Chambly Canal National Historic Site

2011 Flood: Information Bulletins

Navigation Season Extended

Passage of a Boat Through a Lock
Passage of a Boat Through
a Lock

© Parks Canada
Parks Canada’s historic canals
in Montérégie

Chambly (Quebec), October 3, 2011 - Floods caused by tropical storm Irene closed the Erie Canal on August 27 and 28, trapping some 250 boats in the New York State Canal System.

At the request of the New York State Canal Corporation and the New York State Governor’s Office, Parks Canada agreed to keep the canals at the Chambly and Saint-Ours historic sites operational until October 31 thus providing an alternate navigation route via the St. Lawrence and Richelieu rivers.

The historic canals normally close the Tuesday after Canadian Thanksgiving. Exceptionally this year, Parks Canada will operate the locks from October 10 to 31, by reservation only. Pleasure boaters may reserve at the Saint-Ours Lock or by calling 450-447-4804.


Full Reopening of the Multipurpose Path

Cyclists at the Chambly Canal
Cyclists at the Chambly Canal
© Parks Canada

Chambly, Quebec, July 20, 2011 - Parks Canada has completed the inspections and the reopening of the multipurpose path at the Chambly Canal. Parks Canada, celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding as the world’s first national parks service, is pleased to announce the full reopening of the Chambly Canal National Historic Site multipurpose path, between Chambly and Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, as of
July 12, 2011

Parks Canada invites all outdoor types to take advantage of the path and meet the Friends of the Chambly Canal, who once again this year will be offering historically-themed events, recreational sightseeing, and arts and culture activities for everyone’s enjoyment.

More Information


Reopening of the Chambly Canal

Bateau de plaisance au canal de Chambly
Pleasure Boating on
the Chambly Canal

© Parks Canada

CHAMBLY, Quebec, June 21, 2011 – Parks Canada has finished the inspections of the facilities at the Chambly Canal and its reopening is going well. Parks Canada, celebrating the 100th anniversary of its founding as the world’s first national parks service, is pleased to announce the opening of the Chambly Canal National Historic Site, planned for July 1st, 2011.

For more details on when the canal will be open, please consult the 2011 Schedule available at the first lock when entering the canal. Please note that, at all times, you can obtain information by phone at 1-888-773-8888 and on the Internet at www.parkscanada.gc.ca. The Chambly canal’s staff can also be contacted during operating hours in boating season at the following phone number: 450-658-4381.

Due to exceptionally high water levels and flooding, some parts of the multipurpose path around Chambly Canal remain closed. Parks Canada will do everything necessary to ensure the repair and safe operation of the path and will inform the public of its reopening as early as possible, and is requesting the cooperation and support of all users and asks that they comply with temporary signage and exercise patience and caution.

The Chambly Canal National Historic Site is part of Parks Canada’s system of national parks and national historic sites, which offer visitors first class services and exceptional heritage experiences. In 2011, Parks Canada celebrates its centennial as the oldest national parks network in the world. To mark this occasion, Parks Canada invites Canadians to come celebrate at its protected areas across the country.


Partial Reopening of the Multipurpose Path

Cyclists at the Chambly Canal
Cyclists at the Chambly Canal
© Parks Canada

CHAMBLY, Quebec, June 17, 2011 - Parks Canada wishes to inform the public of partial reopening of the Chambly Canal National Historic Site’s multipurpose path, starting on Saturday June 18.

For users from Chambly: the path is open from Lock no1 (Chambly) to Bridge No. 7 (highway 223) for approximately 8 km.

For users from Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu: the path is open from Bridge No. 9 (St-Paul street) to weir No. 4 (Carignan) for approximately 11 km.

From Lock No. 9 (Saint-Jean) to the canal entrance (Place du quai), the path remains closed for approximately 500 m.

Parks Canada will do everything necessary to ensure the repair and safe operation of all the facilities at this historic canal and will inform the public of their reopening as early as possible. Parks Canada is requesting the cooperation and support of all users and asks that they comply with temporary signage and exercise patience and caution.


Boating Season

CHAMBLY, Quebec, June 14, 2011 – As it celebrates the 100th anniversary of its founding as the world’s first national parks service, Parks Canada is pleased to announce the opening of four historic canals for this year’s boating season. The Lachine, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Carillon canals welcome visiting boaters since Friday, May 20, till Monday, October 10, 2011. The Saint-Ours Canal is open since June 10.

Due to exceptionally high water levels and flooding in the Richelieu Valley, the opening of the Chambly Canal National Historic Site will be delayed this year.

Parks Canada will do everything necessary to ensure the repair and safe operation of the facilities at these historic canals and will inform the public of their reopening as early as possible.

For more details on when the canals will be open, please consult the 2011 Schedule available at the first lock when entering each canal. The canal’s staff can also be contacted during operating hours in boating season at the following phone numbers:

Chambly Canal: Locks No. 1-2-3 (Chambly):
450 658-4381
Saint-Ours Canal: 450 785-2212
Lachine Canal: 514 595-6594
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal: 514 457-5546
Carillon Canal: 450 537-3534

Please note that, at all times, you can obtain information by phone at 1-888-773-8888 and on the Internet at www.parkscanada.gc.ca.

The National Historic Canals, which offer outstanding services and an exceptional heritage experience to its 1,206,000 boaters and visitors are part of the Parks Canada network of national historic sites and national parks.


Closure

CHAMBLY, Quebec, May 5, 2011 - Parks Canada wishes to inform the public that the following measures have been taken due to exceptionally high water levels and flooding:

  • The Fort Chambly National Historic Site is closed starting May 4 to May 11: Parks Canada asks visitors to refrain from entering the park around Fort-Chambly.

  • Access to the Fort-Lennox National Historic Site from highway 223 is closed.

  • A portion of the multipurpose path at the Chambly Canal National Historic Site is closed: access points located between Bridge No. 7 and Lock No. 9 in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu have been closed for safety reasons. The path is open, however, for approximately 10 km from Bridge No. 7 to Chambly. Alternate bike and pedestrian circuits can be accessed via municipal paths.

Parks Canada is requesting the cooperation and support of all users and asks that they comply with temporary signage and exercise patience and caution.

Parks Canada will inform the population of the reopening of the installations as soon as possible.


Closure of Part of the Multipurpose Path

CHAMBLY, Quebec, May 3, 2011 – Parks Canada wishes to inform the public that due to the exceptionally high water levels and risk of flooding, the multipurpose path along the Chambly Canal between the Bridge No. 7 and Lock No. 9 in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu has been closed for safety reasons. The path is open, however, for approximately 10 km from Bridge No. 7 to Chambly.

Parks Canada has mobilized its engineering and intervention team and is working with municipal authorities to monitor water levels and facilities 24 hours a day.

Alternate bike and pedestrian circuits can be accessed via municipal paths. Parks Canada is requesting the cooperation and support of all users and asks that they comply with temporary signage and exercise patience and caution.

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly

Inondations 2011 : bulletins d’information

Prolongation de la saison de navigation

Passage d'un bateau à travers une écluse
Passage d'un bateau à travers une écluse
© Parcs Canada
Canaux historiques de Parcs Canada
en Montérégie

Les 27 et 28 août dernier, les inondations occasionnées par la tempête Irène ont causé la fermeture du canal Érié, coinçant environ 250 bateaux dans le système des canaux de l’état de New York.

À la demande du New York State Canal Corporation (NYSCC) et du bureau du gouverneur de l’état de New York, Parcs Canada a accepté de maintenir les canaux des lieux historiques de Chambly et de Saint-Ours opérationnels jusqu’au 31 octobre afin d’offrir une voie alternative de navigation par le fleuve Saint-Laurent et la rivière Richelieu.

