Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site of Canada

Who Was Mrs. Cartier?

Black and white picture of Hortense Fabre Hortense Fabre, wife of George-Étienne Cartier
© Archives photographiques Notman / William Notman / Musée McCord, Montréal, I-10346, 1864

In 1846, George-Étienne Cartier married Hortense Fabre (1828-1898), 15 years his junior. She belonged to one of the most important families in the Francophone bourgeoisie in Montreal. Her father, Édouard-Raymond Fabre, not only owned a bookstore that was the gathering place for the intellectual elite of the day, he was also a printer, importer and retailer. One of Hortense's brothers would become an ultramontane bishop; another, Hector, would become an influential journalist.

Thanks to her upper-middle-class background, Hortense Fabre received a "good education". She studied with the Ursulines and then received special instruction in languages, dance and piano.

The relationship between Cartier and his in-laws would be clouded by political differences. For example, during the elections for the mayor of Montreal in 1854, Cartier supported Wilfred Nelson who ran against Édouard-Raymond Fabre, his father-in-law.

From his union with Hortense Fabre, George-Étienne Cartier had three children, all girls: Joséphine (1847), Hortense (1849) and Reine-Victoria (1853). The latter died at the age of thirteen months during the cholera epidemic of 1854, which also carried off Cartier's father-in-law. His two surviving daughters never married and had no children. Joséphine died in1886 and Hortense in 1941. Sir George therefore has no direct descendants.

Lieu historique national du Canada de Sir-George- Étienne-Cartier

Qui était Madame Cartier ?

Photo noir et blanc de Hortense Fabre Hortense Fabre, épouse de George-Étienne Cartier
© Archives photographiques Notman / William Notman / Musée McCord, Montréal, I-10346, 1864

En 1846, George-Étienne Cartier épouse Hortense Fabre (1828-1898), de 15 ans sa cadette. Celle-ci est issue d'une des plus importantes familles de la bourgeoisie francophone de Montréal. Son père, Édouard-Raymond Fabre, ne fait pas que tenir une librairie qui est le rendez-vous de l'élite intellectuelle du temps, il est aussi imprimeur, importateur et détaillant. L'un des frères d'Hortense deviendra un évêque ultramontain; un autre, Hector, sera un influent journaliste.

Grâce à ses origines bourgeoises, Hortense Fabre, a reçu une « bonne éducation ». Elle a étudié chez les Ursulines puis elle a reçu des leçons particulières de langues, de danse et de piano.

Les relations entre Cartier et sa belle-famille seront assombries par des divergences politiques. Par exemple, lors des élections à la mairie de Montréal de 1854, Cartier appuie Wolfred Nelson contre Édouard-Raymond Fabre, son beau-père.

De son union avec Hortense Fabre, George-Étienne Cartier a eu trois enfants, toutes des filles : Joséphine (1847), Hortense (1849) et Reine-Victoria (1853). Cette dernière est morte à l'âge de treize mois, lors de l'épidémie de choléra de 1854, qui emporta aussi le beau-père de Cartier. Quant aux survivantes, elles resteront célibataires toute leur vie et n'auront pas d'enfant. Joséphine est morte en 1886 et Hortense en 1941. Sir George n'a donc aucun descendant direct.