Chambly Canal National Historic Site of Canada

With Pick and Shovel

In 1829, the government of Lower Canada appointed commissioners to supervise the building of the canal. The commissioners were all businessmen from the Richelieu region. On September 5, 1831, the commissioners granted the construction contract to a group of American and Canadian businessmen, among them the Andres brothers from Chambly.

Image of ten workmen with horses and carts, in the process of widening the Lachine Canal. Canal excavations at Montreal.
© National Archives of Canada / C-061471

Building of the canal began at once but had to be stopped in 1834 because of financial difficulties. Work resumed in 1841 with new contractors, to be completed in 1843. An estimated 500 to 1 000 men worked on the building of the canal during these years of arduous toil.

Steam engines were not the source of energy used for the construction: the canal was built entirely by hand. First came diggers, who excavated the ground using picks, shovels and wheelbarrows. Then came specialized workmen like masons, blacksmiths, and carpenters. Last but not least, there were men who attended to the horses.

Young workman rebuilding a dock of the Chambly Canal in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (detail). Young workman rebuilding a dock of the Chambly Canal in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, in 1931 (detail).
© National Archives of Canada / PA-085845

In one day, four diggers could dig an average of 3 to 4 cu. yd. (2.3 to 3 m3) of stone or 6 to 7 cu. yd. (4.6 to 5.35 m3) of clay. How exhausting! The newspaper La Minerve of June 8, 1843, reported: "Horses were collapsing under the task, which must therefore be regarded as beyond human endurance".

Gunpowder was also used to dynamite rock. It took two days to drill a hole that was then filled with this explosive. The dynamited earth and rock were then hauled away in horse-drawn carts.

The living conditions for the workmen, most of them immigrants, were harsh. In the early days of the building work, they toiled 12 hours a day, from 5 in the morning until 7 at night, with an hour for lunch and an hour for supper. In 1840, their workday was shortened to 10 hours, from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Workers lived in huts 12 ft. per 12 ft. (14 m2). These huts provided by the contractors, crammed in 12 people to a hut. In addition to paying rent to the contractors, the workers were paid with coupons that generally could be redeemed only at stores owned by the contractors. This system resulted in many disputes. Workers complained about the exorbitant prices charged for supplies and other items. Confrontations occurred.

Despite all the problems, on June 9, 1843, the very first boat to use the canal, the steamer "Quebec" with its cargo of lard, left Saint-Jean bound for the capital.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal de Chambly

Au pic et à la pelle

En 1829, le gouvernement du Bas-Canada confie le projet de construction du canal à des commissaires superviseurs, tous des gens d'affaires de la région du Richelieu. Le 5 septembre 1831, les commissaires du canal accordent le contrat de construction à un groupe d'hommes d'affaires formé d'Américains et de Canadiens, dont les frères Andres de Chambly.

Estampe : une dizaine de travailleurs avec des chevaux et des charettes, procédant à l'élargissement du canal de Lachine. Travaux d'excavation du canal de Lachine à Montréal.
© Archives nationales du Canada / C-061471

La construction du canal débute aussitôt. Mais en 1834, les travaux sont interrompus en raison de problèmes financiers. En 1841, les travaux reprennent pour se terminer en 1843. Pendant ces années de durs labeurs, on estime qu'entre 500 et 1 000 hommes ont travaillé à la construction du canal.

Pendant toute la durée des travaux, les machines à vapeur sont absentes du chantier. La construction du canal est l'œuvre de travailleurs manuels. Il y a d'abord les terrassiers, ceux qui creusent la terre, dont les outils sont le pic, la pelle et la brouette. Aux terrassiers s'ajoutent les artisans spécialisés comme les maçons, les forgerons et les charpentiers. Enfin, il y a les hommes de chevaux.

Jeune ouvrier travaillant à la réfection d'un quai du canal de Chambly à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (détail). Jeune ouvrier travaillant à la réfection d'un quai à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, en 1931 (détail).
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA-085845

En une journée, quatre terrassiers peuvent excaver en moyenne de 3 à 4 verges cubes de pierre (2,30 à 3 mètres cubes) ou de 6 à 7 verges de glaise (4,60 à 5,35 mètres cubes). C'est un travail exténuant! Ainsi, le journal La Minerve du 8 juin 1843 rapporte : « Les chevaux succombaient à cette tâche qui, par conséquent, devait être au-dessus des forces humaines ».

La poudre noire est également très utilisée pour faire sauter le roc. Il faut deux jours pour forer un trou que l'on emplit ensuite de cet explosif. La terre et la pierre sont ensuite évacuées avec des charrettes tirées par des chevaux.

Les conditions de vie des ouvriers, majoritairement immigrants, sont plutôt difficiles. Au début de la construction du canal, ils travaillent 12 heures par jour, de 5 heures à 19 heures. Une heure est allouée pour le déjeuner, une autre pour le dîner. À partir de 1840 toutefois, les ouvriers travaillent 10 heures par jour, de 6 heures à 18 heures.

Les ouvriers logent dans des baraques de 12 pieds sur 12 pieds (14 mètres carrés), fournies par les entrepreneurs. Ils s'y entassent à 12 par baraque. En plus de défrayer un loyer aux entrepreneurs, les ouvriers sont payés avec des bons encaissables essentiellement dans les magasins dont les entrepreneurs sont propriétaires. Ce système provoque de nombreux différends. Les ouvriers se plaignent des prix trop élevés exigés pour les produits et articles. Des affrontements ont lieu.

Malgré tout, le 9 juin 1843, un premier bateau emprunte le canal : le steamer « Québec », transportant une cargaison de lard, quitte Saint-Jean et fait route vers la capitale.