Common menu bar links

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal
National Historic Site

Activities 2014

Come and enjoy the historic atmosphere of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Come and enjoy the historic atmosphere of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue
© Parks Canada

A Special Atmosphere

Come and enjoy the historic atmosphere of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Enjoy the lively restaurants and terraces along the water's edge.

The embankment is an ideal spot for picnicking, relaxing or viewing the present-day lock and the remains of the 1843 canal.


Cruisin’ at the Boardwalk

June 14

Parks Canada invites you to visit the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site on the occasion of the 6th annual classic car and hot rod show. 500 of the mildest to the wildest muscle cars, hot rods and classic cars will be presented along the canal, on the main waterfront street.

Take a moment to stroll the boat lined boardwalk, explore the historic canal and discuss with the Parks Canada staff that will on site to greet you. Once you have checked out the vintage cars displayed on the festive Sainte-Anne Street and danced to the rhythm of the ‘50s and ‘60s musical classics, enjoy a nice dinner on one of the many terraces overlooking the waterfront.

More information


Outdoor Screening

A frame from the film Front Lines
A frame from the film Front Lines
© 2008, Canadian War Museum
August 10, as of 7:30 p.m.

To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the beginning of the First World War, Parks Canada is inviting the public to an outdoor projection Sunday on the boardwalk of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site.

In collaboration with the National Film Board, five short and medium-length films will allow viewers to discover little-known aspects of the Great War, such as the life of Canadian soldiers and the contribution of women to the war effort. Everyone is invited to bring chairs and snacks to enjoy a pleasant evening of outdoor cinema. Veterans and their families are especially encouraged to take part in this commemorative activity.

Film program

  1. To the Ladies (1946): the contribution of women on all fronts
  2. Women are Warriors (1942): women and the war effort
  3. Front Lines (2008): tribute to Canadian veterans of the First World War, through the eyes of six veterans
  4. With the Canadians in Korea (1952): a Canadian soldier recalls life on the front lines during the Korean War
  5. Front Lines-The Life of a Soldier (2008): the story of two soldiers during trench warfare

In the “X” park on Sainte-Anne Street, located between Nina’s restaurant and Café Herbs.

Free

“Parks Canada wishes to highlight the sacrifices and contributions—both military and civil—of so many Canadians, including women and Canadians of all origins, to whom we want to pay tribute. This public activity is part of Parks Canada’s concerted effort to diversify its programming in collaboration with community partners to allow the public to discover for themselves such exceptional places as the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Historic Canal.” - Luc-André Mercier, director, Quebec Waterways, Parks Canada

Circuit bleu Charles-Bruneau

September 18 to 21

From September 18 to 21, 2014, the Island of Montréal will host the first edition of the Circuit Bleu Charles-Bruneau. Travelling solo or as part of a relay team, kayakers will paddle more than 110 km in 4 days to raise funds to help children with cancer.

Participants will travel along the Route bleue du Grand Montréal, via the Lachine and Saint-Anne-de-Bellevue canals. They will be able to see Montréal from a new perspective and marvel at the stunning beauty of its natural environment.

Information and registration

Lieu historique national
du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Activités 2014

Venez goûter au cachet historique de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Venez goûter au cachet historique de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue
© Parcs Canada

Un cachet très particulier

Venez goûter au cachet historique de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Profitez des terrasses et des restaurants animés, alignés côte à côte le long du cours d'eau.

Rendez-vous à la jetée pour pique-niquer, relaxer ou observer l'écluse actuelle et les vestiges du canal de 1843!


Ça roule au bord de l'eau

14 juin

Parcs Canada vous invite à venir faire un tour au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue à l’occasion de la 6e édition de l’exposition annuelle de voitures classiques. Près de 500 muscle cars, hot rods et voitures classiques, des modèles les plus discrets aux plus extravagants, pourront être admirés sur l’artère principale qui longe le canal.

Prenez le temps de vous balader sur la promenade de bois pour découvrir le canal historique, observer les bateaux et échanger avec le personnel de Parcs Canada qui vous accueillera sur place. Après avoir admiré les voitures anciennes sur la rue Sainte-Anne en fête et dansé sur les succès des années 50 et 60, profitez-en pour déguster un bon repas à l’une des nombreuses terrasses avec vue sur le canal. Du plaisir pour toute la famille!

Pour plus de renseignements


Projection en plein air

Image tirée du film Entre les lignes
Image tirée du film Entre les lignes
© 2008, Musée canadien de la guerre
10 août, dès 19 h 30

Pour commémorer le 100e anniversaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale, Parcs Canada invite la population à une projection en plein air sur la promenade du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.

En collaboration avec l'Office national du film, 5 courts et moyens métrages permettront de découvrir des aspects méconnus de la Grande Guerre. Les gens sont invités à apporter leurs chaises et leur collation en vue de passer une agréable soirée de cinéma sous les étoiles. Les anciens combattants et leurs familles sont particulièrement encouragés à prendre part à cette activité de commémoration.

Programme cinéma

  1. À vous mesdames (1946) : l’apport des femmes sur tous les fronts
  2. Les femmes dans la mêlée (1942) : les femmes et l’effort de guerre
  3. Entre les lignes (2008) : Hommage aux combattants canadiens de la Première Guerre mondiale, à travers les mots de six participants
  4. Les Canadiens en Corée (1952) : un soldat canadien raconte sa vie au front durant la guerre de Corée
  5. Entre les lignes-la vie du soldat (2008) : l’histoire de deux soldats durant la guerre des tranchées

Au parc en « X » situé sur la rue Sainte-Anne, entre le restaurant Nina et le Café Herbs.

Gratuit

« Parcs Canada tient à souligner le sacrifice et les contributions, tant sur le plan militaire que civil, qu’ont apportés de nombreux Canadiens, incluant les femmes et des Canadiens de toute origine, à qui nous voulons rendre hommage. Cette activité publique s'inscrit directement dans la volonté de Parcs Canada de diversifier sa programmation en collaboration avec ses partenaires du milieu afin de permettre à la population de découvrir ces endroits exceptionnels comme le lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. » - Luc-André Mercier, directeur, Unité des voies navigables au Québec, Parcs Canada

Circuit bleu Charles-Bruneau

18 au 21 septembre

La toute première édition du Circuit Bleu Charles-Bruneau se tiendra du 18 au 21 septembre 2014 autour de l’île de Montréal. Seuls ou à relais, les kayakistes pagaieront plus de 110 km en 4 jours afin d'amasser des fonds en soutien aux enfants atteints de cancer.

Le groupe empruntera la Route bleue du Grand Montréal, qui passe par les canaux de Lachine et de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, et permettra aux participants de découvrir Montréal sous un nouvel angle, en constatant l’étonnante beauté de ses milieux naturels.

Information et inscription