Common menu bar links

Chambly Canal National Historic Site

Learning Experiences

Educational activities
Passage of a boat through a lock
© Parks Canada / Jean Mercier

Running along the west bank of the Richelieu River, the Chambly Canal is nearly 20 kilometers long and links Chambly with Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Nine locks allow boats to bypass the many rapids and negotiate a change in height of nearly 24 meters between the Chambly basin and the Upper Richelieu.

Opened in 1843, this canal soon became a powerful driving force for the economy, allowing uninterrupted navigation between Lake Champlain and the Chambly basin. It was also part of the huge network of waterways in eastern Canada and the eastern United States. Located on the axis of the Richelieu and Hudson Rivers, the Chambly Canal, with the Saint-Ours and Champlain Canals, linked Sorel to New York.

All along the route, which is dotted with many of the original lockmasters' or bridge-operators' houses, you will be fascinated by the manual operation of all these locks, which are authentic replicas, and the bridges, which turn, slide or pivot. Imagine what it was like for our ancestors, whose only means of crossing the rapids was by portage or tow line, using a bark canoe!

Come with your family, your friends or even your school and enjoy a visit at the Chambly Canal National Historic Site of Canada.

Educational Activities

A variety of guided visits

Educational activities
An educative day
© Guides au pays de Chambly/René Fournier

Thanks to a partnership program with the Touristic Guides Au pays de Chambly, The Friends of the Chambly Canal and Parks Canada, you can take advantage of interpretation services that are adapted to your group.

  • Scholar program adapted to the Education Reform;
  • Guided group visits for daycamp children, scouts and daycare services;
  • Guided visits for sociocultural groups and senior citizens groups.

We offer a program that corresponds to your needs. For more information and reservations contact the Touristic Guides Au pays de Chambly at 450-658-4381.

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Chambly

Activités éducatives

Activités éducatives
Passage d'un bateau à travers une écluse
© Parcs Canada / Jean Mercier

Situé sur la rive ouest de la rivière Richelieu, le canal de Chambly s'étire sur près de 20 kilomètres, reliant Chambly et Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Neuf écluses permettent de contourner les nombreux rapides et de franchir une dénivellation de près de vingt-quatre mètres entre le bassin de Chambly et le Haut-Richelieu.

Inauguré en 1843, le canal a tôt fait de devenir un moteur économique puissant, permettant la navigation sans entrave entre le lac Champlain et le bassin de Chambly. Par ailleurs, il fait partie du vaste réseau de voies navigables intérieures de l'est du Canada et des États-unis. Situé dans l'axe des rivières Richelieu et Hudson, le canal de Chambly ainsi que les canaux de Saint-Ours et Champlain permettent de relier Sorel à New York.

Tout au long du parcours ponctué de plusieurs logettes originales (habitation du maître-éclusier ou du pontier), vous serez fascinés par le fonctionnement manuel de toutes ces écluses, authentiques répliques du passé, et par tous ces ponts qui tournent, roulent ou basculent. Que penser de l'époque où nos ancêtres devaient franchir les rapides par portage ou « à la cordelle » en utilisant un canot d'écorce !

Venez faire un tour! Découvrez le canal de Chambly en famille, entre amis ou même avec votre école!

Activités pédagogiques

Un programme de visites variées

Activités éducatives
Une journée éducative
© Guides au pays de Chambly/René Fournier

Grâce à un partenariat entre les guides touristiques Au pays de Chambly, Les Amis du canal de Chambly et Parcs Canada, vous pouvez bénéficier d'un service d'interprétation adapté à la nature de votre groupe.

  • Programme scolaire adapté à la réforme pédagogique;
  • Visite pour groupes de camps de jour, scouts, services de garde;
  • Visites guidées pour groupes socioculturels et groupes d'âge d'or.

Nous vous offrons le programme qui correspond à vos besoins. Téléphonez les responsables des guides touristiques Au pays de Chambly au 450 658-4381 pour des renseignements et réservations.