La fermeture habituelle des canaux historiques est le mardi suivant l’Action de grâce. Exceptionnellement cette année, Parcs Canada offrira du 10 au 31 octobre le service d’éclusage sur réservation seulement. Les plaisanciers pourront réserver à partir de l’écluse de Saint-Ours ou en téléphonant au 450-447-4804.


Réouverture complète de la piste polyvalente

Cyclistes au canal de Chambly
Cyclistes au canal de Chambly
© Parcs Canada

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 20 juillet 2011 - Parcs Canada a terminé les inspections ainsi que la remise en état du circuit cyclable et piétonnier longeant le canal historique de Chambly. Parcs Canada peut maintenant annoncer, en cette année du centenaire de la fondation du premier service de parcs nationaux au monde, que l’ouverture complète de la piste polyvalente entre Chambly et Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly aura lieu le 12 juillet 2011.

Parcs Canada invite les amateurs de plein air à venir profiter de la piste et à y rencontrer les Amis du canal de Chambly qui, encore une fois cette année, proposent des activités à caractère historique, récréotouristique et socioculturel pour le plaisir de tous.

Pour plus d'information


Réouverture des écluses au Canal-de-Chambly

Bateau de plaisance au canal de Chambly
Navigation de plaisance
au Canal-de-Chambly

© Parcs Canada

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 21 juin 2011 – Parcs Canada a terminé les inspections des infrastructures du canal de Chambly et la remise en état du canal historique va bon train. Parcs Canada peut maintenant annoncer, en cette année du centenaire de la fondation du premier service de parcs nationaux au monde, que l’ouverture de la saison de navigation au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly aura lieu le 1er juillet 2011.

Pour plus de détails à propos de la période de services, Parcs Canada invite les personnes intéressées à se procurer un exemplaire de l’Horaire 2011 disponible à l’écluse d’entrée du canal historique. Il est également possible de communiquer au 1-888-773-8888 ou de consulter le site Internet www.parcscanada.gc.ca. Le personnel du canal de Chambly est disponible, pendant la saison de navigation et durant les heures d’ouverture, au numéro suivant : 450-658-4381.

Veuillez noter qu’à la suite des récentes inondations, certaines portions de la piste polyvalente limitrophes au canal de Chambly demeurent fermées. Parcs Canada met tout en œuvre pour assurer la remise en état et l’ouverture complète de la piste le plus rapidement possible et demande la collaboration et l’appui de tous les usagers afin que ceux-ci fassent preuve d’indulgence et de prudence, et respectent la signalisation temporaire.

Le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly fait partie du réseau des lieux historiques et des parcs nationaux de Parcs Canada, qui célèbre cette année son centenaire. Le plus ancien service de parcs nationaux au monde offre donc depuis 1911 des services d'accueil de premier ordre et des expériences patrimoniales exceptionnelles à la population canadienne.


Réouverture partielle de la piste polyvalente

Cyclistes au canal de Chambly
Cyclistes au canal de Chambly
© Parcs Canada

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 17 juin 2011 - Parcs Canada souhaite informer la population de la réouverture de certaines portions de la piste polyvalente au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly dès
le samedi 18 juin.

Pour les usagers en provenance de Chambly, la piste est ouverte de l’écluse no 1 (Chambly) au pont no 7
(route 223) sur environ 8 km.

Pour les usagers en provenance de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, la piste est ouverte de l’écluse no 9
(rue Saint-Paul) au déversoir no 4 (Carignan) sur
environ 11 km.

De l’écluse no 9 (Saint-Jean) à l’entrée du canal
(place du quai), la piste sera fermée sur environ 500 mètres.

Parcs Canada met tout en œuvre afin de rouvrir la totalité de la piste dans les plus brefs délais. D’ici là, Parcs Canada demande la collaboration et l’appui de tous les usagers afin que ceux-ci fassent preuve d’indulgence et de prudence, et respectent la signalisation temporaire.


