Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada

The Project Partners

The principal objectives of the revitalization project for the Lachine Canal National Historic Site, as presented at the public consultation held in winter 1996, reflect a remarkably broad consensus in the milieu. Parks Canada and its partners sit at an issue table where the co-ordination of various concrete actions and the future management model for the national historic site are discussed.

Generally speaking, Parks Canada concentrates its efforts on the waterway and the adjacent lands, which are federal government property. Canada Economic Development provides support for the reopening of the canal to pleasure boating. Environment Canada and Public Works and Government Services Canada contribute to environmental programs. The other parties, mainly former municipalities that are now boroughs in the merged City of Montréal, invest in the lands they own alongside the canal. Here is a description of their main activities.

Borough of Lachine

Since the end of the 1930s, the City of Lachine has made considerable improvements to the areas bordering on the canal and to Lake Saint-Louis. This first suburb is characterized by a balance between the recreational, heritage, industrial and residential activities on its territory. The former municipality has contributed over a million dollars to the revitalization project by making improvements to the area around Lock No. 5, where it has notably built a new bridge providing access to the Marina and the Lachine visitor services centre.

Borough of LaSalle

In addition to developing the industrial sector lining the canal's south bank, the Borough of LaSalle is interested primarily in water-based recreational and tourism activities likely to produce spin-offs in terms of residential construction and the establishment of new service businesses. This project could help Dollier-de-Casson Park develop a new vocation.

Borough of Montréal South West

Pedestrians and cyclists strolling by the canal; new condominiums are visible in the background George-Étienne Cartier Square. Site plan proposa
© Ville de Montréal / Service des parcs

Here, the City of Montréal's interventions fit into the wider framework of Grand Montréal Bleu (Blue Greater Montréal). Commercial, industrial and residential developments are just a few of the objectives pursued in the neighbourhoods bordering on the canal. The improvements to Gédéon-de-Catalogne Park at the foot of Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier Square and the alignment of Peel Street towards the mouth of the canal are just the first projects to be completed in a vast public works program affecting five sectors bordering the canal.

Borough of Verdun

Even though the canal does not cross Verdun, the borough seeks to promote, develop and manage the recreational, tourism and heritage activities throughout the entire South-West of the island. The municipality, which actively participates at Pôle des Rapides, sees the reopening of the canal as an overall attraction for the entire region.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine

Les partenaires du projet

Les grands objectifs du projet de revitalisation du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine, tels que présentés lors de la consultation publique tenue à l'hiver 1996, font l'objet d'un remarquable consensus dans le milieu. Parcs Canada et ses partenaires siègent à une table de concertation où sont discutés la coordination des différentes actions sur le terrain et le futur modèle de gestion du lieu historique national.

De manière générale, Parcs Canada concentre ses efforts sur la voie navigable et les terrains adjacents, qui sont la propriété du gouvernement fédéral. La contribution de Développement économique Canada va à la réouverture du canal à la navigation de plaisance. Environnement Canada ainsi que Travaux Publics et Services Gouvernementaux Canada contribuent, quant à eux, à la réalisation des programmes environnementaux. Les autres parties, principalement les anciennes municipalités maintenant devenues des arrondissements de la grande ville de Montréal unifiée, investissent dans les terrains qu'elles possèdent aux abords du canal. Voici en quoi consistent leurs principales actions.

Arrondissement de Lachine

Depuis la fin des années 1930, la ville de Lachine s'est beaucoup souciée de l'aménagement des espaces riverains du canal et du lac Saint-Louis. Cette première banlieue se distingue d'ailleurs par l'équilibre entre les activités récréatives, patrimoniales, industrielles et résidentielles sur son territoire. L'ancienne municipalité a contribué au projet de revitalisation pour plus d'un million de dollars par l'aménagement de l'aire de l'écluse no 5, où elle a notamment construit un nouveau pont donnant accès à la Marina et au Centre de services aux visiteurs de Lachine.

Arrondissement de LaSalle

En plus de développer le secteur industriel qui longe la berge sud du canal, l'arrondissement de LaSalle s'intéresse aux activités récréo-touristiques, particulièrement nautiques, susceptibles d'entraîner des retombées sur le plan de la construction résidentielle et de l'implantation de nouvelles entreprises de services. Le parc Dollier-de-Casson pourrait, avec le projet, trouver une nouvelle vocation.

Arrondissement du Sud-Ouest

des piétons et des cyclistes flânent aux abords du canal; on distingue des condos neufs à l'arrière-planLe square George-Étienne-Cartier. Proposition d'aménagement
© Ville de Montréal / Service des parcs

Ici, les interventions de la ville de Montréal s'inscrivent dans le cadre plus général du Grand Montréal Bleu. Développement commercial, industriel et résidentiel ne sont que quelques-uns des objectifs poursuivis dans les quartiers limitrophes du canal. L'aménagement du parc Gédéon-de-Catalogne au pied du square Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier , le percement de la rue Peel vers le nouveau bassin Peel et la mise en valeur des abords du Marché Atwater ne représentent que les réalisations les plus visibles d'un vaste programme de travaux touchant cinq secteurs riverains.

Arrondissement de Verdun

Même si elle n'est pas traversée par le canal, l'arrondissement de Verdun s'efforce de promouvoir, de développer et de gérer les activités récréo-touristiques et patrimoniales à l'échelle de tout le Sud-Ouest de l'île. La municipalité, qui participe activement au Pôle des Rapides, voit dans la réouverture du canal un attrait global pour l'ensemble de la région.