Common menu bar links

Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site

Learning Experiences

Interpretation Programs

Kids pay attention to the explanations of the guide
Kids pay attention to the explanations of the guide
© Parks Canada

Interpretation programs adapted to preschoolers and the three primary cycles are delivered at the National Historic Site. Activities corresponding to the new level of skills established by the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec are especially designed for this clientele.

Please note that the Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site is now part of the “La culture à l’école” program and is listed in the Répertoire de ressources culture-éducation (culture and education resource directory), which can help you plan your school outings.

Cost of the visit
Starting at $2 per student, taxes included
Free for chaperones
Rates available for one-day packages


An Eyeful of Memories

The interpreter-guide present the musical instruments
The interpreter-guide present the musical instruments
© Parks Canada

This program is intended for the young children. It offers a pleasurable introduction to the concept of memory and its preservation. The museum's mission is also presented in an educational context, in which the children create while having fun.

The Pacane's memories: By watching the video of Pacane the beaver, the children are introduced to the concept of memory and the museum's mission. Where do the old objects go? How are they preserved?

Preserved souvenirs: The objects shown by Pacane the beaver are preserved and are part of the exhibition in the museum's hall. Through a treasure hunt rally, the children learn with previously lost objects and discover their purpose.

A souvenir of peace: The students produce a collective mural intended to leave a message of universal peace. The work, in which they all participate, will then be photographed and in turn will become a souvenir of the children's visit to the site.

If the River Could Talk...

Bugle at the scale model
Bugle at the scale model
© Parks Canada

For children who are beginning their primary education, this program emphasizes the materials of history. How did people come to learn of the events of Charles-Michel de Salaberry's victory of October 26, 1813? The students discover different traces and clues that give them a better understanding of an event that happened nearly two hundred years ago.

The battlefield: Thanks to an interactive scale model, children see the most significant trace of the Battle of the Châteauguay, its battlefield. They establish links between the components of the scale model, representing the site in 1813, and the components of the current outdoor landscape. They are told the highlights of the Battle of the Châteauguay. The children also remember that the Châteauguay River was at the heart of the battle on October 26, 1813.

The combatants: From the presentation of the militia camp (lodging, uniforms, food) and various archival documents (letters, enlistment contract, etc.), the children discover the militiaman's material universe and living conditions. They also participate in a simulated enlistment in the Canadian Voltigeurs.

Artifacts: In the museum hall, the young people are in contact with many objects that recall the era of the War of 1812 and the Battle of the Châteauguay. Through a rally treasure hunt, the students become familiar with the objectives of yesteryear and are invited to compare them with objects used today.

A Shako for Everyone

A Shako for Everyone
A Shako for Everyone
© Parks Canada

This program is dedicated to students who soon will be completing their primary education. In the army, cooperation, communication and know-how are the factors for success in conflict. This educational program proposesa reflection on the ability of humans to find solutions to the problems confronting them.

Strategy: In the first part, the young visitors become familiar with the main developments of the Battle of the Châteauguay through the presentation of the interactive scale model, located at the Interpretation Centre lookout. They discover the troops involved in the armed conflict and the strategies deployed by both sides.

Communications: This activity shows the disproportion of the opposing forces in the Battle of the Châteauguay and the importance of effective communication as a battle unfolds. The young visitors discover the principal means of communication on a battlefield and simulate the transmission of codes, such as those dictated in 1813.

Commemoration: This last activity invites the pupils to consider their opinion regarding the Battle of the Châteauguay. Through a debate, they develop answers regarding the importance of commemorating the Battle of the Châteauguay.

Lieu historique national
de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay

Activités éducatives

Programmes d'interprétation

Récit de la Bataille
Enfants attentifs aux explications du guide
© Parcs Canada

Les programmes d'interprétation, adaptés au préscolaire et aux trois cycles du primaire sont donnés dans un lieu d'importance historique national. Des activités correspondant aux nouvelles compétences établies par le ministère de l'Éducation du Québec sont spécialement conçues pour cette clientèle.

Notez que le lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay fait partie du programme « La culture à l’école » et qu’il est inscrit au Répertoire de ressources culture-éducation, ce qui peut vous aider à planifier vos sorties scolaires.

