Common menu bar links

Management Plan

6. Presentation Concept

The concept chosen for presenting the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada is based on the present functional and spatial organization of the site, which constitutes a corridor with heritage areas distributed along its length, between the historic centres of Old Montréal and Lachine. The corridor is used for a variety of recreational activities (walking, cycling, skating, boating, etc.) suited to the linear character of the site. The presentation concept defines the site’s spatial structure as well as the role and hierarchical importance of the main areas of activity, while also specifying the functions, activities and infrastructures planned.

In the proposed concept, the following elements are taken to be fundamental:

  • Parks Canada’s mandate and responsibilities;
  • The site’s commemorative intent;
  • The site’s potential and the constraints observed;
  • Parks Canada’s vision for the site in future;
  • The directions established for developing and managing the site.

The concept is centred on presenting the site’s heritage character and developing links with the surrounding areas, and it thus seeks to:

  • Ensure the commemorative integrity of the Lachine Canal and its industrial corridor by offering visitors an experience that enables them to discover, learn about and understand the site’s raison d’tre and history, as well as to enjoy its heritage interests and cultural resources;
  • Make this heritage corridor into a cultural and tourist attraction that stimulates the economy—hence, the urban development— of Montréal.

The concept is structured around the following general directions:

  • Consolidating activities along the linear park so as to facilitate access by visitors to heritage resources and centres of interest;
  • Developing poles of activities and services in sectors of major interest so as to foster links between the canal and the city;
  • Facilitating access and setting up wayside stops for visitors at centres of heritage and recreational interest, as well as at points of interface between the city and canal in those areas that are not integrated into development poles.

The following pages present a series of measures considered necessary to translate each of the above three general directions into results. Given the substantial costs entailed by the canal revitalization project and the need to cultivate partnerships, these measures will be carried out in phases. Phase 1 covers actions and measures for which funding has been procured, including previously completed work, projects now underway, and projects that have already been approved and will be carried out in the immediate or near future. The second phase covers recommended actions that lack funding for the time being and therefore can only be contemplated in the medium and long term, providing that conditions are favourable at that time. Phase 2 actions and measures are presented in italics in the following pages.

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

6. Le concept de mise en valeur

Le concept arrêté pour la mise en valeur du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine s’appuie sur l’organisation fonctionnelle et spatiale actuelle du lieu, soit un couloir ponctué d’aires à vocation patri­moniale et reliant les deux pôles historiques de Lachine et du Vieux-Montréal. Ce corridor accueille également une variété d’activités linéaires à caractère récréatif (marche, cy­clisme, patinage, nautisme...). Le concept définit l’articulation spatiale du lieu de même que la vocation et la hiérarchie des princi­pales aires d’activités, tout en précisant les fonctions, les activités et les infrastructures envisagées.

Le concept proposé s’appuie sur les élé­ments suivants :

  • le mandat et les responsabilités de Parcs Canada;
  • l’objectif de commémoration du lieu;
  • les potentiels et les contraintes en pré­sence;
  • la vision qu’entretient Parcs Canada à l’égard de l’avenir du lieu;
  • les orientations établies pour le dévelop­pement et la gestion du lieu.
  • Axé sur la mise en valeur du caractère patri­monial du lieu et le développement de pôles intégrateurs, le concept préconisé vise à :
  • assurer l’intégrité commémorative du canal de Lachine et de son corridor in­dustriel en offrant aux visiteurs une expérience qui leur permette, d’une part, de découvrir, de connaître et de com­prendre la raison d’être et l’histoire du lieu et, d’autre part, d’apprécier les valeurs patrimoniales des ressources culturel­les en présence;
  • faire de ce corridor patrimonial un attrait culturel et touristique qui soit générateur d’activités économiques tout en contri­buant à l’essor urbain de Montréal.

Le concept s’articule autour des axes sui­vants :

  • la consolidation des activités linéaires qui permettent aux visiteurs d’accé-der aux ressources patrimoniales et aux différents foyers d’intérêt;
  • le développement de pôles d’activités et de services autour des secteurs d’intérêt dominant de manière à favo­riser l’arrimage entre le canal et la ville;
  • l’aménagement de haltes et de car­refours correspondant aux foyers d’intérêt patrimonial et récréatif et aux points d’interface avec la ville qui ne sont pas intégrés aux pôles de dé­veloppement.

Les pages qui suivent exposent, pour cha­cun des trois volets de développement, une série d’interventions préconisées pour con­crétiser le concept retenu. Compte tenu des coûts substantiels qu’implique le projet de re­vitalisation du canal ainsi que des partenariats à mettre en place, les interventions identifiées ici seront réalisées par phase. La phase 1 regroupe les interventions et mesures de ges­tion pour lesquelles le financement est disponible; il peut s’agir de travaux déjà com­plétés, de projets en cours d’exécution ou de projets déjà approuvés qui seront réalisés à court ou moyen terme. Les autres interven­tions préconisées (qui figurent en caractères italiques ) ne bénéficient pas de financement pour le moment et leur réalisation ne peut être envisagée qu’à moyen ou long terme, si les conditions le permettent.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >