Management Plan

Canadian immigration in Québec City during the years of the Grosse Île quarantine station

Evocation of the Quarantine Strait during the summer of 1847 Evocation of the Quarantine Strait during the summer of 1847
Illustration by Bernard Duchesne
Parks Canada, 1996
  • Colonial emigration (1832-1860)
  • Transition era (1861-1880)
  • Gradual consolidation (1881-1900)
  • Expanding immigration brought to an abrupt halt (1901-1920)
  • Major upheavals (1921-1940)

The human quarantine station was opened on Grosse Île in 1832. Barely 15 years earlier, the influx of immigration from Great Britain to Canada had started to increase dramatically. British emigration to the shores of the St. Lawrence began after 1815, in the aftermath of the Napoleonic wars. The agrarian and industrial revolution, unemployment, socio-economic problems and overpopulation were the main reasons why English, Irish and Scottish emigrants decided to head for Canada.

With the 105-year history of the Grosse Île quarantine station (1832-1937) serving as backdrop, Canadian immigration in Quebec can be divided into five periods.
Colonial emigration (1832-1860)

Immigration to our shores during this period stands out for three features. First, to use the terms indicative of the perspective of that time, Canada came to the assistance of “British emigration” in the form of policies, subsidies and initiatives which had originated in London. Not until the early 1860s was an organization set up to recruit “immigrants”. From 1832 to 1860, Québec City, the country’s main port of entry, landed nearly 30 000 immigrants annually; most of them came from Great Britain and Ireland.

This period was also characterized by strong Irish immigration, which accounted for more than half of the new arrivals in Canada. Beginning in the 1820s, many Irish had left their homeland because of poverty in the countryside, the demands of landlords and repeated food shortages. The Great Famine of 1845 to 1849, which resulted from the failure of the potato crop, triggered the tragic migrations of 1847.

Finally, this wave of immigration did not merely coincide with the emergence of major epidemics in North America, it also carried them. Immigrants from Great Britain and Ireland spread cholera in 1832 (approximately 6000 victims in Québec City and Montreal), in 1834 and again in 1854. The typhus epidemic that killed thousands of victims in 1847 came from the same source: 100 000 emigrants, most of them Irish people fleeing the Great Famine, carried this contagious disease to Canada with them aboard the overcrowded and infected decks of slow-moving and unsanitary sailing ships.


Introduction

Origin and context of the project
Management plan
Quarantine and public health
1847, year of tragedy
Canadian immigration in Québec City during the years of the Grosse Île quarantine station

Le plan directeur

L’immigration canadienne à Québec à l’époque de la station de quarantaine de Grosse-Île

  • L’émigration coloniale (1832-1860)
  • Une ère de transition (1861-1880)
  • Une lente consolidation (1881-1900)
  • Un mouvement interrompu (1901-1920)
  • Les grands soubresauts (1921-1940)
Évocation du passage de la quarantaine durant l’été de 1847 Évocation du passage de la quarantaine durant l’été de 1847 Illustration de Bernard Duchesne
Parcs Canada, 1996

En 1832, lorsque est inaugurée la station de quarantaine humaine de Grosse-Île, il y a à peine plus de 15 ans que le flux migratoire en provenance de la métropole britannique atteint au Canada un niveau significatif. C’est après 1815, en effet, au lendemain des guerres de Napoléon, que s’amorce véritablement l’émigration britannique vers les rives du Saint-Laurent. Révolution agricole et industrielle, chômage, difficultés socio-économiques et surabondance de population, tels sont les principaux moteurs qui propulsent alors Anglais, Irlandais et Écossais vers le Canada.

Envisagée avec, en toile de fond, les 105 années d’existence de la quarantaine de la Grosse Île (1832- 1937), l’immigration canadienne à Québec peut être découpée en cinq périodes de référence.

L’immigration coloniale (1832-1860)

Trois traits distinctifs caractérisent l’immigration sur nos rives durant cette période. D’abord, pour reprendre les mots d’époque si révélateurs de la perspective de ce temps, le Canada vient alors en aide essentiellement à l’« émigration britannique »; les politiques, les subsides et les initiatives émanent en effet de Londres. Il faudra attendre le début des années 1860 pour assister à la mise en place d’une organisation visant à recruter des « immigrants ». Durant les années 1832-1860, Québec, la grande porte d’entrée du pays, accueille annuellement en moyenne près de 30 000 immigrants et ces derniers proviennent en très grande majorité des îles britanniques et d’Irlande.

En second lieu, cette période est marquée par la prépondérance de l’émigration de souche irlandaise, dont se réclament plus de la moitié des arrivants. Depuis les années 1820, nombreux sont les Irlandais qui quittent leur pays en raison de la paupérisation des campagnes, des exactions des landlords et des disettes répétées. La Grande Famine des années 1845-1849, associée à la destruction des cultures de pommes de terre, est particulièrement mémorable car elle a culminé dans la tragédie migratoire de 1847.

Enfin, non seulement cette immigration se situe-t-elle à l’époque des grandes épidémies qui s’abattent sur l’Amérique du Nord, mais elle en constitue en outre le véhicule. Ce sont les immigrants en partance des îles britanniques et d’Irlande qui propagèrent le choléra en 1832 (environ 6 000 victimes à Québec et à Montréal), en 1834 puis en 1854. L’épidémie de typhus qui fit des milliers de victimes en 1847 n’eut pas d’autre source : 100 000 émigrants, majoritairement des Irlandais fuyant la Grande Famine, transmirent malgré eux cette maladie contagieuse au pays via les entreponts surpeuplés et infectés des lents voiliers insalubres.


Introduction

Origine et contexte du projet
Quarantaine et santé publique
1847, l’année tragique
L’immigration canadienne à Québec à l’époque de la station de quarantaine de Grosse-Île