Coûts de la visite
À partir de 2 $ par élève, taxes incluses
Gratuité pour les accompagnateurs
Tarifs disponibles pour forfaits d'une journée


Des souvenirs plein les yeux

La musique militaire Le guide-interprète présente les instruments de musique
© Parcs Canada / Caroline Derome / 2004

Ce programme s'adresse aux plus jeunes élèves. Il propose une agréable initiation au concept de souvenir et à celui de sa conservation. La mission du musée est aussi présentée dans un contexte instructif où les enfants créent tout en s'amusant.

Les souvenirs de Pacane : En visionnant le vidéo de Pacane le castor, les enfants s'initient au concept du souvenir et de la mission du musée. Où vont les objets anciens, comment sont-ils conservés?

Des souvenirs en conserve : Les objets montrés par Pacane le castor sont conservés et font partie de l'exposition de la salle du musée. À travers un rallye, de type course aux trésors, les jeunes font connaissance avec des objets autrefois perdus et découvrent à quoi ils servent.

Un souvenir de paix : Les élèves réalisent une murale collective destinée à laisser un message de paix universelle. L'œuvre, à laquelle ils participent tous sera ensuite photographiée et deviendra à son tour un souvenir de la visite des enfants au site.

Si la rivière pouvait parler...

Coup de clairon à la maquette
Coup de clairon à la maquette
© Parcs Canada

Pour les enfants qui commencent leur enseignement primaire, ce programme met l'accent sur les matériaux de l'histoire. Comment en est-on venu à connaître les péripéties de la victoire de Charles-Michel de Salaberry du 26 octobre 1813? Les élèves découvrent différentes traces et différents indices qui leur permettent de mieux comprendre un événement qui s'est déroulé il y a presque deux cents ans.

Le champ de bataille : Grâce à une maquette interactive, les enfants voient la trace la plus significative de la bataille de la Châteauguay, son champ de bataille. Ils établissent des liens entre les composantes de la maquette, représentant les lieux en 1813, et celles du paysage extérieur actuel. Les principaux éléments de la bataille de la Châteauguay leur sont racontés. Les enfants retiennent également que la rivière Châteauguay a été au cœur de la bataille du 26 octobre 1813.

Les combattants : Par la présentation du camp du milicien (logement, uniformes, alimentation) et différents documents d'archives (lettres, contrat d'enrôlement, etc.), les enfants découvrent l'univers matériel et les conditions de vie du milicien. Ils participent aussi à une séance d'enrôlement dans les Voltigeurs canadiens.

Les artéfacts : Dans la salle du musée, les jeunes sont en contact avec de nombreux objets rappelant l'époque de la guerre de 1812 et de la bataille de la Châteauguay. À l'aide d'un rallye, les élèves se familiarisent avec les objets d'antan et sont invités à les comparer avec ceux d'aujourd'hui.

Chacun son shako

Chacun son shako
Chacun son shako
© Parcs Canada

Ce programme est dédié aux élèves qui terminent bientôt leur enseignement primaire. Dans l'armée, la cohésion, la communication et le savoir-faire constituent des facteurs de succès lors d'un conflit. Ce programme éducatif propose une réflexion sur la capacité des groupes humains à trouver des solutions aux problèmes qui les confrontent.

La stratégie : Dans cette première partie, l'élève se familiarise avec les principales séquences de la bataille de la Châteauguay par la présentation de la maquette interactive, située au belvédère du centre d'interprétation. Il découvre les troupes impliquées dans ce conflit armé et les principales stratégies déployées par les deux camps.

La communication : Cette activité montre la disproportion des effectifs lors de la bataille de la Châteauguay et l'importance de communications efficaces dans le déroulement d'une bataille. Les jeunes découvrent les principaux moyens de communication sur un champ de bataille et simulent la transmission de codes comme ceux dictés en 1813.

La commémoration : Cette dernière activité invite les élèves à se pencher sur leur opinion par rapport à la bataille de la Châteauguay. Avec un débat, ils développent des éléments de réponses relatifs à l'importance de commémorer la bataille de la Châteauguay.