Common menu bar links

Management Plan

7. Development Principles

Implementing the presentation project developed for the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada entails, on the one hand, physically reorganizing certain spaces that will be used to support the various activities planned and, on the other, inserting new buildings as well as facilities, accessories and furnishings intended to ensure the safety and well-being of site users. At the same time, all future actions and measures must enhance the site’s urban and heritage character, while fitting in harmoniously with the industrial landscape that surrounds the canal corridor at present.

Establishing guiding principles as well as aesthetic and organizational criteria is necessary in order to guide the definition of the architecture and development pattern, and ultimately the design of a future action plan, in conformity with the following objectives:

  • . • Bringing out the uniqueness of the Lachine Canal’s maritime and industrial character so that this heritage corridor is viewed as a coherent whole;
  • . • Highlighting the distinctive characteristics of each of the Lachine Canal’s sectors so as to reflect their relationship with the surrounding urban landscape.

These guiding principles will serve as reference points in framing both the spatial organization of the various work planned (hierarchization and treatment of spaces, siting of facilities, type of plantation, etc.) and the design of the facilities that will ultimately become part of the canal’s landscape (volumetry of buildings; shape, materials and colours of components and accessories).

These principles will guide the actions not only of Parks Canada but also of outside partners who could produce an impact on the heritage fabric of the canal.

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

7. Les principes d’aménagement

La mise en oeuvre du projet de mise en va­leur du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine implique, d’une part, la réorganisation physique de certains espaces qui serviront de support aux différentes acti­vités prévues et, d’autre part, l’insertion de nouveaux bâtiments et l’installation de divers équipements, accessoires et éléments de mobilier destinés à assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des usagers. Or, l’ensemble des interventions futures doivent contribuer à la valorisation du caractère patrimonial et ur­bain du lieu tout en s’inscrivant de façon harmonieuse à l’intérieur du paysage indus­triel qui caractérise présentement le corridor du canal.

L’établissement de principes directeurs et de critères d’ordre esthétique et organisa­tionnel a pour but d’orienter la définition d’un motif d’aménagement et d’architecture et, ultérieurement, la conception des futures interventions de façon à répondre aux ob­jectifs suivants :

  • mettre en évidence l’unicité du caractère maritime et industriel du canal de Lachine de façon à assurer une lecture cohérente de l’ensemble de ce corridor patrimonial;
  • mettre en relief le caractère distinctif de chacun des secteurs du canal de Lachine de façon à refléter leur relation avec le paysage urbain environnant.

Ces principes serviront de références pour orienter, d’une part, l’organisation spatiale des différents aménagements prévus (hiérarchi­sation et traitement des espaces, mode d’implantation des équipements, caractère des plantations, etc.) et pour encadrer, d’autre part, la conception des équipements qui vien­dront s’inscrire dans le paysage du canal (volumétrie des bâtiments, forme, matériaux et couleurs des ouvrages et accessoires).

Ces principes guideront autant les interven­tions de Parcs Canada que les initiatives pilotées par les collaborateurs extérieurs qui pourraient exercer des impacts sur le tissu patrimonial du canal.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >