Common menu bar links

Fort Chambly National Historic Site

Tourism Links

Lockage at Chambly Canal
Lockage at Chambly Canal
© Parks Canada

Culture

Chambly is a town with a rich history. By walking around the fort, especially on Richelieu Street, you can see many of the old 18th century houses. Stop at the St. Stephen church and take a look at its cemetery.

During the summer, the Guides patrimoniaux Au pays de Chambly (French only) offer guided tours of the old section of the town. For more information about their services, dial 450 447-7412 or 450 658-9996.

The Société d’histoire de la seigneurie de Chambly (French only) offers lectures and publications to local history buffs and makes a wide range of resources available to researchers.

Fort Chambly is near two other Parks Canada sites. Take advantage of your visit to the fort to discover the Chambly Canal National Historic Site, the building of which dates back to 1843. On foot, on the water or on a bicycle, come and appreciate the charm of the canal, a unique reminder of more than a century of history. Bike lovers will enjoy the broad cycling path running alongside the canal.

Visitors Information – more information – what to do in the area Discover Fort Lennox
© Parks Canada

Another fort, but of English origin, was built on Île aux Noix: Fort Lennox. Built in the 19th century, this fortification protected the colony from a potential American invasion along the Richelieu River. Discover one of North America’s most authentic British fortifications at Saint-Paul-de-l’Île-aux-Noix.

For more information

To find out everything the Montérégie region has to offer take a look at:

Aerial View of Chambly
Aerial View of Chambly
© Parks Canada

Lieu historique national du Fort-Chambly

Liens touristiques

Éclusage au canal de Chambly
Éclusage au canal de Chambly
© Parcs Canada

Culture

Chambly est une ville qui possède un riche patrimoine historique. Pour vous en convaincre, faites une promenade sur la rue Richelieu qui longe la rivière à l'est du parc. Vous y verrez d'anciennes résidences historiques ainsi que la petite église anglicane St-Stephen, déclarée lieu historique national.

Durant les beaux jours d'été, les Guides patrimoniaux au pays de Chambly offrent des visites guidées de cette partie de la ville. Pour plus d'information de renseignements à propos de leurs services, composez le 450 447-7412 ou le 450 658-9996.

La Société d’histoire de la seigneurie de Chambly propose des conférences et des publications aux passionnés d’histoire de la région, en plus de mettre des ressources variées à la disposition des chercheurs.

Le fort Chambly se trouve à proximité de deux autres sites de Parcs Canada. Profitez de votre visite au fort pour découvrir le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly, dont la construction date de 1843. À pied, sur l’eau ou à vélo, venez apprécier le charme du canal, témoin unique de plus d’un siècle d'histoire. Les amateurs de vélo seront satisfaits par l’immense piste cyclable qui le parcourt.

Visitez le fort Lennox
Visitez le fort Lennox
© Parcs Canada

Une autre fortification, d’origine anglaise cette fois, a été érigée sur l’île aux Noix : le fort Lennox. Construite au 19e siècle, cette fortification protégeait la colonie d’une éventuelle invasion américaine par la rivière Richelieu. Découvrez à Saint-Paul-de-l’Île-aux-Noix l’une des plus authentiques fortifications britanniques en Amérique du Nord.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour obtenir plus de plus amples renseignements sur les attraits touristiques de la Montérégie, communiquez avec :

Chambly Vue aérienne de Chambly
© Parcs Canada