Common menu bar links

Management Plan

Introduction

The Lachine Canal, declared to be of national historic significance in 1929, was transferred from the Department of Public Works to Parks Canada in 1978 under the Recreation and Conservation Agreement (RCA) Program. This program is intended to safeguard the cultural and natural resources of Canada’s heritage and place certain facilities and equipment at the disposal of the public to ensure that these resources are accessible and that their cultural value and recreational assets can be enjoyed.

At the time of its transfer, the canal was already closed to navigation, and certain facilities that exist at present, such as the bicycle path, had previously been developed by the Department of Public Works.

In 1979, after inventory and planning studies had been conducted, the Lachine Canal Management Plan was ratified by the minister responsible for Parks Canada. The objectives identified by the Plan consisted of preserving the canal’s heritage resources and enhancing them by developing spaces and public facilities for cultural, community and recreational purposes.

According to this Plan, the functional and spatial organization of the canal property was defined as a corridor of activities, punctuated by crossways (access points, links, integration with the surrounding urban environment) and wayside stops (centres of special interest, interpretive elements, rest areas, etc.) and extending between the historic centres of Lachine and Old Montréal, which are considered as the gateways to the corridor.

The present Management Plan is based on the general concept established by the first Plan but also takes into account Parks Canada’s foremost and fundamental goal of ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site. Other factors taken into consideration in updating the concept include developments in the heritage, environmental and urban context surrounding the Lachine Canal and Parks Canada’s responsibilities with regard to education, partnerships and the generation of revenues.

The new Management Plan reflects Parks Canada’s general policies and is the outcome of a planning process that began in 1995 and was consequently enriched by a public hearing. This process made it possible to establish directions that were adapted both to the new conditions that now prevail and to tendencies foreseen for the future. The Plan puts forward various projects and management measures that should be implemented within the next five years, particularly with a view to ensuring the commemorative integrity of the site. The Plan also presents a vision for the future of the site, as well as long-term strategic directions. Finally, the Plan briefly identifies a number of projects whose implementation cannot be planned at present but which may become feasible in future if the necessary financial conditions or partnerships are in place.

< Previous Page  |  Table of Contents  |  Next Page >

Le plan directeur

Introduction

Déclaré d’importance historique nationale de-puis 1929, le canal de Lachine fut transféré à Parcs Canada par le ministère des Travaux publics en 1978, en vertu du programme des Accords sur la récréation et la conservation (ARC). Ce programme visait à sauvegarder des composantes culturelles et naturelles du patrimoine canadien et à mettre à la disposition du public certains aménagements ou équipements permettant d’accéder à ces composantes et d’apprécier leur valeur culturelle ou leurs installations récréatives.

Au moment de son transfert, le canal était déjà fermé à la navigation et certains des aménagements actuels, notamment la piste cyclable, avaient déjà été réalisés par le ministère des Travaux publics.

En 1979, à la suite d’études d’inventaire et de planification, le plan directeur du canal de Lachine était entériné par le ministre responsable de Parcs Canada. Ce plan identifiait comme objectifs la préservation des ressources patrimoniales et leur mise en valeur par l’aménagement d’espaces et d’équipements publics à des fins culturelles, communautaires et récréatives.

En fonction de ce plan, l’organisation fonctionnelle et spatiale de la propriété du canal se définissait comme un couloir d’activités ponctué de carrefours (accès, liens, intégration avec le milieu urbain environnant) et de haltes (noyaux d’intérêt particulier, éléments d’interprétation, points d’arrêt...), s’étirant entre les deux pôles historiques de Lachine et du Vieux-Montréal, considérés comme portes d’entrée au couloir.

Le présent plan directeur s’inspire de ce concept d’ensemble établi initialement tout en tenant compte de l’objectif fondamental et prioritaire pour Parcs Canada, d’assurer l’in-tégrité commémorative du lieu. L’évolution du contexte patrimonial, environnemental et urbain dans lequel s’inscrit le canal de Lachine de même que les préoccupations de l’Agence en matière d’éducation, de partenariat et de génération de revenus ont également été prises en compte dans la mise à jour du concept.

Reflet des politiques générales de Parcs Canada, le nouveau plan directeur résulte d’une réflexion amorcée en 1995 et enrichie subséquemment par une consultation publique; cette réflexion a permis d’établir des orientations adaptées aux nouvelles conditions qui prévalent et aux tendances qui se dessinent pour l’avenir. Le plan expose divers projets et mesures de gestion qui devraient être mis en application au cours des cinq prochaines années, plus particulièrement aux fins d’assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu. Le plan exprime par ailleurs une vision d’avenir pour le lieu ainsi que des orientations stratégiques à long terme. Enfin, le plan identifie sommairement divers projets dont la mise en oeuvre ne peut actuellement être envisagée qu’à plus long terme, si les conditions financières ou les partenariats requis sont en place.

< Page précédente   |  Table des matières   |  Page suivante >