Common menu bar links

Management Plan

2.1 Parks Canada's Objectives

A national historic site possesses commemorative integrity when the resources that symbolize or represent its importance are not impaired or under threat, when the reasons for the site's national historic significance are effectively communicated to the public, and when the site's heritage values are respected by all whose decisions or actions affect the site. 3

As the government agency responsible for preserving and presenting the country's cultural and historical heritage, Parks Canada has been given the following mandate:

  • To foster knowledge and appreciation of Canada's past through a national program of historical commemoration;
  • To ensure the commemorative integrity of national historic sites administered by Parks Canada by protecting and pre-senting them for the benefit, education and enjoyment of this and future generations, in a manner that respects the significant and irreplaceable legacy represented by these sites and their associated resources;
  • To encourage and support the protection and presentation by others of places of national historic significance that are not administered by Parks Canada. 4

The commemorative integrity of a national historic site is thus one of Parks Canada's primary objectives. The commemorative integrity statement serves as a guide in planning the management of the site. It applies to all who are concerned with the protection, management and presentation of a site.

The following pages have been excerpted from the commemorative integrity statement of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada. 5


3 National Historic Sites Policy, p. 71.

4 Ibid., p. 71.

5 Commemorative Integrity Statement, Lachine Canal National Historic Site of Canada,
January 1997, p. 62

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

2.1 Les objectifs de Parcs Canada

On dit d'un lieu historique national qu'il possède une intégrité commémorative lorsque les ressources qui symbolisent ou caractérisent son importance ne sont ni endommagées ni menacées, lorsque les motifs invoqués pour justifier son importance historique nationale sont clairement expliqués au public et lorsque ses valeurs patrimoniales sont respectées par tous ceux qui, par leurs actions ou leurs décisions, peuvent exercer une influence sur le lieu. 3

À titre d'agence du gouvernement fédéral responsable de préserver et de mettre en valeur le patrimoine historique et culturel du pays, Parcs Canada a notamment pour mandat :

  • de favoriser la connaissance et l'appré-ciation de l'histoire du Canada grâce à un programme national de commémoration historique;
  • d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative des lieux historiques nationaux administrés par Parcs Canada et à cette fin, de les protéger et de les mettre en valeur pour le bénéfice, l'éducation et la jouissance des générations actuelles et futures, avec tous les égards que mérite l'héri-tage précieux et irremplaçable que représentent ces lieux et leurs ressources;
  • d'encourager et d'appuyer les initiatives visant la protection et la mise en valeur de lieux reconnus d'importance historique nationale qui ne sont pas administrés par Parcs Canada. 4

L'intégrité commémorative d'un lieu historique national figure donc parmi les objectifs fondamentaux de Parcs Canada. L'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative sert de guide dans la planification et la gestion de ces lieux. Il s'adresse à tous les intervenants impliqués dans la protection, la gestion et la mise en valeur d'un lieu.

Les pages qui suivent sont extraites de l'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine. 5


3 Politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux, p. 73

4 Ibid., p. 74

5 Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Lachine, janvier 1997, 62 pages.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >