Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site of Canada

Natural Wonders & Cultural Treasures

Vegetable oils for the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue locks:

Substituting hydraulic mineral fluids with vegetable oils to operate the canal locks

Closing of upper gates
Closing of upper gates
© Parks Canada

Since 1965, the gates of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue locks, have been operated by a mechanism powered by internal hydraulic pressure. Until very recently, the hydraulic lubricants required to maintain this mechanism were of mineral origin. In the event of a spill or leak, these fluids were harmful to the environment (e.g. accumulation of hydrocarbons and other contaminants in the food chain, alteration of water quality).

Under Environment Canada's Enviroclub OM Program for Federal Facilities , Parks Canada conducted a pollution prevention project in March 2002, replacing the hydraulic mineral oils used at the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue locks with GREENPLUS-brand vegetable-based oils.

GREENPLUS oils meet with all the operating standards applicable to lock doors, and are only slightly more expensive than mineral oils. In addition, they stand up well to the prevailing weather conditions in Quebec province. These oils have been put to the test at the TrentSevern Canal in Ontario since 1996, producing conclusive results. In case of an accidental leak, GREENPLUS oils pose a significantly reduced risk to the environment.

For additional information on the Enviroclub OM for Federal Facilities or pollution prevention, please consult the Web site of the Environmental Protection Branch of Environment Canada - Quebec Region at: http://environmentcanada.gc.ca.

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Merveilles naturelles et trésors culturels

De l'huile végétale pour les écluses de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue :

Substitution des huiles hydrauliques minérales utilisées pour l'opération des écluses par des huiles végétales

Fermeture des portes amonts
Fermeture des portes amonts
© Parcs Canada

Depuis 1965, l'opération des portes de l'écluse de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue est effectuée grâce à un mécanisme faisant appel à une pression hydraulique interne. Jusqu'à tout récemment, les huiles hydrauliques utilisées pour faire fonctionner ce mécanisme étaient d'origine minérale. En cas de déversement, ou de fuite, ces huiles engendrent des effets néfastes sur l'environnement (p. ex. : accumulation d'hydrocarbures et autres contaminants dans la chaîne alimentaire, altération de la qualité de l'eau).

Dans le cadre d'Enviroclub MO pour les installations fédérales, programme coordonné par Environnement Canada, Parcs Canada a réalisé en mars 2002 un projet de prévention de la pollution en substituant les huiles hydrauliques minérales utilisées à l'écluse Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue par des huiles végétales de marque GREENPLUS.

Les huiles GREENPLUS, légèrement plus coûteuses que les huiles minérales, répondent en tout point aux normes de fonctionnement des portes de l'écluse. De plus, elles résistent aux conditions climatiques qui prévalent au Québec. Mises à l'essai au canal de Trent-Severn (Ontario) depuis 1996, elles ont donné des résultats concluants. En cas de fuite accidentelle, elles seront en mesure de réduire de façon significative les impacts négatifs sur l'environnement.

Pour tout renseignement additionnel, au sujet d' Enviroclub MO pour les installation fédérales ou de la prévention de la pollution, veuillez consulter le site Internet de la Direction de la protection de l'environnement d'Environnement Canada région du Québec à l'adresse suivante : http://environnementcanada.gc.ca.