Common menu bar links

Management Plan

5. Presentation Issues

The Lachine Canal Management Plan has been developed through a process of reflection and questioning focused specifically on identifying the main issues at hand and deciding what measures and conditions are necessary to ensure that this site can play the role anticipated for it, taking into account Parks Canada’s objectives and the circumstances prevailing both now and in the future.

5.1 Parameters of Action

Given the nature of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada and the objectives sought by Parks Canada with respect to this site, the Agency considers it essential to establish certain parameters with respect to any plan of action:

  • Priority should be given to actions that are closely linked to the mandate of conserving and presenting level 1 heritage resources that have until now been neglected in the Lachine Canal revitalization project;
  • Given the scope of the work to be carried out and the increased use of the site resulting from the revitalization project, actions related to improving the canal and its banks for boating purposes or canal-side use should always be carried out in a way that does not impair cultural components of interest;
  • Actions should emphasize the site’s heritage character and its educational role;
  • Actions should maintain physical and functional links between the canal and the canal-side neighbourhoods;
  • Work should be carried out in partnership with community groups as well as with the public and private sectors;
  • The funds invested and operating costs should be recovered in part by the generation of new revenues and participation in the economic and tourist development of the Montréal area;
  • Efforts should be concentrated on fully recovering the costs of recreational tourist services.

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

5. La problématique de mise en valeur

Quels sont les enjeux et quelles conditions et mesures seront requises pour que le ca­nal de Lachine puisse assumer son rôle conformément à la vision projetée pour son avenir tout en tenant compte des objectifs de Parcs Canada et des réalités actuelles et pré­visibles? Voilà l’essence même de la réflexion et du questionnement suscités dans le ca­dre de l’élaboration du présent plan directeur.

5.1 Les paramètres d’intervention

Compte tenu de la nature du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine et des objectifs que l’Agence poursuit à l’égard de ce lieu, certains paramètres d’intervention s’imposent pour Parcs Canada :

  • privilégier les actions associées de près au mandat de conservation et de mise en valeur des ressources patrimoniales de niveau 1 laissées de côté jusqu’à pré­sent par le projet de revitalisation du canal de Lachine;
  • vu l’ampleur des travaux à réaliser et l’augmentation de la fréquentation du site engendrée par le projet de revitalisation, les interventions rattachées à l’aména-gement du canal et de ses berges à des fins d’utilisation nautique et riveraine de­vront toujours être réalisées de façon à ne pas causer de préjudice aux éléments culturels d’intérêt;
  • mettre l’accent sur le caractère patri­monial et la vocation éducative du lieu;
  • maintenir les liens physiques et fonc­tionnels entre le canal et les quartiers riverains;
  • travailler en partenariat avec les secteurs public, privé et communautaire;
  • recouvrer une partie des investisse­ments ainsi que des coûts de fonc­tionnement en générant de nouveaux revenus et participer au développement économique et touristique de la région montréalaise;
  • mettre l’accent sur le plein recouvre­ment des coûts associés aux services récréotouristiques.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >