Chambly Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Waterway History

The history of the Richelieu Valley clearly illustrates the importance of the river as a means of communication and commercial trading. Navigable along most of its length, the river had long been a main route for Amerindian bands living by hunting, fishing and food-gathering.

The strategic importance of this waterway for possible invasions and as a route into the interior was apparent from the earliest beginnings of French settlement. To ensure control of this territory and the river, the French built a series of fortifications along the Richelieu. Chambly Fort and the Saint-Jean Fort are important relics from this era.

Lithography of Bartlett. Twelve Canadian voyageurs pushing a canoe up a rapid. Canadian Voyageurs walking a canoe up a rapid.
© National Archives of Canada / Bartlett / C-008373

To overcome the rapids at Saint-Jean and Chambly, which could only be crossed with laborious portaging, people started to envision a maritime link bypassing these obstacles.

They would have to wait until the 19th century for the building of a navigable waterway to be authorized, linking Lake Champlain and the Chambly basin. Although the government of Lower Canada gave permission for the building of this waterway in 1818, various problems arose and work did not begin until 1831. It was completed in 1843 when the full length of the Chambly Canal was opened.

Seventeen workmen rebuilding a dock in the Chambly Canal in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Workmen rebuilding a dock in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu in 1931.
© National Archives of Canada / PA-085845

The canal played an increasingly important commercial role until the early 20th century. During this period, Canadian-American trade on the Richelieu was at its peak. The First World War and the economic crisis of 1929 marked the beginning of the decline of commercial navigation on the Chambly Canal. Commercial navigation ceased almost completely in the 1970s and was gradually replaced by pleasure boating. Barges made way for yachts, sailboats and pontoons.

At the same time, the canal was developed for recreational use and its banks were landscaped. Visitors now have access to the locks, bridges and lockmasters' houses, which have retained their authentic feel and help make the Chambly Canal an outstanding historic site.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal de Chambly

Une histoire de cours d'eau

L'histoire de la vallée du Richelieu illustre bien l'importance de la rivière comme axe de communication et d'échange commercial. Navigable sur presque toute sa longueur, la rivière est depuis longtemps la principale voie de passage pour les bandes amérindiennes vivant de chasse, de pêche et de cueillette.

L'importance stratégique de ce cours d'eau comme voie de pénétration et route d'invasion semble évidente dès le début de la colonie française. Pour contrôler le territoire et cette rivière, les Français construisent une série de fortifications le long du Richelieu. Le fort Chambly et le fort Saint-Jean en sont aujourd'hui des témoins importants.

Lithographie de Bartlett. Douze Voyageurs canadiens poussant un canot dans un rapide. Voyageurs canadiens poussant un canot dans un rapide.
© Archives nationales du Canada / Bartlett / C-008373

Par ailleurs, afin de vaincre les rapides de Saint-Jean et à Chambly qui imposent de laborieux portages, on se met graduellement à rêver à une liaison maritime permettant de contourner ces obstacles naturels.

Mais il faut attendre le XIXe siècle pour que la construction d'une voie navigable reliant le lac Champlain au bassin de Chambly soit autorisée. Bien que le gouvernement du Bas-Canada permette la construction de cette voie dès 1818, des difficultés surgissent et ce n'est qu'en 1831 que débutent les premiers travaux. Ceux-ci se terminent en 1843 par l'ouverture du canal de Chambly sur tout son parcours.

Dix-sept ouvriers travaillant à la réfection d'un quai du canal de Chambly à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Ouvriers travaillant à la réfection d'un quai à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, en 1931.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA-085845

Le canal joue un rôle commercial sans cesse croissant jusqu'au début du XXe siècle, époque ou le commerce canado-américain sur le Richelieu connaît son apogée. La Première Guerre mondiale et la crise économique de 1929 marque le début du déclin de la navigation commerciale sur le canal de Chambly. Celle-ci cesse presque complètement à l'aube des années soixante-dix et est graduellement remplacée par la navigation de plaisance. Les barges font place aux yachts, voiliers et pontons.

Parallèlement, le canal bénéficie d'aménagements récréatifs faisant de ses berges des lieux privilégiés de détente. Ces aménagements permettent aussi aux visiteurs d'avoir accès aux écluses, ponts et logettes qui ont conservé leur caractère ancien et qui font du canal de Chambly un ensemble historique remarquable.