Common menu bar links

Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada

A Mega Project

Photography of the basin with downtown tower buildings in the backgroundPeel Basin in 2002
© Parks Canada / Kedl Collection, 2002

The Lachine Canal is undergoing a revival. An imposing revitalization project was publicly announced in spring 1997 at a press conference given by the main actors involved. The Government of Canada, the City of Montréal and the City of Lachine have invested 100 million dollars in a variety of revitalization works which will transform the landscape of the Lachine Canal and surrounding area. Phase 1 of the work headed by Parks Canada runs from 1997 to 2004, with the objective of developing the commemorative and recreational potential of the Lachine Canal. The urban planning operations and work undertaken by the Ville de Montréal from 1997 to 2002 concerns the canal approaches and waterside neighbourhoods.

The most spectacular works involve the restoration and the operation of the waterway with the purpose of reopening the canal to small pleasure craft for 2002 and of offering the population a recreational boating area. Less visible, but just as important, are the many research projects and studies in preparation for the canal's historical commemoration which also require a huge amount of work and energy. Finally, complementary actions will improve the multi-purpose path and raise the quality of the visit by adding new services and improving accessibility.

So not only will this historic site conserve its popular multipurpose path, but it will also become a choice destination for history buffs and for adepts at recreational activities both on land and on water. This mega project should also help the South-West of the island of Montréal regain its economic cruising speed. The revitalization of the canal will have a leverage effect by attracting many projects funded by the private sector such as the creation of new businesses and residential development.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine

Un projet d'envergure

Photographie du bassin avec les tours du centre-ville en arrière-planLe bassin Peel en 2002
© Parcs Canada / Collection Kedl, 2002

Le canal de Lachine connaît une phase de renaissance. Un imposant projet de revitalisation a été annoncé publiquement au printemps 1997, lors d'une conférence de presse donnée par les principaux intervenants. Les différents paliers de gouvernement ont consacré près de 100 millions de dollars à la réalisation du projet. Ces fonds publics généreront des investissements privés qui s'élèveront à quelque 250 millions de dollars. Au cours de la période de travaux, 720 emplois-année ont été créés par les seuls investissements du gouvernement fédéral. La phase 1 des travaux chapeautés par Parcs Canada s'échelonne de 1997 à 2004, et vise à mettre en valeur le potentiel commémoratif et récréatif du canal de Lachine. Les opérations urbanistiques et les travaux entrepris par la Ville de Montréal entre 1997 et 2002 concernent les abords et les quartiers limitrophes du canal.

Les travaux les plus spectaculaires concernent la remise en état et l'opération de la voie navigable dans le but de rouvrir le canal à la petite navigation de plaisance pour 2002 et d'offrir à la population un lieu de récréation nautique. Moins visibles, mais tout aussi importants, les multiples recherches et études menant à la commémoration historique du canal requièrent aussi énormément de travail et d'énergie. Enfin, des interventions complémentaires amélioreront la piste polyvalente et bonifieront l'expérience de visite par l'ajout de services et l'amélioration de l'accessibilité.

Ainsi, non seulement ce lieu historique conservera-t-il sa populaire piste polyvalente, mais il deviendra une destination de choix pour les passionnés d'histoire et pour tous les amateurs d'activités récréatives, tant terrestres que nautiques. En plus, ce projet d'envergure devrait aider le Sud-Ouest de l'île de Montréal à reprendre une vitesse de croisière... économique. La revitalisation du canal agira comme un levier en attirant de nombreux projets financés par le secteur privé, comme la création de nouvelles entreprises et le développement résidentiel.