Saison de navigation

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 14 juin 2011 - Parcs Canada est fière d’annoncer, en cette année du centenaire de la fondation du premier service de parcs nationaux au monde, l’ouverture de la saison de navigation dans quatre canaux historiques de Parcs Canada au Québec. Les lieux historiques nationaux du Canal-de-Lachine, du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et du Canal-de-Carillon accueillent les visiteurs pour la saison de navigation depuis le vendredi 20 mai, et ce jusqu’au lundi 10 octobre 2011. Le Canal-de-Saint-Ours a quant à lui ouvert le 10 juin.

En raison de la crue exceptionnelle et des inondations dans la vallée du Richelieu, l’accès à la navigation au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly sera cette année retardé de quelques semaines.

Parcs Canada met tout en œuvre pour assurer la remise en état et le fonctionnement sécuritaire des installations des canaux historiques, et informera la population de leur réouverture dès que possible.

Pour plus de détails à propos des périodes de services, Parcs Canada invite les personnes intéressées à se procurer un exemplaire de l’Horaire 2011 disponible à l’écluse d’entrée de chacun des canaux historiques. Il est également possible de communiquer au
1-888-773-8888 ou de consulter le site Internet www.parcscanada.gc.ca.

Le personnel des canaux est disponible, pendant la saison de navigation et durant les heures d’ouverture, aux numéros suivants :

Canal-de-Chambly : Écluses 1-2-3 (Chambly)
450 658-4381
Canal-de-Saint-Ours : 450 785-2212
Canal-de-Lachine : 514 595-6594
Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue : 514 457-5546
Canal-de-Carillon : 450 537-3534

Faisant partie du réseau des lieux historiques et des parcs nationaux de Parcs Canada, les canaux historiques nationaux offrent à leurs 1 206 000 plaisanciers et visiteurs des services d’accueil et des expériences récréatives et patrimoniales exceptionnelles.


Fermeture

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 5 mai 2011 - Parcs Canada souhaite informer la population qu’en raison de la crue exceptionnelle de la rivière Richelieu et des inondations, les mesures suivantes ont été mises en place :

  • Fermeture complète du lieu historique national du Fort-Chambly du 4 au 11 mai : Parcs Canada demande aux visiteurs de ne pas s’aventurer dans le parc du Fort-Chambly.

  • Fermeture de l’accès au lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox, à partir de la route 223.

  • Fermeture d’une portion de la piste polyvalente au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly : les accès situés entre le pont no 7 et l’écluse no 9, à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, ont été fermés par mesure de sécurité. Toutefois, la piste demeure ouverte sur environ 10 km, entre le pont no 7 et Chambly. Des circuits cyclables et piétonniers alternatifs peuvent être empruntés via les pistes municipales.

Parcs Canada demande la collaboration et l’appui de tous les usagers afin que ceux-ci fassent preuve d’indulgence et de prudence, et respectent la signalisation temporaire.

Parcs Canada informera la population de la réouverture des installations dès que possible.


Fermeture d'une portion de la piste polyvalente

CHAMBLY (Québec), le 3 mai 2011 – Parcs Canada souhaite informer la population qu’en raison de la crue exceptionnelle et du risque d’inondation, les accès à la piste polyvalente longeant le canal de Chambly situés entre le pont no 7 et l’écluse no 9, à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, ont été fermés par mesure de sécurité. La piste est complètement ouverte sur une dizaine de kilomètres, du pont no 7 à Chambly.

Parcs Canada a mobilisé son équipe d’ingénierie et d’intervention et travaille de concert avec les autorités municipales pour assurer la surveillance des niveaux d’eau et des installations. Cette surveillance s’effectue 24 heures par jour.

Des circuits cyclables et piétonniers alternatifs peuvent être empruntés via les pistes municipales. Parcs Canada demande la collaboration et l’appui de tous les usagers afin que ceux-ci fassent preuve d’indulgence et de prudence, et respectent la signalisation temporaire.