Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada

The Canal in the New Millenium

Imagine it is 2025. On a beautiful sunny day, you decide to go on an outing at the Lachine Canal. The revitalization project is well underway. In fact, the canal is already back in operation. The coming and going of boats and the lockage manoeuvres recreate the lively atmosphere of another era.

You make your first stop at the Old Port, located at the mouth of the canal. A variety of activities are offered; of special interest are the land and river shuttles. The departure point is nearby.

artistic rendering showing the Peel Basin (excavated) and the city in the backgroundClearing the mouth of the canal, detail
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
Artistic rendering showing boats, the canal, the vegetation and the Redpath complexThe Saint-Gabriel lock
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
architectural rendering of Atwater Market and its surroundingsAtwater Market square
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
Architecturel rendering showing the building, the canal and factories on the northern bankCentre d'excellence de Montréal en réhabilitation des sites
© Ville de Montréal

Immediately to the west of the port's locks, you are surprised by the intense activity in the Peel Basin. Located at the foot of the downtown towers, this unusual waterway is becoming an important, regional nautical centre. Marinas, businesses offering services for pleasure boaters, boutiques and restaurants help make this a dynamic and popular sector.

Less than a kilometre away, the atmosphere changes radically: the Saint-Gabriel sector takes you back several decades. The recently restored Lock No. 3, the industrial buildings from the 19th century and the remains of the first canal dating from 1825 attract your attention. And the recently renovated Redpath sugar refinery and Pointe-des-Seigneurs archaeological park are worth a look (and a photo!).

Slightly further west, around the Atwater Market, commercial and service activities dominate. Cyclists and walkers from all over converge on this path crossroads in the South-West. Take advantage of this unique and original spot to recharge your personal batteries while you take a look at the interpretation island evoking the Saint-Henri and Sainte-Cunégonde neighbourhoods.

Le Centre d'excellence de Montréal en réhabilitation des sites ( CEMRS ) is located at the foot of the Sir George-Étienne-Cartier footbridge. It presents an exhibit on the environmentsal history of the Lachine Canal. See how science and the latest technologies allow contaminated sites to be decontaminated and rehabilitated.

The Côte-Saint-Paul Lock marks the eastern end of the huge Basin No. 4 which stretches as far as Lachine, over a distance of nearly eight kilometres. It is an inviting place try going for a boat ride right in the heart of the city. Next to the Gadbois recreational complex, boat-launching facilities are available. Three service areas provide a variety of services along the basin.

The Lachine Lock visitor services centre marks the end of the canal and serves as a terminal for the shuttles. An exhibition there presents the history of the canal and outside is an interpretation trail retracing its vestiges. However, the trip does not necessarily end here, since Lake Saint-Louis and its magnificent shores tempt you to go further. You pause to visit one of the many museums or historic buildings before heading back.

This pleasant outing in the heart of the island of Montréal is not just a figment of your imagination. The work required to make it a reality has been going on for five years, and many interventions describe here have already been accomplished. At the Lachine Canal a mega project is underway that will showcase its history and restore its role as a navigable waterway.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine

Le canal du nouveau millénaire

Imaginez-vous en 2025. Par une belle journée d'été, vous décidez de faire une excursion au canal de Lachine. La revitalisation du canal va bon train. Celui-ci a d'ailleurs déjà repris du service. Le va-et-vient des bateaux et les manoeuvres d'éclusage recréent l'animation d'autrefois.

Vous faites un premier arrêt au Vieux-Port, situé à l'embouchure du canal. On vous propose diverses activités parmi lesquelles les navettes terrestres et fluviales tiennent la vedette. Leur point de départ est tout juste à côté.

rendu d'artiste montrant le basin Peel excavé, et la ville à l'arrière-plan
Le dégagement de l'embouchure du canal, détail
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
Rendu d'artiste montrant des embarcations, le canal, la végétation et le complexe de la Redpath
L'écluse de Saint-Gabriel
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
rendu architectural du marché Atwater et de ses abords
La place du marché Atwater
© Ville de Montréal, Service des parcs
Rendu architectural montrant le bâtiment, le canal et la rive nord
Centre d'excellence de Montréal en réhabilitation des sites
© Ville de Montréal

Immédiatement à l'ouest des écluses du port, vous êtes surpris par l'intense activité qui règne au bassin Peel. Situé au pied des tours du centre-ville, ce surprenant plan d'eau est en voie de devenir un important centre régional d'activités nautiques : marinas, établissements de services pour plaisanciers, boutiques et restaurants contribuent au dynamisme et à la popularité du secteur.

Moins d'un kilomètre plus loin, l'ambiance se transforme radicalement : le secteur Saint-Gabriel vous ramène plusieurs décennies en arrière. L'écluse n° 3, nouvellement restaurée, les bâtiments industriels du XIXe siècle et les vestiges du premier canal de 1825 retiennent votre attention. Le complexe récemment rénové de la raffinerie de sucre Redpath et le parc archéologique de la Pointe-des-Seigneurs valent le coup d'oeil (et une photo!).

Un peu plus à l'ouest, autour du marché Atwater, ce sont les activités commerciales et les services qui dominent. De toutes parts, les cyclistes et les randonneurs convergent vers ce carrefour des pistes du Sud-Ouest. Vous profitez de cet endroit unique et original pour vous restaurer, tout en jetant un coup d'oeil à l'îlot d'interprétation qui évoque les quartiers de Saint-Henri et de Sainte-Cunégonde.

Le Centre d'excellence de Montréal en réhabilitation des cites ( CEMRS ) situé au pied de la passerelle Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier, vous présente l'histoire environnementale du canal de Lachine. Vous découvrez comment la science et les nouvelles technologies permettent de décontaminer et de réhabiliter des sites contaminés.

L'écluse de la Côte-Saint-Paul marque l'extrémité est de l'immense bassin n° 4 qui s'étend jusqu'à Lachine, sur une distance de près de huit kilomètres. L'endroit est invitant : vous vous laissez tenter par une balade sur l'eau, en plein coeur de la cité. À côté du complexe récréatif Gadbois, des installations permettent la mise à l'eau des embarcations. Trois haltes fournissent divers services le long du bassin.

Le centre de service aux visiteurs de l'écluse de Lachine marque la fin du canal et sert de terminus aux navettes. Une exposition y présente l'histoire du canal et, à l'extérieur, un circuit d'interprétation en retrace les vestiges. Toutefois, le voyage ne se termine pas obligatoirement ici, car le lac Saint-Louis et ses magnifiques espaces riverains vous incitent à continuer. Vous prenez le temps de visiter l'un des nombreux musées ou bâtiments historiques avant de prendre le chemin du retour.

Cette agréable excursion au coeur de l'île de Montréal n'a rien d'imaginaire. Les actions menant à sa concrétisation sont en cours depuis cinq ans, et plusieurs interventions décrites ici sont déjà réalisées. En effet, le canal de Lachine est l'objet d'un projet d'envergure qui valorisera son histoire tout en lui redonnant sa vocation de voie navigable.