Management Plan

4. Issues and Strategic Directions

For Parks Canada, issues and strategic directions connected with the future of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada are closely linked to the objective of assuring the site's commemorative integrity while also promoting its integration into the urban fabric. To this end, Parks Canada will make a priority of actions and activities targeting resources related to the site's commemorative intent (called "level 1" resources), as these were identified in the commemorative integrity statement of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada.

Parks Canada intends to play a key role as both a leader and an example when it comes to interventions pertaining to the conservation and presentation of the site's heritage character.

From this perspective, the heritage experience to be offered to visitors, in the very heart of the Island of Montréal, should be based upon preserving cultural resources of national significance and revealing the site's history through the interpretation and appreciation of the urban landscape.

The development of activities and services along the canal for boating and riverside use will always be planned so as to avoid harming the site's cultural heritage conservation. Exceptional circumstances aside, the protection of cultural resources will always prevail over any other interventions.

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

4. Les enjeux et les orientations

Pour Parcs Canada, les enjeux et les orien­tations touchant l'avenir du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine sont étroitement liés à l'objectif d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative du lieu tout en favorisant son intégration à la trame ur­baine. Dans cette optique, Parcs Canada privilégiera les actions et les activités qui concernent les ressources liées à l'objec-tif de commémoration du lieu (ressources dites de niveau 1), telles qu'identifiées dans l'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative du ca­nal de Lachine.

Parcs Canada entend jouer un rôle de premier plan en matière de leadership et d'exempla-rité dans le cadre des interventions axées sur la conservation et la mise en valeur du ca­ractère patrimonial de ce lieu.

Dans cette perspective, l'expérience à carac­tère patrimonial qui sera offerte aux visiteurs au coeur de l'île de Montréal devrait ainsi pren­dre assise sur la préservation des ressour­ces culturelles d'importance nationale et la découverte de l'histoire du lieu à travers la lecture et l'appréciation du paysage urbain.

Le développement d'activités et de services le long du canal à des fins d'utilisation nauti­que et riveraine sera toujours planifié de manière à ne pas nuire à la conservation du patrimoine culturel in situ. Sauf exception, la protection des ressources culturelles aura préséance sur toute autre intervention.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >