Management Plan

Quarantine and public health

Evocation of the first installations, 1832 Evocation of the first installations, 1832
Illustration by Bernard Duchesne Parks Canada, 1996
  • Development of the Grosse Île station
  • The great epidemics
  • Modernism and efficiency
  • The 20th century
Development of the Grosse Île station

Throughout its existence, the human quarantine station on Grosse Île served to monitor public health at the St. Lawrence gateway to Canada. From the time it opened in 1832 until it finally closed in 1937, a variety of events were to mark the station’s history; however, certain developments produced significant repercussions on its evolution.

The great epidemics

The Grosse Île station came into existence in a special context. After the Napoleonic wars ended, increasing numbers of people started to leave England, Ireland and Scotland to make a new life in North America. Around 1830, when Québec City was by far Canada’s largest port of entry, the exodus resulted annually in 30 000 new arrivals to this city alone; approximately two thirds of this number came from Ireland. This unprecedented influx of immigration through the St. Lawrence coincided with the great epidemics then rampant on both the Continent and Great Britain. The second cholera pandemic (1829-1837) struck England in 1831-1832; it was the emigrants, including the many Irish passengers embarking at English ports, who brought cholera to America and Canada.

Foreseeing the arrival of this terrible disease in the St. Lawrence valley, the colonial authorities established a full-fledged quarantine station at Grosse Île, downstream from Québec City. This checkpoint was once again confronted with cholera in 1834, and then was faced with the even deadlier typhus epidemic of 1847-1848. Once again, most of the victims were Irish immigrants. This era of virulent epidemics came to an end after another outbreak of cholera in 1854.

The early decades of the Grosse Île quarantine station were coloured by other particular characteristics: colonial management of what then was termed “British emigration,” which went forward in the absence of any control by Canadian representatives over this movement of peoples; improvised quarantine facilities operated by inexperienced staff; ignorance of the causes and carriers of infectious diseases; a chronic inability to safely care for, and minister to the vast tide of immigrants, especially the sick. Adding to this already grim picture, the lengthy transatlantic crossings aboard overcrowded and contagion-bearing sailing ships clearly created an uncontrolled, explosive situation which contributed to the deaths of thousands of Irish immigrants on Grosse Île in 1847.


Introduction

Origin and context of the project
Management plan
Quarantine and public health
1847, year of tragedy
Canadian immigration in Québec City during the years of the Grosse Île quarantine station

Le plan directeur

Quarantaine et santé publique

Évocation des premières installations, 1832 Évocation des premières installations, 1832
Illustration de Bernard Duchesne Parcs Canada, 1996
  • L’évolution de la station de la Grosse Île
  • Les grandes épidémies
  • Efficacité et modernité
  • Le vingtième siècle
L’volution de la station de la Grosse Île

Au cours de son existence, la station de quarantaine humaine de la Grosse Île a essentiellement eu pour mandat d’empêcher l’introduction de maladies contagieuses au Canada. Au fil des décennies, des événements de toute sorte ont ponctué l’histoire de la station, depuis son entrée en scène, en 1832, jusqu’à sa fermeture, en 1937, mais certaines conjonctures ont plus particulièrement façonné son évolution.

Les grandes épidémies

La station de la Grosse Île voit le jour dans un contexte tout à fait particulier. Depuis la fin des guerres napoléoniennes, un flot croissant de personnes quittent l’Angleterre, l’Irlande et l’Écosse pour refaire leur vie en Amérique du Nord. Vers 1830, cet exode représente, uniquement à Québec – de loin la principale porte d’entrée au Canada – une moyenne annuelle de 30 000 arrivants dont les deux tiers environ proviennent d’Irlande. Or cette immigration sans précédent sur le Saint-Laurent survient au moment où de grandes épidémies s’abattent sur l’Europe continentale mais aussi sur la Grande-Bretagne. La seconde pandémie de choléra (1827-1837) frappe l’Angleterre en 1831-1832; ce sont les migrants, dont les Irlandais qui s’embarquent souvent dans des ports anglais, qui transportent le choléra en Amérique.

L’arrivée annoncée du terrible fléau sur le Saint- Laurent incite les autorités coloniales à mettre sur pied une véritable station de quarantaine à la Grosse Île, sise en aval de Québec. Cette halte de sécurité est à nouveau confrontée au choléra en 1834, avant de livrer bataille, en 1847-1848, à une épidémie plus meurtrière encore, celle du typhus, dont les principales victimes seront, une fois de plus, les immigrants irlandais. Cette ère d’épidémies virulentes prendra fin après une nouvelle attaque du choléra, en 1854.

Ces premières décennies d’existence de la quarantaine de la Grosse Île portent d’autres marques bien caractéristiques : gestion coloniale d’une émigration dite « britannique », donc sans véritable droit de regard canadien sur ce mouvement de population; fonctionnement de la quarantaine empreint de précipitation, d’improvisation et de tâtonnement; ignorance des causes, des modes de propagation et des traitements des maladies infectieuses; incapacité quasi chronique d’accueillir et de soigner de façon sécuritaire le large flot des migrants, surtout les malades. Ajoutons à ce canevas les longues traversées océaniques à bord de voiliers surchargés où se propagent les maladies infectieuses, et nous avons sous les yeux une situation explosive et hors de contrôle qui explique en partie le décès de milliers d’Irlandais à la Grosse Île en 1847.


Introduction

Origine et contexte du projet
Quarantaine et santé publique
1847, l’année tragique
L’immigration canadienne à Québec à l’époque de la station de quarantaine de Grosse-Île