Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site of Canada

A Bit of History... About the Museum

The Cartier House, after 1818 The Cartier House, Notre-Dam street, after 1818
© Cultural Service City of Montréal / Georges Delfosse (1869-1939) / circa 1917

This historic site commemorating Sir George-Étienne Cartier (1814-1873), has been opened to the public since 1985. Cartier's family residences are located at the north-eastern edge of the historic district of Old Montreal. In 1964, as part of a policy to commemorate the Fathers of Confederation, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada declared that the houses on Notre-Dame Street, which had been the residences of Sir George-Étienne Cartier and his family, were of national significance. Parks Canada purchased them in 1973 and established a research program to learn more about the times, life and work of this illustrious figure and the features of his Montreal residences. Inaugurated 23 years ago, SIR-GEORGE-ÉTIENNE-CARTIER NATIONAL HISTORIC SITE OF CANADA houses thematic exhibits on Cartier's career, his role as a Father of Confederation, legislator and business man, and a Victorian interior meticulously recreated in the spirit of the 1860's.

A Museum Tailor-made for Everyone...

Part of the Parks Canada Agency's national network, our site welcomes close to 20 000 visitors each year, about a third of which consist of organized groups (school groups of all levels, tourists, new Canadians learning French or English, seniors and other specific clienteles). Opening hours, on schedules varying by the seasons, are continuous over a nine months period -from April until the end of December- each year. More than ten different guided tours are offered to our very diverse clientele.

Interpretive Activities and Historical Animation
Memorable Visitor Experiences!

Domestic and lady in a Victorian living room Interpretation activity
inside the house

© Parks Canada /
Normand Rajotte

For the past few years, the Cartier House has presented to its visitors in summertime, Fall and also Christmas-time, an innovative approach in historical interpretation: live museum theatre. The reconstitution of Sir George-Étienne Cartier's living quarters consisting of a typical Victorian interior, and the ebullience of his times serve as the ideal back drop for this form of presenting living. Once again this year, nearly 4000 people of all ages will participate in our "etiquette lessons", answer our Wanted adds for "House personnel" and be part of the festive ambience of our Victorian Christmas activities....

Sir George-Étienne Cartier's biography and reason for the designation of his homes as a historic site of national significance (PDF 212Kb)


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-George- Étienne-Cartier

Petite histoire d'un musée d'histoire

La maison Cartier, après 1818 Maison de Sir George-Étienne Cartier, rue Notre-Dame entre Bonsecours et Berri, après 1818
© Service de la Culture Ville de Montréal / Georges Delfosse (1869-1939) / vers 1917

Ce site historique commémorant sir George-Étienne Cartier (1814-1873) est ouvert au public depuis 1985. Les anciennes résidences familiales de Cartier sont situées à la limite nord-est de l'arrondissement historique du Vieux Montréal. C'est en 1964, dans le cadre de la politique visant à commémorer les pères de la Confédération, que la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada déclarait que les maisons où avait résidé sir George-Étienne Cartier et sa famille, rue Notre-Dame, devaient être considérées d'importance historique nationale. Parcs Canada en fit l'acquisition en 1973 et lançait alors un programme de recherche et de travaux visant à mieux connaître l'époque, la vie et l'Oeuvre de l'illustre personnage de même que les caractéristiques de ses résidences montréalaises. Inauguré il y a plus de 15 ans, le lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier abrite une exposition thématique sur la carrière de Cartier, père de la Confédération, législateur et homme d'affaires, et offre un intérieur victorien méticuleusement reconstitué dans l'esprit des années 1860.

Un accueil fait sur mesure

Appartenant au réseau national de l'Agence Parcs Canada, le site accueille annuellement près de 20 000 visiteurs, dont plus du tiers vient en groupes organisés (clientèle scolaire de tous niveaux, clientèle adulte touristique en apprentissage d'une langue seconde, et autres clientèles spécialisées). La période d'ouverture du site au public, sur des horaires variant selon les saisons, s'étale sur 9 mois, soit du début avril à la fin décembre de l'année courante. Près d'une dizaine de programmes de visite différents sont présentés à ces diverses clientèles.

Des activités d'interprétation et d'animations historiques
Des expériences de visites mémorables !

Domestique et bourgeoise dans un salon victorien Animation à l'intérieur
de la maison

© Parcs Canada /
Normand Rajotte

Depuis quelques années, la Maison Cartier propose à ses visiteurs pendant la saison estivale, à l'automne et aussi à la période du temps des Fêtes, une nouvelle approche en interprétation historique. La reconstitution du milieu de vie de sir George-Étienne Cartier, intérieur victorien typique, et l'effervescence de son époque se prêtaient bien, comme décor et toile de fond, à cette forme de présentation qui connaît un grand succès. Cette année encore, près de 4000 personnes de tous âges participeront à nos « leçons d'étiquette », nos avis de recherche en « personnel domestique » ou encore aux réjouissances de nos Noëls victoriens....

Résumé biographique de sir George-Étienne Cartier et raison de l'importance historique nationale du lieu (PDF 212Kb)


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).