Lachine Canal National Historic Site

How to Get There

map showing the position of the archipelago of Montreal in the South-West of the province of Québec Map showing the position of the archipelago of Montreal in the South-West of the province of Québec
© Parks Canada

map showing the position on the island of Montréal of the following national historic sites : Lachine Canal, Fur Trade at Lachine, Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Map showing the position on the island of Montréal of the following national historic sites: Lachine Canal, Fur Trade at Lachine, Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier
© Parks Canada

map of the South-West part of the island of Montréal showing the position of the Lachine Canal corridor between Lake St. Louis in Lachine and the Old-Port of Montréal Map of the South-West part of the island of Montréal showing the position of the Lachine Canal corridor between Lake St. Louis in Lachine and the Old-Port of Montréal
© Parks Canada

Location of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site

Public Transit

Subway

graphic rendering of a metro car Square-Victoria for the Old Port Locks Sector, Lionel-Groulx for the Atwater Market Sector, Charlevoix for the Atwater Market Sector and Saint-Gabriel Lock. Cyclists please note that the Charlevoix station is only 100 metres from the canal bikepath. Contact Société de transport de Montréal ( STM ) to find out the times when you may take your bicycle on the metro.

Bus

graphic rendering of a bus The Lachine Sector is on the westbound route of the 195 bus, from the Angrignon metro station (schedule and route). The Peel Basin sector is served by the 61 bus southbound, from metro stations McGill and Square-Victoria (schedule and route). and the 107 bus southbound, from the Peel metro station (schedule and route). The Côte-Saint-Paul Lock Area is served by the 78 bus westbond from Lionel-Groulx metro station, stop at the corner of Saint-Ambroise and Saint-Rémi. The Saint-Gabriel Sector is served by the 57 bus, from metro stations Guy-Concordia or Charlevoix.

Bicycle

graphic rendering of a bicycleConsult the Bicycling and In-line Skating heading in the Activities menu.

Car

graphic rendering of an automobile

Accessible parking lots (some charge fees) are the following:

  • Sector of the Old Port Locks, Alexandra Basin, De la Commune street near Du Port street;
  • Peel Basin Sector, on Mill Street, under the Bonaventure Autoroute;
  • Atwater Market Sector, near the Notre-Dame and Atwater intersection;
  • Côte-Saint-Paul Lock Sector, Centre Gadbois, on Côte-Saint-Paul road;
  • LaSalle Coke Crane Sector, Notre-Dame Street West;
  • Saint-Pierre Sector, Gauron Boulevard south of Notre-Dame;
  • LaSalle Sector, Saint-Patrick Street near Dupras Street;
  • Lachine Lock Sector, Du Canal Road (continuation of Saint-Patrick Street);
  • Old Canal Sector, Saint-Joseph Boulevard and 12th Avenue.

Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine

Comment s'y rendre

carte géographique indiquant la position de l'archipel montréalais dans le sud-ouest province de Québec Carte géographique indiquant la position de l'archipel montréalais dans le sud-ouest province de Québec
© Parcs Canada

carte géographique montrant la position des lieux historiques nationaux du Canal-de-Lachine, du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine et Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier sur l'île de Montréal Carte géographique montrant la position des lieux historiques nationaux du Canal-de-Lachine, du Commerce-de-la-Fourrure-à-Lachine et Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier sur l'île de Montréal
© Parcs Canada

carte géographique du sud-ouest de l'île de Montréal montrant la position du corridor du canal de Lachine entre le Vieux-Port de Montréal et le lac Saint-Louis à Lachine Carte géographique du sud-ouest de l'île de Montréal montrant la position du corridor du canal de Lachine entre le Vieux-Port de Montréal et le lac Saint-Louis à Lachine
© Parcs Canada

Localisation du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine

Transport en commun

Métro

représentation graphique d'un wagon de metro station Square-Victoria pour le secteur des écluses du Vieux-Port, Lionel-Groulx pour le secteur du Marché Atwater, Charlevoix pour les secteurs du Marché Atwater et de l'écluse de Saint-Gabriel. Pour les cyclistes, notez que la station Charlevoix est à seulement 100 mètres de la piste du canal. Contactez la Société de transport de Montréal ( STM ) pour connaître l'horaire de transport des vélos en métro.

Autobus

représentation graphique d'un autobus Le secteur de Lachine est desservi par l'autobus 195 ouest, station de métro Angrignon (horaire et trajet). Le secteur du bassin Peel est desservi par l'autobus 61 sud, stations de métro McGill et Square-Victoria (horaire et trajet) et par l'autobus 107 sud, station de métro Peel (horaire et trajet). Le secteur de l'écluse de Côte-Saint-Paul est desservi par l'autobus 78 ouest, station de métro Lionel-Groulx, descendre à l'angle de Saint-Ambroise et Saint-Rémi. Le secteur de l'écluse de Saint-Gabriel est desservi par l'autobus 57, staions de métro Guy-Concordia ou Charlevoix.

Vélo

représentation graphique d'une bicycletteConsultez la rubrique La bicyclette et le patin à roues alignées dans le menu Activités.

Automobile

représentation graphique d'une automobile Les stationnements accessibles (certains sont tarifés) sont les suivants :

  • Secteur des écluses du Vieux-Port, bassin Alexandra , rue de la Commune près de la rue du Port;
  • Secteur du bassin Peel, sur la rue Mill, sous l'autoroute Bonaventure;
  • Secteur du Marché Atwater, près de l'intersection des rues Notre-Dame et Atwater;
  • Secteur de l'écluse de la Côte-Saint-Paul, Centre Gadbois, sur le chemin de la Côte-Saint-Paul;
  • Secteur de la Grue LaSalle-Coke, rue Notre-Dame Ouest;
  • Secteur de Saint-Pierre, boulevard Gauron au sud de Notre-Dame;
  • Secteur de LaSalle, rue Saint-Patrick près de la rue Dupras;
  • Secteur de l'écluse de Lachine, chemin du Canal (prolongement de la rue Saint-Patrick);
  • Secteur du Vieux-Canal, boulevard Saint-Joseph et 12e avenue.