Chambly Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Geomorphology

The geomorphology of this site was greatly modified by the various ice ages that affected Canada many thousands of years ago. At that time, the St. Lawrence Lowlands were covered in a thick layer of ice. As the ice receded, the sagging of the platform rocks allowed the sea to overrun the region. During this period, the Atlantic extended an arm as far as the St. Lawrence Lowlands. Geologists call this the "Champlain Sea Episode". The maximum depth of this sea was 185 to 215 m, roughly the height of the peak of Mount Saint-Bruno. We can thus be sure that the whole area was under water during this period. In the depths of this sea, fine particles of clay clotted and precipitated, covering the till left by previous ice ages and the underlying rock.

Generally speaking, the area around the Chambly Canal is covered with fluvial deposits consisting of clay materials reworked on the marine clay dating from the post-Champlain period. At that time, isostatic rebound caused the marine sea to recede, to be replaced by estuarial and fluvial conditions. These clays are described as reworked because they originated in the Champlain Sea, were resuspended, then redeposited.

The regions relief is very flat because it originates from a fluvial valley. The only major relief comes from intrusions of igneous rock forming the Monteregian Hills. Between the mouth of the Chambly Canal at Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and the Chambly basin, there is only a 25-m drop.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal de Chambly

La géomorphologie

La géomorphologie du site fut fortement modifiée par les diverses glaciations qui affectèrent le Canada il y a quelques milliers d'années. À cette époque, les basses terres du Saint-Laurent ont été recouvertes d'une épaisse couche de glace. Avec le recul des glaciers, l'affaissement du socle rocheux amena la mer à envahir la région. Cette période permit à l'Atlantique d'étendre un de ses bras jusque dans les basses terres du Saint-Laurent marquant ce que l'on appelle « l'épisode de la mer de Champlain ». Le niveau maximal de cette mer se situait entre 185 et 215 m. Ce qui correspond à peu près à l'altitude du sommet du mont Saint-Bruno. Il ne fait donc aucun doute que toute la région fut inondée durant cette période. Dans les profondeurs de cette mer, les particules fines d'argiles floculaient et se précipitaient, recouvrant le till laissé par les passages précédents des glaciers, et le roc sous-jacent.

D'une façon générale, les environs du canal de Chambly seraient recouverts de dépôts fluviatiles formés de matériaux argileux remaniés sur l'argile marine datant de la période post-Champlain. À cette époque, le relèvement isostasique entraîne une régression de la mer marine, faisant place à des conditions estuariennes et fluviatiles. Ces argiles dites remaniées puisqu'elles tirent leurs origines de la mer de Champlain, sont remises en suspension puis redéposées.

Le relief de la région est très peu accentué puisqu'il origine d'une vallée fluviatile. Le seul relief important dans le paysage provient des intrusions de roches ignées que forment les collines montérégiennes. Entre l'embouchure du canal de Chambly à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu et le bassin de Chambly, la dénivellation n'est que de 25 mètres.