Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Communication of site messages of national historic significance

Another yardstick for measuring the commemorative integrity of a site is the communication of messages of national historic significance. Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada is a site under development. Over the last several years, a range of facilities and services have been set up to communicate the three major themes associated with the site’s commemorative intent, but remain as yet incomplete.

The delivery of heritage experiences to audiences has been partially the responsibility of Parks Canada staff and partially that of the heritage interpreters of the Grosse Île Development Corporation, a community organization. The current interpretation services consist mainly of a guided tour through the once-occupied sectors of the island, and stress the history of the quarantine station as reflected by the most evocative works and buildings. The offering is adapted according to the varying lengths of time visitors have for visiting the island. In addition, an educational program was specially designed for Grade 5 students; this program is different from the usual guided tour and is adapted to the needs of this specific audience. For several years now, visitors have enjoyed free access (without the accompaniment of a guide) to the western part of the island. A printed brochure has been prepared with these visitors in mind. Heritage interpreters are posted in the immediate vicinity of both the Celtic cross and the Memorial.

The complex, content-rich theme of immigration is dealt with only superficially by heritage interpreters. A good introduction to this theme is offered through the exhibits displayed in the disinfection building, which has been open to the public since 1997. However, communication tools adapted to fully cover this major theme will have to be implemented before the objectives of communicating messages of national historical significance can be achieved. In the meantime, Parks Canada acquired from the Musée de la Civilisation du Québec a thematic exhibit dealing with the phenomenon of immigration. This exhibit was spread out over two buildings: the third-class hotel and the kitchen. As well, efforts have been made to contact the 43 ethnic communities that at one time transited through the port of entry represented by Québec City.

Since the 1990s, Parks Canada has been criticized in various quarters for its presentation of the Irish dimension of Grosse Île history. During the last several years, however, significant improvements have been made on that score (introduction of this theme in the disinfection building; interpreters posted in the western sector; restoration of the Irish cemetery and creation of the Memorial; special publications 18 ). With the coming installation in the lazaretto of an exhibit dealing with the 1847 epidemic, interpretation of the theme related to the Irish tragedy can be considered as completed.

The project of communicating the history of the quarantine station remains as yet incomplete. Although several aspects of this theme have been successfully developed in the disinfection building, others have been touched on only superficially, for example the organization and logistics of operating the station, the staff on site and their duties and daily life in the village.

18. In 1997, as part of the special program designed to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the tragedy of 1847, Parks Canada, brought out two publications, one dealing with the everyday events surrounding the summer of 1847 and the other providing a list of the deaths that occurred at sea or on the island.


Analysis of the current situation

Ownership and legal context
Commemorative integrity of the site
Condition of landscapes and level-1 resources
Communication of site messages of national historic significance
Facilities
Environment
General status
Impacts of activities past and present
Public visitation and use
Visitation figures
Facilities and services
Co-operation
Regional tourism context

Le plan directeur

Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu

L’intégrité commémorative d’un lieu se mesure également à l’aune de la communication des messages d’importance historique nationale. Le lieu historique national du Canada de la GrosseÎle- et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais est un lieu en cours de développement; bien que divers services et installations aient été mis en place ces dernières années pour présenter au public les thèmes rattachés à l’objectif de commémoration du lieu, ceux-ci demeurent encore incomplets. La prestation des expériences patrimoniales offertes aux visiteurs est assumée en partie par le personnel de Parcs Canada, en partie par les guides-interprètes de la Corporation pour la mise en valeur de Grosse-Île, un organisme du milieu. Les services d’interprétation offerts présentement consistent essentiellement en une visite guidée des secteurs d’occupation de l’île, où l’accent est mis sur l’histoire de la station de quarantaine revue à travers les ouvrages et les bâtiments témoins les plus évocateurs. L’offre de service est adaptée au temps, variable selon le cas, dont les visiteurs disposent pour visiter l’île. De plus, un programme éducatif a été spécialement conçu pour les élèves de 5 e année du primaire; ce programme est différent de la visite guidée habituelle et est entièrement adapté aux besoins de cette clientèle spécifique. Depuis quelques années, les visiteurs qui le désirent peuvent accéder librement (sans guide accompagnateur) à l’ensemble du secteur ouest de l’île. Un guide de visite a été conçu à leur intention et des guides-interprètes sont postés sur l’emplacement de la Croix celtique et à proximité du Mémorial.

La thématique de l’immigration, au demeurant assez dense et complexe, n’est couverte que superficiellement par les guides-interprètes. Bien qu’une bonne introduction soit présentée au bâtiment de désinfection qui est ouvert au public depuis 1997, il faudra vraisemblablement attendre la mise en place d’outils de communication adaptés à la présentation complète de ce thème pour atteindre nos objectifs en matière de diffusion des messages d’importance historique nationale. En attendant, Parcs Canada a acquis du Musée de la Civilisation du Québec une exposition thématique sur le phénomène de l’immigration; l’exposition a été répartie dans deux bâtiments de l’île, soit l’hôtel de troisième classe ainsi que la cuisine. Des efforts ont également été entrepris pour rejoindre les 43 communautés ethniques qui ont transité jadis par la porte d’entrée de Québec.

Au milieu des années 90, diverses critiques avaient été exprimées à Parcs Canada en rapport avec la présentation de la dimension irlandaise de l’histoire de la Grosse Île. Des améliorations notoires ont été apportées à ce chapitre depuis quelques années (introduction à ce thème dans le bâtiment de désinfection, guides postés dans le secteur ouest, restauration du cimetière des Irlandais et création du Mémorial, publications spéciales 18 ); avec l’installation à venir, dans le lazaret, d’une exposition thématique portant sur l’épidémie de 1847, le volet thématique associé au drame irlandais pourra être considéré comme complété.

La présentation de l’histoire de la station de quarantaine demeure quant à elle encore incomplète. Bien que plusieurs aspects soient traités adéquatement dans l’édifice de désinfection, plusieurs volets de la thématique demeurent encore abordés de façon superficielle : l’organisation et le fonctionnement logistique de la station, le personnel en place et ses fonctions, la vie quotidienne au village, etc.

18. En 1997, dans le cadre du programme spécial de commémoration visant à souligner le 150e anniversaire du drame de 1847, Parcs Canada a fait paraître deux publications, l’une portant sur le quotidien des événements de l’été 1847, l’autre constituant un répertoire des décès survenus en mer et sur l’île.


Analyse de l’état actuel

État de propriété et cadre juridique
État de l’intégrité commémorative du lieu
État des paysages et des ressources culturelles de niveau 1
Communication des messages d’importance historique nationale du lieu
Les infrastructures de services
L’environnement
État général
Impacts des activités passées et présentes sur l’île
Fréquentation et utilisation par le public
Indices de fréquentation
Aménagements et services
Coopération
Le cadre touristique régional