements quotidiens, plus particulièrement à marée basse, et ce, en raison du faible tirant d’eau à la hauteur des zones d’amarrage; la forte sédimentation qui s’opère obligeait de surcroît à draguer périodiquement les fonds qui entourent le quai.

Donnant suite à l’avis des experts, Parcs Canada a entrepris des travaux de réfection considérables du quai à l’automne 1999 en tenant compte des orientations suivantes :

  • dans la mesure du possible, les travaux de réfection ne doivent pas avoir pour effet de détruire les vestiges les plus significatifs des quais anciens;
  • le nouveau quai doit respecter le gabarit du quai précédent et la relation du quai avec l’édifice de désinfection sera protégée;
  • les dimensions et la configuration du nouveau quai doivent demeurer à peu de chose près inchangés, mais les accès, mal situés eu égard au faible tirant d’eau rencontré à marée basse et au phénomène prononcé de sédimentation observé dans ce secteur du fleuve, seront réaménagés et conçus de manière à faciliter les manoeuvres d’embarquement et de débarquement des personnes et des biens;
  • le quai sera construit de façon à ce qu’il puisse obéir éventuellement aux normes d’accès universel.
La piste d’atterrissage

La piste d’atterrissage située dans la partie orientale de l’île fut aménagée au milieu des années 50 par le ministère de la Défense puis allongée et améliorée ultérieurement par Agriculture Canada. La piste, longue d’environ 400 mètres et revêtue de gravier, n’est pas homologuée par Transports Canada; elle est utilisable en toutes saisons mais de jour seulement et n’est pas équipée de balises. Seuls les appareils à atterrissage/ décollage court peuvent y accéder 19 .

Services d’aqueduc et d’égout d’alimentation en énergie

L’ensemble des infrastructures d’aqueduc, d’égout et d’alimentation en énergie décrites dans le Concept de mise en valeur (1992) présentaient d’importantes déficiences :

  • faible débit d’alimentation en eau et mauvaise qualité de l’eau;
  • vétusté des conduites d’aqueduc et du réservoir;
  • absence de système d’épuration des eaux usées;
  • surcharge du réseau électrique;
  • génératrices ayant atteint leur fin de vie utile;
  • désuétude du système d’approvisionnement en combustible.

À la suite d’une étude complète des infrastructures, divers correctifs ont été apportés aux réseaux en place de façon à répondre à la demande prévisionnelle des utilisateurs tout en satisfaisant aux normes environnementales en vigueur et aux impératifs de sécurité (protection contre l’incendie). Les premiers travaux d’amélioration ont débuté en 1996 avec l’installation d’un système moderne d’épuration des eaux usées20; les conduites d’aqueduc ont également été refaites en partie.

Quant aux réservoirs d’huile à chauffage situés à proximité du quai, il est prévu de les retirer de cet emplacement stratégique et de les localiser dans un endroit où ils pourront jouer leur rôle essentiel sans perturber le caractère patrimonial de l’île.

19. La piste est réservée à l’usage strict de Parcs Canada.

20. Par ailleurs, une analyse des puits et des opérations de chloration a été menée par Santé Canada en 1998. Des mesures ont été prises depuis et des tests de la qualité physico-chimique et bactériologique de l’eau sont effectués chaque mois.


Analyse de l’état actuel

État de propriété et cadre juridique
État de l’intégrité commémorative du lieu
État des paysages et des ressources culturelles de niveau 1
Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu
Les infrastructures de services
L’environnement
État général
Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île
Fréquentation et utilisation par le public
Indices de fréquentation
Aménagements et services
Coopération
Le cadre touristique régional