Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Grosse Île and its cultural landscapes

Grosse Île is one of 21 islands forming the Isle aux Grues archipelago bounded by Île d’Orléans and Île aux Coudres. This region has always been known as being difficult to navigate. For centuries, the shoals, cays and reefs, and, as well, the narrow straits between islands and local mooring areas, have remained virtually unchanged.

With a surface area of 185 hectares, Grosse Île today looks much the same as it did when the quarantine station opened. Most of the island is overlooked by hills or high plateaus. By and large, it has remained in its natural state and is home to a variety of tree species. The whole island is ringed with intertidal zones. Rock outcroppings alternate with the rough sandy beaches inside sheltered inlets.

The spatial organization of land use on Grosse Île dates back to the early years of the quarantine station. The concentration of buildings and facilities on the island’s southern shore, dating from the earliest activities, is still present today. This layout is doubtless explained by the location of the main navigation channel at the time, known as the “Quarantine Strait.”

Aerial view of Grosse Île with, in the foreground, Cholera Bay at high tide. A number of islands included within the Isle aux Grues archipelago can be seen in the distance. Aerial view of Grosse Île with, in the foreground, Cholera Bay at high tide. A number of islands included within the Isle aux Grues archipelago can be seen in the distance.
Jacques Beardsell Parks Canada

The three sectors associated with the various functions of the quarantine station can still be made out today. Moreover, with only a few changes, the road running the length of the island corresponds to that which was built during the early years of the station. The vestiges of the eastern (“lower”) wharf and the location of the current western (“upper”) wharf still testify to the facilities set up in the mid-19th century. Finally, cemeteries have been a feature of the island since the quarantine station first opened.

The many buildings on the island present a more modern picture, reflecting the major alterations to the facilities at the turn of the 20th century. As a result, the current landscape bears little trace of the intense activity which occurred on the island at the time of the major epidemics.

Despite inevitable changes, the landscapes on Grosse Île have retained their aura of authenticity and continue to be laden with meaning. The cemeteries, along with building architecture and layout and the proximity of buildings to the river, lend this site an exceptional capacity for evoking the past. The historic names that continue to be used for different parts of the island, such as “Hospital Bay,” “Cholera Bay,” “Irish Cemetery,” and “Cap Masson”, are further proof of this.

The commemorative integrity statement contains a more detailed description of the cultural landscapes and the most significant views (level 1) to be found on the island.
Commemorative integrity of the site

Commemorative intent
Resources symbolizing or representing the national significance of Grosse Île
Grosse Île and its cultural landscapes
On-site cultural resources
Movable cultural resources
Messages of national historic significance
Messages for the Canadian public
Messages for visitors to the site
Communication challenges
Other heritage values of the site
Precontact dimension of Grosse Île
Earliest settlers and agricultural use of the island before the quarantine station period
The Canadian Forces (1942-1945, 1951-1956)
Agriculture Canada (research and training station, animal quarantine)
International, national and regional links
Outstanding natural surroundings

Le plan directeur

L’île et ses paysages culturels

La Grosse Île est l’une des 21 îles qui forment l’archipel de l’Isle-aux-Grues, circonscrit entre l’île d’Orléans et l’île aux Coudres. La région de l’archipel a de tout temps été réputée difficile pour la navigation; les hauts-fonds, les cayes et les récifs de même que les étroits passages entre les îles et les zones propices au mouillage des navires sont demeurés virtuellement inchangés depuis des siècles.

D’une superficie de 185 hectares, la Grosse Île offre une physionomie qui, dans l’ensemble, a très peu évolué depuis l’époque où fut créée la station de quarantaine. La plus grande partie de l’île, dominée par des collines ou de hauts plateaux, est à l’état naturel et abrite des peuplements forestiers aux essences variées. Des zones intertidales ceinturent toute l’île; les affleurements rocheux alternent avec les plages de sable grossier qui colonisent le fond des anses.

La morphologie de l’occupation spatiale de la Grosse Île remonte aux premières années de la station de quarantaine. La concentration des édifices et des équipements sur le littoral sud de l’île, établie dès le début des activités, a été conservée jusqu’à nos jours. La localisation du principal chenal de navigation de l’époque, le « passage de la Quarantaine », est sans doute à l’origine de cette disposition.

Vue aérienne de la Grosse Île. On distingue nettement, au premier plan, la baie du Choléra à marée haute. Certaines des îles et îlots qui forment l’archipel de l’Isle-aux-Grues se profilent dans le lointain. Vue aérienne de la Grosse Île. On distingue nettement, au premier plan, la baie du Choléra à marée haute. Certaines des îles et îlots qui forment l’archipel de l’Isle-aux-Grues se profilent dans le lointain.
Jacques Beardsell
Parcs Canada

Les trois secteurs où se répartissaient les diverses fonctions associées à l’activité de quarantaine sont toujours perceptibles. À quelques modifications près, la route qui traverse l’île sur toute sa longueur correspond par ailleurs à celle qui fut tracée dans les premières années d’établissement. Les vestiges du quai est (dit d’en bas) et l’emplacement de l’actuel quai ouest (dit d’en haut) témoignent des modalités de fonctionnement instaurées au milieu du XIX e siècle.

Enfin, la présence de cimetières module la physionomie de l’île depuis les origines de la station. Les nombreux édifices visibles sur l’île présentent un portrait plus récent, qui atteste les modifications majeures apportées aux installations au tournant du XX e siècle. Par conséquent, le paysage actuel reste peu évocateur de l’intense période d’activités qui régna sur l’île à l’époque des grandes épidémies.

Malgré les inévitables changements survenus, les paysages de la Grosse Île demeurent encore chargés d’authenticité et de sens. La présence des cimetières, l’architecture des bâtiments, leur agencement et la relation maintenue avec le fleuve confèrent au milieu une exceptionnelle capacité d’évocation du passé. Le maintien en usage de toponymes historiques, comme la « baie de l’Hôpital », la « baie du Choléra », le « cap Masson »… en est, s’il en fallait, une preuve convaincante.

Pour une description plus détaillée des paysages culturels et des points de vue les plus significatifs identifiés de niveau 1 sur l’île, on se reportera à l’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative.


L’intégrité commémorative du lieu

L’objectif de commémoration
Les ressources qui symbolisent ou caractérisent l’importance nationale de la Grosse Île
L’île et ses paysages culturels
Ressources culturelles in situ
Ressources culturelles mobilières
Les messages d’importance historique nationale
Messages destinés au public canadien
Messages destinés aux visiteurs du lieu
Les défis de la communication
Les autres valeurs patrimoniales du lieu
La dimension paléohistorique de la Grosse Île
Les premières concessions et l’exploitation agricole de l’île avant la station de quarantaine
La présence des Forces canadiennes (1942-1945, 1951-1956)
La présence d’Agriculture Canada (station de recherche et de formation, quarantaine animale)
Les liens au plan international, national et régional
Un milieu naturel remarquable