Common menu bar links

Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada

The Canal in Depth

A Supplier of Hydraulic Power

A New Source of Energy

At the beginning of the 19th century, industrial production occurred on a small scale, relying on manual labour or animal strength. Businesses using hydraulic energy were dependent on their water source, often located in rural areas. Finally, a few rare industries relied on steam engines, a very recent invention.

A new source of energy became available with the first reconstruction of the Lachine Canal from 1843 to 1848. The widening of the canal considerably increased the flow. The water held back upstream from the locks could be canalized and used to turn wheels or water turbines. The energy produced was made available for industries by renting hydraulic lots.

The Saint-Gabriel sector in 1920. The drained canal reveals the factory water intakes. The Saint-Gabriel sector in 1920. The drained canal reveals the factory water intakes.
© National Archives of Canada / PA-119396

These lots neighboured on areas where the canal presents significant relative changes in elevation, namely in the vicinity of the Saint-Gabriel and Côte-Saint-Paul locks. A total of 20 lots with a 24-m façade occupy the entire south side of the basin upstream of the port of Montréal's locks. The relative change in elevation is seven metres. At both the Saint-Gabriel and Côte-Saint-Paul locks, the denivellation reaches about 2.5 m.

Energy: For Whom and For What?

Weir No. 2, seen from the west, August 1st, 1917.Weir No. 2, seen from the west. This weir illustrates the canal's hydraulic power potential
© National Archives of Canada / PA-109981, August 1st, 1917.

The hydraulic lots and the energy produced by the canal were attributed according to various formulas. From 1846 to 1851, the 20 lots in Basin No. 2 were sold by public auction. Flour milling and the iron industry dominated this sector.

At Saint-Gabriel, influential businessmen obtained a monopoly over hydraulic power. A complete network of headrace and tailrace canals was built on both sides of the canal to maximize the use of water power. Traditional businesses related to wood, iron and wheat were preponderant although they stood alongside a few newcomers in the fields of tool manufacturing, and rubber and cotton processing.

Frothingham and Workman in 1880Frothingham and Workman in 1880. Drawing by F. Pellerin, from the insurance plan by C. Goad, 1880
© Parks Canada / F. Pellerin / 86-CAN-D3

Finally, the Côte-Saint-Paul site, located in the open country at that time, was the last to be occupied. In 1853, the government conceded all hydraulic power to William Parkyn, who built a real "industrial park". After sinking his fortune into the project, Parkyn sold his rights to Frothingham and Workman, a large hardware business that set the tone for the activities in this sector- tool making.

A Catalyst for Industrialization

Since its advent in 1846, the canal's hydraulic power was used for dozens of businesses. According to the current state of knowledge, 13 flour mills and grain elevators, 23 nail factories, 14 edge tool industries, and 18 sawmills and wood shops have been inventoried. In 1887, at the height of their activities, these businesses employed at least 2000 workers. They consumed more energy than that produced by the first hydraulic canal built in Niagara Falls in 1895.

Thanks to the Lachine Canal, hydraulic power became available in Montréal around the middle of the 19th century, at a time when industrial production was being established in North America. It is one of the many factors that allowed the metropolis to develop from trading to industrialization, while enabling it to take the lead over other Canadian cities.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine

Le canal en profondeur

Un pourvoyeur d'énergie hydraulique

Une nouvelle source d'énergie

Au début du XIXe siècle, les activités de production industrielle se déroulent à petite échelle, s'appuyant sur le travail manuel ou sur la force animale. Les entreprises qui utilisent l'énergie hydraulique dépendent de leur source d'eau, souvent localisée en milieu rural. Enfin, quelques rares industries fonctionnent grâce à des moteurs à vapeur, invention toute récente.

Une nouvelle source d'énergie devient disponible avec la première reconstruction du canal de Lachine entre 1843 et 1848. L'élargissement augmente considérablement le débit. L'eau retenue en amont des écluses peut être canalisée et servir à actionner des roues ou des turbines hydrauliques. L'énergie ainsi produite est mise à la disposition des industries par l'adjudication de lots hydrauliques.

Le secteur Saint-Gabriel en 1920. Le canal à sec permet de distinguer les prises d'eau des usines.Le secteur Saint-Gabriel en 1920. Le canal à sec permet de distinguer les prises d'eau des usines.
© Archives nationales du Canada / PA-119396

Ces lots avoisinent les endroits où le canal présente des dénivelés importants, soit à proximité des écluses du port, de Saint-Gabriel et de Côte-Saint-Paul. Au total, 20 lots de 24 mètres de façade occupent tout le côté sud du bassin en amont des écluses du port de Montréal. Le dénivelé y est de sept mètres. À l'écluse de Saint-Gabriel, tout comme à celle de Côte-Saint-Paul, la dénivellation atteint environ 2,5 mètres.

L'énergie : pour qui et pour quoi ?

Le déversoir n° 2, vue vers l'ouest, 1er août 1917 Ce déversoir illustre le potentiel hydraulique du canalLe déversoir n° 2, vue vers l'ouest, 1er août 1917 Ce déversoir illustre le potentiel hydraulique du canal
© Archives nationales du Canada, PA-109981

Les lots hydrauliques et l'énergie du canal sont attribués selon différentes formules. Entre 1846 et 1851, les 20 lots du bassin n° 2 sont vendus aux enchères. La meunerie et l'industrie du fer dominent ce secteur.

À Saint-Gabriel, des hommes d'affaires influents obtiennent le monopole de l'énergie hydraulique. Un réseau complexe de canaux d'amenée et de fuite est aménagé des deux côtés du canal afin de maximiser l'utilisation de la force hydraulique. Les entreprises traditionnelles associées au bois, au fer et au blé y sont prépondérantes, bien qu'elles côtoient quelques nouveaux venus dans les domaines de la fabrication d'outils et de la transformation du caoutchouc et du coton.

L'entreprise Frothingham and Workman en 1880 L'entreprise Frothingham and Workman en 1880. Dessin de F. Pellerin, d'après le plan d'assurances de C. Goad, 1880
© Parcs Canada / F. Pellerin / 86-CAN-D3

Enfin, le site de Côte-Saint-Paul, alors situé en pleine campagne, est le dernier à être occupé. En 1853, le gouvernement concède tout le pouvoir hydraulique à William Parkyn, qui entreprend l'aménagement d'un véritable « parc industriel ». Après y avoir englouti sa fortune, Parkyn vend ses droits à Frothingham et Workman, une importante entreprise de quincaillerie qui donne le ton aux activités du secteur : la fabrication d'outils.

Un catalyseur pour l'industrialisation

Depuis son apparition en 1846, l'énergie hydraulique du canal a été utilisée par des dizaines d'entreprises. Selon l'état actuel des connaissances, on a répertorié 13 moulins et élévateurs à grains, 23 clouteries, 14 taillanderies, 18 scieries et ateliers de bois. En 1887, au plus fort de leurs activités, ces entreprises emploient au moins 2000 ouvriers. Elles consomment plus d'énergie que celle produite par la première centrale hydroélectrique construite à Niagara Falls en 1895.

Grâce au canal de Lachine, l'énergie hydraulique est devenue disponible à Montréal vers le milieu du XIXe siècle, au moment où la production industrielle commençait à s'implanter en Amérique du Nord. Elle compte parmi les multiples facteurs qui ont permis à la métropole de passer du négoce à l'industrialisation, tout en lui donnant une longueur d'avance sur les autres villes canadiennes.