Management Plan

Movable cultural resources

The collection of movable cultural resources contains historic items found on the site, particularly inside numerous buildings, as well as artifacts uncovered during archaeological excavations and items acquired off the island. The ethnological collection contains some 5000 objects and over 175 000 archaeological artifacts.

The whole collection has not yet been exhaustively catalogued and evaluated to determine exactly which items bear some relationship to the site’s commemorative intent. Major research will have to be undertaken in order to fully understand many of these items and explain their link with immigration, the 1847 tragedy, the human quarantine facilities, immigrants and station employees. A question mark still hangs over a number of the artifacts. Many objects that are important evidence of the activities at Grosse Île have yet to be identified and explained.8 However, a number of items that are highly evocative of the commemorative themes have, at this time, been identified.

8. For example, is it possible to link the carved clay inscription-less plaque discovered in the Cholera Bay sector with the nearby cemetery? Were the tin plaques found near the ambulance shed intended for gravestones, coffin labels, or the construction and repair of buildings?


Commemorative integrity of the site

Commemorative intent
Resources symbolizing or representing the national significance of Grosse Île
Grosse Île and its cultural landscapes
On-site cultural resources
Movable cultural resources
Messages of national historic significance
Messages for the Canadian public
Messages for visitors to the site
Communication challenges
Other heritage values of the site
Precontact dimension of Grosse Île
Earliest settlers and agricultural use of the island before the quarantine station period
The Canadian Forces (1942-1945, 1951-1956)
Agriculture Canada (research and training station, animal quarantine)
International, national and regional links
Outstanding natural surroundings

Le plan directeur

Ressources culturelles mobilières

La collection de ressources culturelles mobilières renferme des objets anciens retrouvés sur le site, en particulier à l’intérieur de nombreux bâtiments, des artefacts mis au jour lors d’interventions archéologiques et des pièces acquises à l’extérieur de l’île. Les objets de la collection ethnologique se chiffrent à environ 5 000 unités et on compte plus de 175 000 artefacts archéologiques.

L’ensemble de la collection n’a pas fait l’objet d’un inventaire exhaustif et d’une évaluation afin d’en différencier, d’une façon précise, les éléments qui sont associés à l’objectif de commémoration du lieu. Un important travail de recherche sera nécessaire pour bien comprendre plusieurs objets et les associer à l’immigration, à la tragédie de 1847, aux installations de quarantaine humaine, aux immigrants et aux employés de la station. En effet, nombre d’artefacts suscitent des interrogations et bien des objets, importants témoins de l’activité à la Grosse Île, restent à identifier et à comprendre 8 . Malgré tout, il est déjà possible d’identifier certaines pièces qui sont très évocatrices des thèmes de commémoration.

8. Par exemple, une plaque de schiste ouvragée, mais sans aucune inscription, retrouvée dans le secteur de la baie du Choléra, peut-elle être associée au cimetière du centre voisin? Des plaques de fer blanc récupérées près de la remise pour l’ambulance sont-elles des plaques destinées aux monuments funéraires, à l’identification des cercueils, à la construction ou à la réfection des bâtiments?


L’intégrité commémorative du lieu

L’objectif de commémoration
Les ressources qui symbolisent ou caractérisent l’importance nationale de la Grosse Île
L’île et ses paysages culturels
Ressources culturelles in situ
Ressources culturelles mobilières
Les messages d’importance historique nationale
Messages destinés au public canadien
Messages destinés aux visiteurs du lieu
Les défis de la communication
Les autres valeurs patrimoniales du lieu
La dimension paléohistorique de la Grosse Île
Les premières concessions et l’exploitation agricole de l’île avant la station de quarantaine
La présence des Forces canadiennes (1942-1945, 1951-1956)
La présence d’Agriculture Canada (station de recherche et de formation, quarantaine animale)
Les liens au plan international, national et régional
Un milieu naturel remarquable